I'm finally on Steemit! + becoming an EOS Nation ambassador

In the beginning of 2017 I packed my backpack and hopped on a plane to Mexico, where I would start my new adventure. I had traveled and lived abroad more than once before, but this time would be different. This time there was no job, no classes, not even a specific place to go or be. This time around, it was about me, about going with the flow and just jumping into the unknown. I figured I could make it on the road for about a year with what I had saved up over the last two years, maybe a little longer.

I spent the last years after graduating with a business degree working at the adidas headquarters in Germany, slowly moving from IT project management into a more business driven marketing role. Planning, implementing and managing digital products for a global and fast paced brand like adidas was a challenge and a blessing. Right out of school I got to sit at the table with top brands and influencers, learning more and more about digital ecosystems, product roadmaps and crucial interpersonal skills.

I consider myself a naturally curious person; however, working with industry leaders and agencies across the digital space, visiting conferences and planning for a potential future sparked my interest and hope into technology even more. I spent a lot of my time driving awareness and implementation of early pilot projects in the Virtual and augmented reality space, trying to find feasible business cases for these incredible experiences we could create.

In 2015, at the time when VR and AR devices were even more uncomfortable than today and barely any content existed, I came across another infant technology promising to change everything. The blockchain, Bitcoin and this guy Vitalik talking about smart contracts. While VR dominated SXSW that year, I soaked up as much information as possible and visited many panels discussing the blockchain, hearing about all these ideas of a tokenized economy.

As someone who lost a lot of trust and faith in the global institutions that run our planet today, I believe that we cannot simply lean back and wait for challenges we face to be fixed by someone else. Needless to say, the idea of decentralized organizations and markets mostly free of personal human agendas sounded incredible.

Even better, was the opportunity to be able to contribute and invest into this future and more fair infrastructure myself today; I didn’t have to wait for someone else anymore, communities all around the world were starting to solve many issues themselves and I could become part of it. I got invested in the space and made sure I was aware of important news and updates in the space, while I spent 2017 and early 2018 traveling through Central and South America.

To find some balance between the informational overload and constant movement, I wanted to spend more time outside in nature, getting to know more people and new cultures; the places and people we so often talk about when we talk about saving us and everyone else.

Throughout this entire last year, I learned a lot. I learned that there are a lot of inequalities in this world; I saw that human beings are incredible in dealing with the circumstances they find themselves in. We are resilient, creative and overall very very similar. We all thrive for harmony for ourselves and our loved ones, while trying to avoid pain and suffering.

I also learned a lot about myself, how I fit into all of this and what it is I want to do with the time of my life. It had to be somewhere in between the old „professional“ world I came from and spending all my time in the jungle or the beach with a bunch of hippies (who I love btw). I was excited to come back home after 15 months and to start re-allocating my time to things I am fully behind and want to support.

In my new role as a part-time innovation consultant, I will have the opportunity to continue to influence and be influenced by big and small players across different industries who are at the forefront of technological development and adoption. I decided to return to work only part-time, in order to have more time available for passion projects and new ideas.

With the main net launch of EOS coming up in June, I had been following most developments and updates on this front, as I believe they are bringing something to the space which is crucial for a broader adoption of blockchain technology. In comparison, I see Bitcoin and Ethereum like the Google glass and the Oculus Rift of the Virtual Reality space. They’re allowing all us enthusiasts and early adaptors to get a first glimpse at the technologies’ and their potential for the world, but are just not yet good enough for mass adoption.

I believe the EOS blockchains might be the first to cross this threshold; they are offering scalability for businesses and consumers, as well as protocols which could finally create more true DACs on a stable platform. As a user of both Bitshares and SteemIt, I feel confident that Dan has learned a lot of lessons along the way and will only continue to improve the products he builds.

I was so excited when I found out that EOS nation, as one of the top BP candidates was looking to expand and grow their community through their ambassador program. The amazing team had already created so much valuable content and just seemed like a fun group of people, with the true belief that what they are doing can contribute to the betterment of our planet. I applied to become an ambassador for the Canada based community here in Germany and had the pleasure to talk to Yves and Denis a few days later.

As an official EOS Nation ambassador, I am excited to go out and engage with the community, planning meet-ups, promoting the platform in my private and professional environment and to help in any other way I can. I believe my IT and business background will help me a lot in translating all the advancements into valuable use cases for others in the community.

There is a lot of material out there which could be translated into other languages to enter new markets and just a general need for understanding and more awareness around blockchain technology and its potential for all of us. I am looking forward to be in touch with more people in the community, to collaborate and partner with all you other forces for good out there.

Find out more about EOS and the vision of EOS nation

https://eos.io/
https://eosnation.io/
https://t.me/EOSNation

Sort:  

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.


Welcome to Steemit @michaeljed!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Yes, I love Crpto too! Lots of detailed analysis on my blog along with some predictions

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

welcome to steemit, hopefully in this steemit we can support each other, we will be waiting for your best work in this steemit best regard i drive, if you like my comment follow and upvote i will do the same......... check out my blog @pinki

Warm welcome from Thailand Michael! Wishing you all the best as you begin your Steemit adventure! Looking forward to your future posts!

Nice to meet you, @michaeljed! Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to steemit! I hope you have a good experience here!

Hallo und willkommen Michael,

hier findest du eine kleine Einstiegshilfe.

Beste Grüße und viel Erfolg.

Congratulations @michaeljed! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Any EOS supporter has got to be at least a little bit cool! Welcome to Steemit fellow traveler. I will read this whole post later when I am not so tired from work and leave a more comprehensive comment. Blessings.

Thanks @elemental and I'm looking forward to any other feedback or input on this. Go EOS :)

Finally!!! a new Michael aspect is born! Welcome michaeljed! My bro!
I wanna see traveling posts from you!!! I'm also curious about seeing how much attention the crypto posts can get...
An advise, get involved in discord groups with similar interests, search for users also with similar interests and comment on their posts...
Good luck my friend!
See you somewhere in the future!
maybe italy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64149.44
ETH 3145.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53