Hello from California

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

S_009.JPG

Hello, community, from California. Very fond of the basis for this platform, and excited to see if we can all grow it into something wonderful.

Regarding the picture, I live in a place where the local water board thought it defensible to propose jail terms for people who don't reduce water consumption. Yes, freaking jail people for not being home when a pipe bursts. An exceedingly offensive idea to me (and the movement failed, probably for obvious reasons), but I did take up hydroponic farming of vegetables as a response to the general prevailing attitudes around here...

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, and really they made it so you can server jail time? What do people have crazy grow up where your from?

Wow stunning! I recently moved to California and am loving the month that I have been here so far.

I am seeing in your picture you use pipes to direct the water flow. This type of innovation is amazing and I would love to use your engineering skills to build something of the sort.

Thanks, timbo, you're very kind! I am indeed an engineer, and I did indeed design/build this particular setup, but what success I had was only because I stood on the shoulders of guys who went ahead of me and took time do really good how-to work like this: https://steemit.com/hydroponic/@mono/how-to-build-a-hydroponic-wall-garden-urban-farming-in-south-africa-happy-gardening
If time permits, I'd love to start provide really cool content like that, even if just for us crazy niche people.

Welcome to Steemit @mopdog

Nice of you to join us. Since you write, you can participate in the 50 word story contest for new steemians being run by @literature-trail for an opportunity to win big. You can go over and check it out

Welcome @mopdog, you've arrived at a hopefully exciting time for @steemit!!!

Thanks! I understand a small thing (I think) about your comment, on account that I bought STEEM on Polo shortly after the ICO. I got out after quite a loss, but got back in days ago at something not far from the recent local minimum. Not insight, just dumb luck.

It is crazy for what people can go to jail when no one stops the state from adding more and more stupid rules to the heap of foolishness. ;)

Welcome to Steemit. I hope you will enjoy it here! :D

For now, at least, I'm confident that even California courts would not permit institution of what's effectively a debtor's prison. The time is probably coming. Long live the extension of freedom that all this crypto work may bring us...

Welcome to the wonderful world of Steemit. I'm sure you will enjoy it here.

welcome to steemit :) @mopdog

greetings! welcome to steemit :)

welcome to steemit...^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39