Learning to Code - Introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

For the last half year or so, I've been trying to decide what programming language should be my first to learn, and one day, somewhere in November last year (2016) I started to learn C++.

What next

In my next coding posts, I'll present some of the recent personal projects that I've been working on, as a learning exercise. But first, let me tell you my story :)

IMG_20170325_231903.jpg
It's important to create the right environment when coding, doing something creative or working in general :)

Why C++?

Even if it's an old language, it is still very much used everywhere. My bf gave me a Particle Photon as a present half year ago, because it's fun to code, you can connect many things to it (sensors, speakers, lights etc.) and that got me curious. I needed to know C++, so I just learned a few commands at the beginning, then took a break from it because it was becoming too difficult and couldn't understand it.

So I went all the way to the basics

I wanted to learn about machine code first. I played with assembly language 6502 and 68k and it was really fun and challenging. Then I read and watched many interesting videos about computer history. Just so you know, history in general is my worst enemy, but in this situation it fascinated me! I found out about the most famous computers that changed the world in old times (some of them still change the world!). My favorites are Commodore SX64, Commodore Amiga 500 and BBC B Micro.

IMG_20170117_144632_068.jpg

After all this, I finally got a grasp of how a computer works, the logic of coding and realized how small I am in this world :) And here we go, I installed Visual Studio, found a good library - Allegro - to help me draw some lines, maybe make a sound, save an image, simple things like that as a beginning.

And then?

And then, after a few months of frustrations, explosive anger, crying in the corners, confusions, 10 hairs less on my head, most nails eaten and a few wonderful successes, I managed to get the basics of my first learned language C++! The hardest thing was getting the logic of it, and that you have to consider every little detail of how your program works, even the most meaningless ones. And to celebrate, I got my first working desk and a really cool computer, that finally has enough power to handle all the animations/demos I make :)

IMG_20170401_152241(1).jpg

But it's all worth it!

Through pain we evolve, or at least I did :) 1 year ago I'd never think of coding as one of my main focus, mainly because I was an artist, creating abstract, handmade stuff that had nothing to do with a computer. But now I found out that animations are complicated but very interesting to code, so I've been working on several demos for the past few months.

Sort:  

Huh, rarely ever hear of people doing anything in 8502 or 68k assembler anymore, it would be awesome if you could write some stuff on that topic sometime!

Welcome to Steemit anyway :)

Hey there :) Oh yes, I also read that there are not so many ppl coding in assembly language, I wonder why. 6502 is really easy and interesting, its my favorite, although I haven't been coding in that for a while. 68k was a bit difficult for me, the nr of instructions is much longer, but it was very much fun. Sure, I could write a bit about that sometime soon, thanks for the suggestion :) Are you coding?

it's actually great that you started all your "hair-pulling" with assembly and C++, because truly, from that point on, once you understand all the intricacies of dealing with memory and pointers and the like, all the others languages become much easier to learn. it's more just a matter of learning the semantics between the different languages. And when you try writing for IoT, you really get an appreciation of how to implement things EFFICIENTLY as well!

You're right, I realize now how important it is to know the very basic sides of coding. Good point, it is indeed easier to look through other languages as fx go and javascript. I actually had lots of guidance into how and where to start from a very good programmer, without it I'd probably still be a bit lost :-D What languages are you coding with?

my favorite language is actually Pascal/Delphi, but I've coded everything from assembly (way back in the DOS days), to C/C++, C#, Java, Scala, JavaScript, PHP, and probably a few others I'm not remembering right now. lol

Blockchain-wise, you may also want to familiariaze yourself with Wren, which will be used for smart contracts in the upcoming EOS platform.

Link: EOS Highlights and Favorites from Ethereal and Consensus 2017

Nice! You seem to be quite experienced, appreciate your precise way of writing too. I'd like that one day, I can explain my coding skills and work in the same specific manner. Didn't get into blockchains just yet, I'm still a newbie in this area, but will definitely look into what you sent me! Keep in touch :)

I do like your intro … nice one … future posts are been waited so hope for you the best in this new & challenging environment. I like writing/posting about several topics that call my attention, from travel, life to science and technology. Here are some of my last posts, that if you can, read them and leave some comments - it will be great.

