Introductory post

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello. I am Miss Terious.

I understand that an introductory post should provide some basic personal information, but I'm not really here to talk about myself. I am here, though, to write about many other things. I also want to spend as much time as I can reading what others have written, and responding to them.

For those who would like to know, I am fifty five years old, and I live in Australia. On an external level, my life is quite unremarkable. Given that I have many things to talk about, I'm sure that as I get into this material, readers will learn more about me incidentally - providing, of course, that they find my writings to be of some value.

At this point, I am still learning about the Steemit platform, and there are many things which are a little confusing. I'm working on it, but it will take time to really familiarise myself with this place.

My primary interest is the evolution of human consciousness. I believe, as do many others, that human consciousness upon our planet is in a moribund and mechanical condition at the present time, just as it has been for thousands of years, speaking in a general sense.

I also believe that conditions at the present time are highly conducive to the raising of our consciousness to a more meaningful level of existence, and that we need to take advantage of these conditions.

In other words, if we can bring ourselves to put down our concern with the million and one things which occupy our attention, we can start to focus upon the one thing - the only thing - that truly matters, which is the quality of our consciousness. By doing this, we automatically change the million and one things as well. There is one place, a single place, that is the refuge for all who can find the true path. If everyone occupied this place, the world would be in a condition of true peace. Even so, not everyone can make this journey at this time.

This is why I say that political action is secondary to the internal politics of the spiritual path, by which we grasp the reins of power and control, not of external things, but of our own true identities, out of the hands of the impostor - the ego. If we can change this collectively, if enough people can make this transition, we can reach a tipping point, and our world may take a longed-for turn for the better. Yet we cannot get beyond the ego if we have not yet had enough of its pernicious and destructive influence in our lives.

Sometimes, the ways of the ego are hard to learn. The mind, as has often been said, is a trickster. Spiritual imposters - egos pretending to be in a position of true power and control over identity - are rampant on the internet at the present time. They fool many others, but much more fundamentally, they fool themselves. Generally speaking, such individuals truly believe in their own enlightenment, even as they provide a living demonstration of their own foolishness and delusion.

If the ego is, as I have said, an impostor, what purpose could this possibly serve? Why would nature implant something that is so fundamentally dysfunctional onto this planet? Why is humanity apparently cursed with an inevitable condition that can also be defined as a disease or a form of addiction? What can we really believe in? Is there some law, some principle, something the mind can grasp, that would give true succour? These are some of the questions I will seek to address here, among many others. For unless we can truly understand the condition into which we have been placed, and the reasons for our dysfunctionality, we will never be able to do what is required to evolve beyond it.

I will give the reader a a few thoughts to consider before I go:

There is no such thing as evil, for everyone does what is good as they see it, even if their idea of "what is good" is something that will cause hurt and pain to others. The universe - cosmic love - is utterly impersonal, and does not care what you think about this. Furthermore, the triumph of that which is good is already fully achieved, no matter what appearances may be telling you to the contrary. Reality is not what you think it is, and the fact that the universe is good - all good - was proven mathematically by the philosopher Plato well over two thousand years ago. However even Plato was only passing on what had been fully comprehended by others before him, and by very few since.

We will discuss these matters and much more over the coming days and weeks.

Until next time, and thanks for reading,

I am

Miss Terious

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @missterious.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thank you for that - very helpful, and I'll do my best to follow those suggestions over the next few days.

Wow, this introduction post deserves an upvote!

Now, I don't know who said exactly that introductions need basic personal information, since I highly doubt any of that is required or recommended (It's an online world, you never know when the next identity theft may happen), but your post was enlightening and thought-provoking.

Welcome aboard to the S.S.Steemit the Steem-powered community!

Since you seem to be one of the rare and interesting writers lately, I'll give you an upvote, a comment and a follow (no need for follow backs, I'm not into those, unless you genuinely have read one of my posts and want to follow me). :D

Thank you for your kind and generous remarks.

Congratulations @missterious, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Welcome to steemit @missterious!
I gave you an upvote value of $0.02!
Please have fun and enjoy your stay with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57864.58
ETH 2697.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21