The drawing I forgot to hide

in #introduceyourself5 years ago

I wanted to introduce myself and, for the first time, share the little story behind this drawing and how it has impacted me.

Over 2 months ago I was in my graduate class doodling while the professor worked through his material. Having the attention span of a snail (which I assume is very little), I had found that doodling was ironically the one thing I could do that would allow me to stay engaged to a lecture for the space of 4 hours(graduate class is at night 2 times a week so our classes last 4 hours). For the past 1.5 years, doodling was my routine. I attribute it to helping me maintain a 4.0 in my Healthcare Administration program. Also part of my routine was to toss my doodle on the way out the door, as it had served its purpose. This was the fate of at least 60-70 other pictures I had created up to this point and time and this picture was slated for the same routine.

However, this time somebody found it before it met its demise and grabbed it from me. Worried that my image as the frivolous note taking student was soon about to change into the student who draws curves during class, I embarrassingly braced for whatever comment was about to shoot forth from my classmates mouth. "Wow, this is awesome!" she said. I looked up at her to hunt for the sarcastic look that I assumed would accompany such a comment but I never found one. "You should not throw away your art, you should keep it" she said.

Surprised at the positive attention for my random doodle, I sat on her comment for the next couple days. I wondered if she was an anomaly or if there was a possibility that there were others who also liked my art. By nature I am my own worst enemy. Up till this point I had never really thought that my doodles could even be considered art.

I took a chance and posted a picture as artwork on reddit. A large part of me was prepared for the negativity that I felt I deserved so I also had a plan to delete the post soon after too many negative comments hit my inbox. It never happened. I became astonished that people really seemed to like the post. Then the comment that changed everything. Someone requested to color it. I thought to myself, reddit should have a coloring book so people that want to color others artwork have a place to go. I created r/redditcolor for that purpose.

I posted other pieces of art to the new subreddit and slowly subs started to trickle in. A couple days after I get a message from a user who tells me that he has aspergers and that although he only liked straight line art, he really enjoys my art to the point that he prints it out and places it on display.

That was all the motivation I needed to make sure I kept filling r/redditcolor with content. It drove me to continue and improve my control and post all the pictures I make during lecture.

Not much longer I get another direct message. Somebody asked me to sell them an "original". As a father of 4 who is a professional at barely staying afloat, I said sure! I thought it was a scam but I had nothing to lose. I asked him, what is it worth to you? He told me $250. "These Nigerian prince scams have really changed" I thought. Although the money would have helped I assumed it was a scam. It had to be a scam. However, he pushed further and asked how I would like the money. I gave him my venmo account and within the hour the money appeared. I was shocked. How could this happen? These were doodles. I was excited but then sickened when another message popped up from him. "I also would like this other picture". He linked an older drawing that had met the trashcan fate. Not longer after his purchase of my art, it felt like a hurricane of commissions swept through.

In a panic I reached out to a community of pen lovers to get advice on better pens for my art. A random redditor messaged out of the public eye and offered to send me a variety of pens so that I could see which ones worked for me. He did this for nothing in return. I accepted his generosity and within a week I had over 100 different pens to test. I asked him why and he told me "because I want you to continue making your art".

To say that these last 2 months have been anything but humbling would be a mistake.To this day, I am drawing any chance I get to keep up with the commissions. The moral is that I undervalued my worth because I felt I never met a bar that actually did not exist. I justified why I was not allowed to be an artist because I had chosen to be a healthcare professional instead.

I have since accepted that I can be both. I now know that my art holds value to someone else. It means a lot to me and I cherish every compliment I get. I have chosen to improve my art and it has led me to so many new avenues. It is also how I ended up here.

Thank you to all of the people who spoke up to me and helped me see the value in my art. It has helped me realize how important it is to compliment others because you never know how it might impact them.

TLDR: My name is Tyler and I am a healthcare professional and an artist. I am happy to be here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hi, welcome to SteemIt. Good luck on your Steem journey and I wish you the best. I've been here since 2016 but it was only last June when I fully committed to take Steem seriously. Please feel free to read my STEEMJOURNEY.