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/nice-island-beautiful-beach-lots-of-aquatic-sports-to-do-still-the-best-part-of-the-trip-was-been-in-family-all-together

https://steemit.com/steemit/@indepthstory/i-was-almost-convinced-but-what-happened-what-on-earth-is-going-on

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/rio-de-janeiro-is-one-of-those-items-that-must-be-placed-in-the-bucket-list-and-one-day-definitively-visit-we-did

Best of good luck in the STEEMIT arena …. have given you my upvote tick for the welcome, and of course hope you will tick on the follow link .!!

Txs. & Rgds.

@indepthstory

I use Ruby at my dayjob and have published some Android apps.
I want to learn c++ now to do some blockchain development.
Do you recommend any resources?

Hey @rejoys :) I am still a newbie to blockchain, I use my coding mainly for animations / demos and for using the Particle Photon. But if you want to learn C++ for using it anywhere, here's how I did it: I started by watching this intro video, it tells you everything about C++ in an hour, it's mainly for you to get a quick view over all commands, logic, functions, structures etc. This website also presents pretty much everything there is to know about C++ in simple explanations, and there's also an emulator where you can train your code. And on this site there's an even more in-depth explanation of each command, function, statement etc. I hope it helps :)

Awesome! Glad to see more programmers on Steemit. Warm welcome. Major props for starting with a rather hard language like C++, let alone working with assembly. I'm a JavaScript guy, so you low-level programmers have always fascinated me. :)

Hey :) I tried learning JavaScript some time ago too (together with CSS and HTML and create some animations) and it was very fun, but I really had a hard time understanding it, mainly because I had no background to it, didn't understand how it works. Sure, many say that C++ is a hard language, but I'd say any language is hard at the beginning :) If you ever have some free time, you should definitely try the assembly language for 6502, it's very fun and logic and it might change your mind about the difficulty part :-D Here's where I've been excercising: http://skilldrick.github.io/easy6502/#first-program
Keep in touch and happy Steemins @adnanrahic

Thanks @mindme! I'll definitely check it out. JavaScript is a bit weird, being loosely typed and a bit unforgiving with runtime errors. Otherwise, it's kinda okay. Regarding C++, I've forced myself to start watching a course to go back to basics. Mainly because Node.js is written in C++, and as a heavy Node.js user I felt obligated to check it out :). I'd love to read more of your experiences with assembly and C++. Keeping in touch for sure. :)

The best way to start doing something with C++ is to create your own side project and work on it until you've gained some understanding. Me and my bf were learning a new language in the same time (me with C++, he with Go) and we made challenges to see if we can both make the same thing or better. Even put a timer on some of them :-D It's a fun way to learn. So if you have a friend, give it a go! Sure, I'll try to make something in assembly soon, maybe go back to my old new friend BBC Micro B :-D See ya soon!

I'm following you to know you better. Feel free to connect with me @lulita 😀

Thank you and glad to know that you'd like to know me :) Keep in touch!

I will. Thank you! Feel free to leave me some feedback on my posts. I'm always learning from others 😀

I passed through a similiar journey as you, but my learning path was not as hard core as yours! I dont know much about 6502 and 68k and really look forward to your posts about it :)

Haha, I'm curious about your journey :) Oh man, my first few months have been suuper interesting, but also overwhelming and often frustrating. I guess you know how that feels :-D I did not code much in assembly language, just enough to get an understanding of it. I'd like to go back to it soon, and make my own little project that I can present here. So yes, keep in touch and be ready :-D

I have a plan of posting about my coding journey, keep in touch :D Curious about your project, cant wait to see it !

very interesting. i personally still can't get my head around object oriented programming. maybe one day ...

Hey :) For how long have you been coding, and what is it exactly that you can't understand?

oh, i did research with matlab. then i tried to get into C, but I can't understand inheritance and classes. i just need to study more 8-)
i am not coding right now. maybe in the future!

Well, coding is not easy, especially at the beginning. You have to have good sources to learn from, and know what to search for when you google about some things you want to know about. And the hard part is reading same thing over and over again until you understand it :) So if it's too overwhelming or stressing for you, then you should probably do something that makes you feel more productive. Although I can tell you one thing: Evey learning process is hard, but if you get over it, you can finally say you earned that power, that knowledge, and a whole world reveals in front of you :)

thanks for the reply. i actually have a brilliant app. it's called learn java. it's free, and it's got progress tests, and also gives certificates upon completion.
you may want to try it out, it's brilliant.
there's a new version of it too, called sololearn.

