My name is Mia. I am a psychology student from Finland moving to Long Beach, California in August to study acting.

IMG_20170625_132449.jpg

Hi fellow steemers! I am writing this post to introduce myself to all of you. This is only my second post on steemit so I am still trying to figure out how it works. I also try to find likeminded people, so please do comment if you share a interest with me!

Who am I?

My name is Mia, I am 23 years old and I study psychology in Turku, Finland. I also work part time as a youth activities counselor on a cruise ship traveling between Turku and Stockholm. My main interests are psychology, theatre, drawing, photography, traveling, nature, snowboarding, going to the gym and I am also trying to learn yoga.

On the 17th of August I will move to Long Beach, California for a year to study acting. This is something I have been dreaming about doing for many years now. I am extremely excited and also quite nervous and I will definitely be posting more about my exchange in the months to come.

What will I post about?

I will mainly be posting about two things:

1. I will post about my life. In the near future I will write posts about my exchange and about living and traveling in California. I will also be posting pictures of nature and places that I visit in Finland, the US and other countries.

2. I will post about topics concerning mental health and other aspects of psychology. My dream is to work with something where I can combine my interest for psychology and arts. One way I would like to do this is by creating art and organizing art projects that address mental health issues. Contributing to raising awareness and fighting stigmatization of mental disorders is of great importance to me.
If this is something that is important to you, or that you try to do as well, please do comment! I would love to share thoughts and ideas, or work on a project together with other people that try to raise awareness about mental health issues as well.

I might also do some posts about other things that are important to me, like promoting healthy and sustainable living, vegan food, charity and volunteering.

Thank you so much for reading and please do upvote, comment or follow if you feel like you might be interested in what I have to share! :)

Sort:  

Good luck at long beach! Do you know people there or are you just up and leaving?

Thank you! I don't know anyone there, and I don't even know where I'm going to live yet :D I love these kinds of adventures where I can just leave to a totally new place and live a totally different life for a while. I've done it twice before, but it seems to become more scary as I grow older.. :P

Get a place as close to the beach you can afford. Those areas are the safest. Welcome to Steemit!

Okay, that's good to know! I've been looking for something close to the beach, but for other reasons than safety :P

I hear ya :) Following you.

Hi @mialinnea i introduced you in one of my posts as well check it out if you can thanks.

25 Best Minnows Steemians to follow last Week of June 2017

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@jzeek/25-best-minnows-steemians-to-follow-last-week-of-june-2017

Thank you for mentioning me! :) it means a lot!

Hi welcome to the community! It is nice to have a psychologist here:) look forward to lore of your story!

Thank you! Even though I'm still only a psychology student not a licensed psychologist. :P But I do hope that I can contribute to the community somehow :)

Welcome! gave you a follow!

Thank you David! :) I like your philosophical posts, followed you as well!

Welcome Mia! You have some really beautiful eyes. I'm looking forward for your content! =)
Cheers from Switzerland.
Feel free to check my Guitar's Artwork, maybe you’ll like it! <3

Thank you! I'll definitely check it out :)

Wooow! Your artwork is amazing :) I actually like drawing in quite a similar way, a bit psychedelic with lots of different shapes and details. I'll post something some day, right now I'm at work and don't have my drawings with me. I followed you, can't wait to see more of your art :)

Hello, welcome to Steemit. There are a lot of good posts on how to maximize your fun here and I highly recommend checking them out first.

I am following you now to help you build your network. Good luck with Steemit and acting as well.

Thank you! :)

Welcome to Steem @mialinnea I have sent you a tip

Thank you! :)

Welcome to Steemit @mialinnea mental health issues are very important and often dealt with improperly. I hope you are able to use this platform in a way that allows you to raise awareness on these issues.

Thank you! I hope so too :) I've been thinking about starting a blog for some time, but I've never really liked most social media sites.. somehow steemit feels different, more honest somehow :) I followed you btw, I think you could teach me a thing or two about photography :)

welcome to the family, i just upvoted and followed you, follow me back and feel free to check out my account!

Welcome to the Steemit community Mia! My name is Tann.

I've outlined some basic tips on how to make your posts stand out from the rest and get more upvotes to earn more steem! Click Here for more!

I think you may find them useful!

Hi, thank you for the tip! Your post was very helpful, I will definitely look at it before posting next time :)

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

 CHECK >>>TIPS-MY FIRST WEEK ON STEEMIT- https://steemit.com/steemit/@tinashe/tips-my-first-week-on-steemit
*Thank you*
 

Hi, thank you! It was a really nice post, I have been wondering how long posts I should make. I don't want to make them too long so that people won't read til the end... But I guess they will if it's interesting enough :)

yes if its quite interesting ,the steemitians will read upto the end

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49