You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello Steemians, I'm Neil! Early crypto enthusiast and activist for decentralization

I'm keeping a few notes, I'll have to admit, the farming project is taking a while to get off the ground. The key I'm seeing is to have an ecosystem going (the right mix of flowers, having bees, having an aquaponics system to a proper composting system). I'm interested in learning more about your project, it sounds like you're creating a full community, which is really cool.

Sort:  

I've had zero knowledge on farming prior to this and I agree, it takes time to learn up about these things - there's really no clear cut right and wrong way of doing it. We're currently just doing a small test run with a couple dozen of homes smacked right in our residential area. I've written about the core concepts and wish to have it open soon for anyone else to replicate. You can read it here: https://steemit.com/farming/@kevinwong/decentralized-urban-farming--growing-food-at-home-made-easy

That's cool! Thanks for sharing, I'll check out your approach.

This was one design we had come up with for a community living approach.
maslows garden

maslows garden

The space in the middle was as a result of laws around having multiple dwellings on a single property (since subdivision is expensive).

Each person has a portion of the large outer greenhouse and with this approach, each member is responsible for their part of the greenhouse upkeep. This was just a preliminary design, there are some problems with this approach I'm sure.

Oh man this is interesting! I wish I know more about this kinda plans to give a useful input! Is it rather expensive to set up something like this? Looks like a useful addition for the mini blockchain-enrichment hubs we're setting up around here.

Well, the whole structure could be done with domes. The domes could be constructed cheaply if you build a large dirt mound, put a tarp over it and pour concrete around the whole thing (and then dig the dirt out). It would still come to about $1.5 million for the whole thing. But since there are 20 divisions, you could raise the money from people who want to live there.

Maslows garden, what a clever name!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56