Just Another Writer Wandering Around: An Introduction

HR-0010-copy.jpg
Photo Credit: Carlina Jane Captures

Hello!

Well, dear Steemit community, it took a bit of kicking and screaming, but I am here now. You’re probably wondering, “Who are you and why the hesitance?” Those are excellent questions, both of which I hope to answer somewhere and somehow in this little introduction of sorts.

Who Am I?

I like to think of myself as a modern Jo March, the heroine of Louisa May Alcott’s lovely novel “Little Women” (1868). While I cannot say I share all of the qualities of one of my literary role models, I do share three important ones with Jo March--namely that my nickname is also Jo, and that I am a writer and a dreamer. I may still be in the process of figuring out the details of what I want to do with my life (I am one hundred percent human, after all), but one detail I do know: I want writing to somehow be a part of it. I used to think writing for myself would be satisfying enough, but I must confess that writing, for me, is something I desperately want to share with others. This is not out of vanity in my own abilities either—an attempt to shout, “Look at me and see what I can do!”—rather it is out of a deep desire to encourage others with the words that I share. I began a blog a year ago, however, I find myself struggling to really gain much of an audience. Sometimes I struggle to even want to keep writing because what is a writer without a reader? That is where Steemit comes in, as well as my hesitance . . .

Why Am I Here?

Up until my husband joined this community and began writing (you can follow him here), Steemit was completely foreign to me. Even after all of my dear husband’s attempts to explain what it is and why I should join, I still found myself confused and uncertain. I assumed my writing would not fit in and that joining might be risky. Writing is so personal to me and I guess the “risk” of sharing it to a wider audience than my blog left me a little unnerved. I realize though that anything worth pursuing calls for one to step out of their comfort zone. At the very least, pursuing one’s passion usually requires one to at least try and see what happens. So here I am, dear Steemit community, a writer looking to give this community a try—a writer hoping to be of encouragement in some shape or form to others. In the social media world where everyone is comparing themselves to each other and tearing others down, it is refreshing to find a community like Steemit where people are focused on learning and encouraging.

Thank you for reading, and I look forward to getting to know you.

-Jo March

P.S. I plan to share some of my work from my blog here on Steemit, as well as new content. Until next I post though, you can check out my blog here:
http://jomarchmeetsmrbingley.com

Sort:  

I decided to follow you. I'm interested to see where you take your writing!

Thank you, and you can count me as a follower! :-)

Yay! After a week long wait for her account to be approved my wife is now on steemit! Show her some love!

You are highly welcome to steemit! This is a wonderful community to be part of.
You can find assorted yummy and nutritious recipes via @GLOBALFOODBOOK

You had me at Jo March. I prefer the stylings of Anne Shirley, myself, but I love some Jo as well. Very happy to have you here. I'll be following, and thirsting for more.

Thank you so much! Anne Shirley is definitely one of my favorite literary characters as well. I look forward to reading your posts, too!

The more the merrier. Very glad to have you aboard.

Welcome to Steemit! My husband @quantumanomaly convinced me to join as well. We both write about various things that happen in our life and he does some fiction pieces while I blog about teaching and our animals. Wish you and your husband all the best and hope to see you in some of the writing contests hosted on Steemit.

Thank you for the warm welcome! I am excited to discover what my fellow writers have to share on here. I will have to look into these writing contests, too. Thanks for taking the time to read!

What a well crafted intro post! As @tltran mentioned, we'd love to see you in one of the many writing contests soon!

Thank you! I really appreciate that, and I look forward to checking these writing contests out.

Welcome to Steemit @modernjomarch :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

I am also new to steemit and am looking forward to following your writing. Welcome 🇿🇦

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67403.09
ETH 3246.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65