Hey :) Sounds good, although I'm not into learning java at the moment, but I'll keep that in mind. More important is for you to start coding again right? :P So what are you waiting for? :)

all my free time goes into steemit 8-)

Great post, I started learning C++ a fe years ago for the arduino and although it was very useful it just wasnt the programming language for me. So massive respect as it is not an easy one to learn! I really appreciate programmers knowledge but I also love to see fellow artists utilizing code.
Ps Im on the Blender+python boat now :)

Oh, the famous Arduino :) That was probably interesting. What was the best you've done with it? Just curious :) Many say that C++ is hard to learn, but I think it has the same difficulty as many others, hmmm. Have you ever tried assembly language? That's hard :-D Phyton is nice too, what are you using it for?

The 3d graphics program I use is scripted in python and you can open up a code console within the program. I want to create an animation where I combine financial and biological systems together, creating cellular representations aspects of the financial markets.
I created a few projects with the arduino, the drawing machine was pretty tough as I was sticking together blocks of code that were way above my knowledge level. I think my rat sculpture was maybe the caziest although the code was pretty basic. I created a sculpture and installed several doors and a feeding system and trained 3 rats to open the electronically activated doors and feeding systems. It was all buttons which opened the doors and feeding systems. So the rat would press the button and this would activate the arduino which in turn would run a stepper motor script. I also made a UV light sculpture with the arduino.
I havent tried assembly and from what I hear I dont intend on learning ha. One language at a time ;)

Sounds like a great idea with the 3d graphics program. Looking forward to seeing the final results :-D

Wow you seem to have been pretty serious about coding and building stuff with Arduino! I've been playing with the Particle Photon (which has many similarities with Arduino) and making a few projects, but not as big as yours (not yet at least).

Wanted to make a drawing machine too, but got stuck in building it, not coding it hah... Do you have a post about the rat sculpture? That sounds pretty interesting :) I've also been in situations where the most simple lines of code with the least effort rewarded the most in functionality, while sometimes I'd spend days and days on a complicated code that just didn't want to work as I wanted.

What did the UV light sculpture do?

True. If you ever change your mind though, you should maybe see some videos about the old computers that are still very retro and used for demoshows today (amiga, commodore etc.). And if it seems interesting, assembly language would be great for learning on one of those old computers, it's really really fun and easy :-P I've only managed to make a few sounds and draw some lines on one of them, in BASIC language. Man that was fun! :-D

Ha that sounds fun, I always just pressumed that BASIC was very hard.

The light sculpture was made of several uv flourescent tubes and they all desperately blinked. There were patterns screen printed on the walls in uv ink so they appeared when the uv light was strongest. It didnt work as well in reality as it did in my head but it worked somewhat.
Ill upload a blocg post this evening with some images of the rat piece. ha Im sure people will love their tails.

BASIC is actually so easy, much much easier than assembly or C++. I totally recommend you try it :-D Maybe on a BBC Micro B simulator.

Interesting with the UV light :) At least you get to finish an idea. Until now I've started so many projects and didn't finish them, that it's almost frustrating.

Yep, saw the rat project, really nice! Tell me, is this part of university projects, or just your own?

Part of my own art research. I graduated in 2011 so Ive been making art and exhibiting it then. Its all self directed stuff so fun but challenging.
What about your work, is it part of a uni course or..?

Nice that you make exhibitions :) Self directed here too, but I haven't thought of exhibiting my work in any way, it feels as if it doesn't look good enough. I would really like to make a flower sculpture in the future, based on a Particle, gears, servos, and lights. Who knows, maybe I'll take you as an example and look for presenting it somewhere :)

Good post, i like it. I start to learn about programation with C and C++ But I did not go deep because in my university they decided to switch to python because it was a gaming college. Then I went to java, javascript and c #. C ++ and C are legal languages to make software, good post, if you want to check me, I talk about programming, games and these things, I'm new here

Hey there :) Nice to meet another eager coder! Ah, it seems that you know a bit about many languages, which can be quite useful. I've haven't been studying programming at university, but created my own learning projects instead, more fun for me. Have you had a good time studying there? Sure, I'll definitely check out your posts, and welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67