Here are also some tools that I use and I hope you can find them useful too:

  1. Use Partiko App from your mobile phone to post to your blog, comment, and upvote content in SteemIt to earn points which you can use to boost your own content.
  2. If you’re into games, you may wanna try playing Steem Monsters, a blockchain game based on Steem. It lets you compete with other players around the world with creature cards which you can sell and/or convert to crypto.
  3. Get rewarded for staying fit and healthy with ActiFit - a Steem-based app which rewards you with tokens (which you can eventually use to boost your content) for being physically active. If you're already using Fitbit or a similar app, then you'll find this easy to use.
  4. Invest your Steem Power at Smart Steem and get daily rewards and earn more Steem.
  5. Earn rewards by sharing links to interesting webpages through DLike and earn Dlike tokens
  6. Exchange votes with other users with SteemEngine.Net
  7. Steempeak and eSteem both offer an intuitive way of using Steem, enhancing your user experience.
  8. Earn free STEEM through The Crypto Faucet and Earn Crypto by completing tasks and watching videos

Cheers
Neil

Wow that's a really cool story into your journey as an artist! I used to do the same thing as you in school where on the way out from class I threw it in the trash bin, in my case most of them belonged there tho.

Haha I had to laugh at the part where he asked to buy your doodle you had thrown out, ouch!

Yeah a lot of artists undervalue their art, I know someone here on Steem as well who blames it on "being too new and unknown to ask for higher prices", oh well at least by posting their art at the same time and staying invested for the future it won't come back to haunt them as much when they become really popular and their early works start selling for a lot more!

Great to have you on Steem and hopefully it'll be a nice addition to your short but successful journey as an artist so far!

Thanks for being a part of my journey!

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

That is a great entry story into the world of art and I wish you a warm welcome to Steem too. You have a quirky style that I think will resonate with many around the world - good luck!

That is an awesome story and shows, that it sometimes only takes one genuine comment of a person, to totally change your own perception of what value your creations have :)

Keep at it, I really like looking at it, it is somehow soothing!

The rest of the story simply is amazing, not only have you conquered your fear of not feeling worthy enough for sharing your art, no you even created a space to share your creativity with others who would like to participate.

And KUDOS to people like this selfless stranger who sent you 100 pens just to further support you and your art.

Just out of curiousity, are you still in contact with him and thanked him appropriately? I hope so ;D

Arriving any day now should be a picture that I made for him with one of the new pens he sent me. I did not tell him I made him one because at the time I was in over my head from commissioned projects. It will be a surprise to him whenever it arrives.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, that is awesome!
Love to hear that, people like him are the real saints of this world, selflessly supporting wherever they can :)

that is really awesome! - good work I wish I could do that :)

By the way, as I see you are still quite new to steem. You might want to check out the recent addition of tribes/tokens.
They are more focused communities for different purposes (sharing gaming content, art, photography, essays, etc.)
and therefore gets your content out to more people that might be interested in the specific topics!

This post for example could have been tagged with: palnet (very supportive community for nearly all types of content),
creativecoin (especially for art) and probably even more.

Your content will be shown in the respective front-ends and you can earn multiple tokens that have some value, besides STEEM ofcourse!

I'll be following you and looking forward to more doodles ;)

Another thing, are you familiar with "Sacred Geometry"?
Your style reminds me of that :)

I am not but I will look Into it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the advice. I am still very green here

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steemit myopart. The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. You should also check out DTube and DSound for starters and if you're a gamer, Splinterlands! There are many other cool apps but I can't list them all here, there's just too many! But I'd also like to mention Steempeak, it's a better blogging platform that has a lot of cool features. The latest project you should also check as a new member is a palnet! Welcome to the blockchain! :) Oh, and if you're interested in creating your own tokens or smart contracts, check Steem engine!

Welcome myopart!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This is such a great story! Thank you for sharing it with us. Sounds like a real ripple effect happened for you which started with having the courage to share your work - keep on doing so! :-)


Curated for creativecoin.xyz

It was definitely something that spawned through the summation of kind words and encouragement from multiple people. Thanks for reading! I look forward to contributing more

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Hey! Thanks you so much!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36