Joining the Steemit Family: An Introduction to My Life, Love & Joy!

Hello to all my new Steemy friends!

My name is Natalie Lovejoy. My brother @lovejoy has enticed me to join your Steemit family. I'm excited to dive deep, meet all of you and see what you're all putting out into the universe!

5A087F65-171D-4F65-BA2E-52793506B77E.JPG

This is me!! I'm a Mom to my kick ass daughters Luci and Veronica, a partner to my man Jacob and his two awesome kiddos Oliver and Pieta. We share a home together in Saint Paul, MN. I'm a hairstylist, musician, kettlebell instructor, adventurer, bicycler, x-country skier and peace keeper. I'm an eternal optimist, sometimes to a fault. I practice the disbelief in the reality of forgiveness or holding grudges because that automatically insinuates I think that I am better than anyone else. I think anger is the ugliest thing a person can wear. I cry at everything between the most tender movies to a Folgers commercial. I'm a sucker for love and empathy. My hair changes with the seasons and sometimes, for no reason at all. Right now it's flaming red! Next week I'll add some blond. Sometimes it's long, sometimes it's short! Sometime you gotta change your hair before you change your life.

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

I own a salon called 'Soapbox Salon and Spa' in Saint Paul. I love my job and my co-workers. In this last year, I bought a new building with more space and expanded my staff from 2 to 14 people. Holy toledo! It keeps me on my toes and I'm grateful for every minute of it!

nattysband.jpg

I'm also a singer/songwriter and am currently promoting my newest album "Hiding in the Light". I try to play out as much as possible. Sometimes with my amazing cellist, sometimes with a full band! I taught myself how to play the piano at age 5 and I've been moving forward ever since. Sometimes quickly, sometimes slowly. I've learned that things will always materialize if you work for it. I never know how to describe my music... feel free to comment if you give a listen :) You can learn more about my music at www.natalielovejoy.com

F827F589-29CF-417C-9B91-D5DF2E046128.JPG

These two are my inter-beastie love fest babies. Frank the dog and Bob the cat. My yin and yang. Sometimes I post short videos of them under #lifewithfrankandbob

684D7AB9-CE93-44FC-AA0A-FD40CFA423FF.JPG

This is one of my happy places. Burntside Lake... I can be found up here on my own or with my family either working OR recreating at YMCA Camp du Nord and YES.... I jump into that hole!! Its about 50 feet away from a stunning, traditional Finnish Sauna where I can warm my tootsies right away! I perform at womens retreats, sing in a music festival, teach skiing and kettlebell up here as well! It's a magical place!!

6DF79A8C-E49C-464F-98D3-7E5AB44BFF7E.JPG

This is Toby, he's our Bearded Dragon. I was tricked into buying him by an imposter of innocence and seemingly knowledgable girl at Petco who told me they we're as easy as a goldfish to take care of. This is not true. They eat crickets (which means you have to raise crickets in a separate cage) salad greens, veggies, they need foods fortified with calcium, you have to occasionally mist them, clean their shit up immediately because it smells so bad, maintain very specific temps at either side of the cage and cuddle with them. Our kids think he is the best so now that we have him, I've chosen to suck it up and take care of him!

1F3C5DC9-56D8-4293-8888-CECE10103007.JPG

The Mississippi river is life giving! I bike or walk by here almost every day. I feel lucky to live so close to a body of water that meanders from one end of our country to another. It's always there reminding me that nothing ever stays the same forever and I have to let go of my expectations in life in order for me to see what gifts are still to come!

A3A1AF2F-EBC2-4228-B108-CF14DEF229D5.JPG

I love exploring! This is Lost Lake in Alaska. My sweetie and I backpacked up here last year. It was so stunning I could barely hold my mouth shut. I mean, that photo was taken from my unzipped tent with a hot cup of coffee by my side. Glory! Alaska is a great reminder of how insignificant we are. I think thats why I love high altitude hiking. It changes your perspective. Last year I hiked to the top of Mount Massive in Colorado, the year before that was Half Dome in Yosemite. I'm seeing a high altitude hike/climb in my future for as long as my body will let me.

