Woohoo, finally on Steemit! #introduceyourselfsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians,

So excited to finally be able to join the Steemit community! I will be active on the Steem blockchain under the alias ‘Nerdi’, as that is what my friends already call me, no idea why……or maybe I do…..(don’t laugh)

971969_10201502692149289_1009586152_n.jpg
You can take this picture as proof that I don't take myself very seriously, I highly recommend it, it makes life so much easier.

I work as an independent contractor in information technology and mostly take on jobs like requirements engineering, information analysis and programming (Java, Python). I love to share my knowledge and help others, and learn new things (hence the title), not only about new technologies (like blockchains!) of course, but also in the area’s of:

Growing my own food (without an actual garden)

img_0311-1024x768.jpg
My rooftop hydroponics system, I use it to grow herbs and leafy greens

Hydroponics is the art of growing food without soil by feeding them water, containing the right minerals, directly to the roots. As the plants don’t have to spend a lot of energy to extract their food from soil, they can spend all that energy on growing larger and faster. You can also do this indoors, with the proper lighting. Expect a lot of blog articles on hydroponics, on how to grow your own food in an urban environment and on what to do with all that fresh produce. Almost everyone loves food, I’m no exception.

And although my house lacks a garden, the sunset views from my rooftop really make up for it.
13524553_10210336209741708_6857552516698267880_n.jpg
I promise I won’t bug you with sunset pictures every day

Photography

I love taking pictures of my rooftop sunsets, the progress in my hydroponics system, the food I cook, the people I meet and the trips I take. I’m planning to share more of that on Steepshot. And speaking of trips, that immediately brings me to one of my other favorite subjects:

Camping

Oh, camping. No snail mail, 4 cups, 4 dishes and a tidy living space in less than 10 minutes. Sipping wine or G&T by a bonfire when it cools down in the evenings. I wish I could camp all day every day, but unfortunately that’s not the case. It’s really too cold in the Netherlands to be able to camp comfortably all winter, still stay warm & dry ánd show up at the office in the morning not looking like a vagabond. Maybe a tiny house would be the solution? Hmmm, who knows…..until then, I happily drag my camp-thing around Europe in the summer.

20108620_10214230836184935_5133039817855815511_n.jpg

What you see on the picture above is called a ‘klapkar’ in Dutch. This one is manufactured in 1978, good quality canvas, still waterproof. It’s not a tent, it’s not a folding trailer and it’s not a caravan either. Best translation would be a pop-up caravan. You lift up the hard top, a frame folds out and you’re ready to camp. 3 minutes, really. So, expect some travel posts too!

And now I’m wondering: should I leave it at these 3 main topics? I have a lot of shareable knowledge on more technical subjects as well, and sometimes I am all over the place when it comes to 'current infatuations'. When people follow me because they are interested to see tomatoes growing on my rooftop, I can imagine they do not want to see blog posts on Fun Things To Do With Your Raspberry Pi (that’s a little PC) or Automating Your Personal Workflow With System XYZ or Upcoming ICO XYZ Whitepaper Analysis in their feed. What do you think? Do you have any advice on that? How do you handle blogging about diverse topics on your own blog? I would love to read your thoughts on that.

Last but not least, I would like to thank @projectdiaries for his excellent Youtube video on Steemit, because that’s how I ended up here in the first place. Kudos to you for the great content you create and for being such a friendly guy!

Thank you for reading my #introduceyourself post, if you have any questions, just let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

Welcome! Your rooftop hydroponics looks awesome, please make a detailed post about it ;) Resteeming your for some publicity! Greets

Wow, thank you @welcoming for the upvote and the resteem! I will make a detailed post about it for sure, more than 1 too!


Welcome to Steemit @nerdi!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hey @nerdi! Welcome to Steem. =)

I have to say: Your rooftop hydroponics system is a really good idea.^^

Thank you @abwasserrohr! I will do a blog post on it later of course :smile:


Welcome to Steem @nerdi.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome, nice hydro set up, i plan to do one myself this summer but a little different, using fish tanks and pipes, and raisin fish below my plants beds in the aquariums. stop by my page, maybe youll find something you like enough to return the vote and follow

Hi @ewasteguy1, you got yourself a new follower! Thanks for your comment. I would love to do aquaponics too, but I'm not sure my rooftop would hold the weight of a large enough fishtank. When it is smaller it will freeze over in the winter, so it has to be IBC-tote size.

yea where im from we get freezing winter for 5 months, so i can only do the aquaponics set up in summer, in winter i just grow a few tomatos, and celery and herbs inside my house

Hi Nerdi, Im new to Steemit too, a lot to learn here.
Im an IT Contractor too, something we have in common.
Just post original material and you will do well. :)

Thank you @slobberchops! Will check out your blog too :)

Welcome to Steemit!

Seems like you have some real personality!!
This is a great community of content creators. Steemit has a bit of a learning curve. So try to have patience to understand the platform, how to format your posts, and optimize your payouts.


Here are a few good resources for new users:


Let me know if you have any questions as a new user on Steemit, I am happy to help! You can follow me at @ngans. I post a lot about neuroscience, psychology, health, and philosophy.

Thank you @ngans I will check out your blog :)

@nerdi Hydroponics and funny faces, cant go wrong with that! See ya around. If you need any help i have a few good posts on my blog for beginners.

Welcome. I am sure you will do well here. Best wishes

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you’ll enjoy being here as much as I do.

You might find these YouTube videos useful. They are created specifically to help new Steemers grow and be successful on Steemit.

All The Best!
Spencer Coffman
My Latest Article: 2 Additional Intelligence Types

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62561.21
ETH 2449.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64