My first post... Am I doing this right?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hi everyone!

I love eating delicious food, so I am going to make my first photo a picture of one of my favorite meals, which you can make yourself or get at The Counter if you're not feeling like firing up the grill:
great burger photo.jpg

Back in 2016, when Steemit was an infant and I was clueless, I wrote a few articles on Medium. I wrote about a diet I was experimenting with, and how I believed it could help people cure themselves from type 2 diabetes. I don't have diabetes, but some of my relatives did, and the diet helped them immensely.

I thought only a few Facebook friends would read the article. But by some random luck, in the first couple days it got over 10,000 reads. After a week, interest died completely. For seven months the article sat idle, unnoticed, collecting dust in a far corner of the internet. Even I forgot that it was there.

One day recently, I remembered about the article and out of curiosity logged into Medium to check its stats. Lo and behold! The stats showed that out of the blue in March 2017, people started reading the article again. At first just a trickle, a few a day. But by August, the number had grown steadily to over 200 reads a day. And there it sits to this day. Every day since August 2017, the article has gotten 200-250 reads.

I like to think that it took seven months for the article to pick up traffic because that's how long it took for the thousands of people who read it in the first two days to test it, prove to themselves that it indeed cures type 2 diabetes, and share it with their friends. Hard to say, but maybe so!

My experimentation with the diet has not stopped. I continue to try different things. My quest is all about finding a diet and lifestyle -- a foodstyle -- that conforms to these five principles:

  • Sociability: My foodstyle must not cause me to miss out on or avoid normal social activities.
  • Universality: My foodstyle must provide energy and health for me to thrive in any normal environment.
  • Availability: My foodstyle must not require difficult-to-find, expensive-to-buy foods.
  • Savorability: My foodstyle must include a full range of tastes and textures that I can savor and enjoy.
  • Sustainability: My foodstyle must not require 24/7 discipline 365 days a year; it must be relatively easy and leave some room for indulgence.

This is the first time I'm talking about this, so please let me know what you think in the comments. I am working on a follow up or two to this post to share some of the results of my experimentation with intermittent and prolonged fasting, so look for those posts in the coming days or weeks.

I've only just learned about Steemit, and it seems like a great place to settle down. Glad to meet all of you and be part of such a vibrant community. I appreciate your feedback and support very much!

Sort:  

Welcome to the Steemit community! I think that sharing your knowledge about food and dieting is very valuable! Definitely keep posting and I'm sure you'll garner a following and watch he $$$ roll in! Best of luck!

delicious!

Wow this looks delicious.. Wish to see more of this later...

Stay tuned!


Welcome to Steemit @natwc!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman


Welcome to Steem @natwc.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

interesting
followed you.

I became interested, although I do not suffer from diabetes, but I would like to adjust my diet. Waiting for the continuation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64886.88
ETH 3516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37