EB23B562-2731-427E-818B-EBB4541C6665.JPG

This!!! Is my partner, Jacob... AKA Stormy. After a long day, he likes to surprise me with sexy fireside poses. I love him because, like me, he teeters on the edge of what society expects of us and we share the same absurdities. He has the ability to see beauty in almost everything. He understands that a messy house or desk is the sign of a genius :) And he looks over the top of his rose colored glasses just enough to stay grounded. He'a an AMAZING Dad. He's incredibly committed to his kids and they look at him with stars in their eyes! He's a fantastic roll model for my girls and they think he's tops too!! I'm a lucky girl!

My brother @lovejoy saw this and wondered if we should alert @lordvader that he has a stormtrooper AWOL on planet Earth.

FullSizeRender.jpg

We have a portable yurt! Camping with or without our kiddos is a frequent occurrence. This was last year in the woods at YMCA Camp du Nord when I was up there with my family singing in a music festival! This Yurt is magical! We have a stove that heats water on the side for the chilly camping and it possesses a beauty that we love. Our kids think its the best thing ever! It takes is about an hour to set up and not as easy as a tent but totally worth every bit of sweat equity.

Natalie IMG_5653 copy-1.jpg

Last but not least... A throwback to the days of wakeboarding. It almost feels like a past life sometimes. I spent my entire 20's and early 30's wakeboarding. My Dad taught me to Waterski at age 10. From there, I developed a love for water sports on Minnesota lakes and rivers. Even though Minnesota has such a short water sport season, I could be found early spring into late fall with a wetsuit on and ready to roll at the crack of dawn and late into the evening until we were forced to get off the water. I now get out about once or twice a summer and waddle like a penguin for days after with soreness... but its worth it. I will always love gliding across the water. More often than not, it's now in a canoe or kayak, but I always say yes when someone offers to take me out on their boat for a spin!

If you're still reading, you have STAMINA! Thanks so much for taking the time and for letting me into your Steemit universe! More tidbits to come for sure!! Until next time...

XOXO,
@natalielovejoy

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, Natalie!

Wow, seems like your life is so busy and full of activities - your own salon, kids, pets, music... you do it all! I'm sure you will have lots of interesting stories to share. Welcome!

Hi... I enjoyed peaking at your blog too! Following :) Thanks for the kind words and Awesome lil' gif!! :)

Welcome Sistah!! :) <3 So glad you made it to the party!

Thanks Bro!! XOXOX

So nice! :-)

Were you the girl that did the Steemit sidewalk chalk video with @lovejoy?

Haha.. no that's @glamdoll! She's around here somewhere... :)

Fun!!

Oh WOW... What an incredibly powerful and beautiful introduction. Resteemed right away!

Welcome to steemit, Natalie!!!
Being Brandon's sister makes you already a great person :-) But your post has really touched my heart anyways.

My hair changes with the seasons and sometimes, for no reason at all.

That's me! Haha.

Hoping to see/read a lot more colorful stories like your first one.

Awe... Shucks! Thanks so much my fellow hair changing sister! Thanks for taking the time to check it out! Looking forward to your posts as well... especially since @lovejoy has told me to use you as my roll model!! XO!

Welcome to Steemit Land!

Welcome @natalielovejoy !

Uhm, one question..... HOW DO YOU MANAGE TO DO EVERYTHING? Superwoman :)

We have similar take on forgiveness. Some say it is kindness to a fault, but I don't see any issues with it. One can never be too kind or too compassionate, the world needs as much as we can give :)

I hope your steemit experience will be as wonderful as mine so far, and see you around the community!

Thanks so much!! I just don't do everything at once, and focus on staying in the moment. If I think about everything I have on my plate, I get stressed, If I just do whats right in front of me, things just unfold as they should. I'll be following you back, and thanks for the comments! :)

Living and enjoying the moment, good trick! =^_^=

Welcome on steemit ★ @natalielovejoy
I just love that red hair! Fits you perfect. I am curious to see more of your travel content :)

Welcome!
Love your fiery red hair! Wish I could have mine colored the same.

Very impressive introduction post!!
Welcome to Steem it!!

welcome and enjoy the possebilities steemit has!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01