MattCreate - An Intro in Words and Pictures.steemCreated with Sketch.


That’s me on the left.

I’ve already been posting here for over a month, so time to make it official. I go by the moniker “MattCreate”. Why? Because my name is Matt, I sometimes create things, and it’s a lot easier to remember and write than Matt Shalvatis. I’ve probably seen my last name spelt 100 different ways.

And what are some of the things I create? Photography, photo art, woodworking, writing, coding, fixing things. Not that I’ve ever made much money doing that. Except the coding part. But still, it’s enjoyable. I dabble in many things, a few too many things probably, which is why I’m only getting around to an intro 6 weeks after I started posting.

I consider myself semi-retired, with a stress on the semi, because saying I’m retired sounds so final. I intend to grow and develop and experiment with new things just as long as I’m able to and it makes sense to. Before this, I spent a number of years as a programmer, the old-school COBOL type mostly, first in big telecom, then in state government. Since then I’ve done some investing, Wordpress, Photoshop and photography.

So, what types of things will I write about?

About my current life.

I am an American, born and raised in NJ, USA, but am now a long term resident of Kiev Ukraine. Why Kiev? Well, my wife is from here and she seems to like the place, so hey, why not?

Kiev in winter can sometimes be a magical place, but usually not. A typical winter is 1 hour of sun followed by 3 weeks of clouds. This is one of those few (partly) sunny times.

Kiev in summer can be glorious. No hot and sultry weather here.

Though in summer, we often spend time at our dacha (summer cottage) out on the river.

I may occasionally write about living in the former USSR (from my wife’s perspective) and my Russian wife (don’t call her Ukrainian). That’s a story in and of itself.

Life as an expat.

Well it probably makes sense at some point to touch on life overseas. I haven’t seem much written about this type of thing here on Steemit, so how it might go over is a bit of a mystery, So I might not focus too much on this right away.

Travels and Photography

Luckily, I have had a chance to travel a bit. Not nearly as much as I would like, but I’m sure many people would tell me that I have nothing to complain about. Some of my travels have even been a bit unique.

South Korea.

While you might be impressed by this, this particular destination was courtesy of the US Army, many years ago, when regime change was not so prevalent. And it certainly beats getting posted to, oh, let’s say, Iraq. But it did plant in me the travel bug.

I never really did like the types of “vacations” my father took us on. He and mom would load us in the car for a 7 - 14 day road trip. Drive 400 - 500 miles one day, stop for the night, then repeat it until we got home. Slight exaggeration there, but not by much. Then I found myself doing the exact same thing. I finally figured I had to break that habit once and for all. How? By doing things I’ve never done before. Like what?

Canoeing and Rock Climbing, Rio Grande, Texas

No Image at this time!

Kayaking the Sea of Cortez (Gulf of California) Mexico

Canoeing the S. Nahanni River, Northwest Territories, Canada

Life on a private island & Aztec ruins, Belize

Chernobyl/Pripyat

Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt

Various Locales, Turkey

Roman Archeology

Moscow, Russia

Photo Art

Not being content to doing only photography, I’ve dived into some photo art too.


All previous images are mine.

At some point, many of these photos will get their own post.

Health & Healing

Even though it appears I’ve lived a pretty healthy lifestyle, the decades of sitting indoors behind a monitor caught up to me big time. I’ve had two angioplasties, (2002, 2004). Moving overseas shortly thereafter, which allowed me to escape from the junk food culture of the USA, ironically meant less time outdoors moving around and doing exercise. Remember those typical winters I mentioned before? Add to that a number of years working from home and you’re dealing with one hell of a sedentary lifestyle. One that led to bypass surgery. So I’ll likely write occasionally about...

Food


Image from Pixabay

Supplements


Image from Pixabay

Exercise


Image from Pixabay

And what you should and should not believe about maintaining good health. Believe me, many companies would rather profit by keeping you sick than by seeing you healthy. Well duh, big surprise there!

Quotes

Just because I like quotes. And it helps me keep my mood, my focus, and energies up.

So if any of this sounds the least bit interesting, I look forward to you stopping by and looking at what I’m up too. Or have been up to.

Steemit MattCreate.gif

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @mattcreate! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch


Welcome to Steem @mattcreate.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Love the Star Wars scroll of your blog. Great GIF picture. I met a great family from the Ukraine in New York. I'm Oatmeal from Oregon. Love your photos. I love eating from my gardens. I love health and travel.

Thanks for your intro @joeyarnoldvn. Yeah, a lot of people have some type of promo at the end of their posts. Thought I would go for something different. Traveled to or through 35 states at one time or another, but never did make it to Oregon. Probably won't happen any time soon. 😞

Oregon has lots of trees like Idaho and New York which I was in. I liked South Carolina. I have not been to Texas but am a fan of Texas.

Hello @mattcreate, thanks for sharing your cool picture. please check my blog in which i'm refering to your intro.
https://steemit.com/life/@sultanmr/best-new-steemers-introductory-posts---page-4-1525147340-3731923

► ► Your post was resteem by way4pro.com ResteemService to over 21 k followers ◄ ◄
30657150_407400616399623_8753095164009906176_n.png
by @wayforhappiness , @awayforahppiness and @bitcoins1 and @upvoting
Keep it up!
All the best!

Send 0.100 SBD/steem For resteem over 7600+ followers @wayforhappiness / send 0.25 SBD/steem resteem over 21k+ Follwers Send your link in memo ! @wayforhappiness Attached !

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.
Good day, I give you a warm welcome ... I hope you have much success and fortune in steemit.
i followed you if you intrested follow me back.....

Please Stop

In your your last 100 comments you used 37 phrases considered to be spam. You've received 4 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 84.00% and Bot: 2.30%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Congratulations @mattcreate! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Thanks @mattcreate!

Your contribution is appreciated.

Please note that until further notice, the upvoting service is temporarily disabled. Since you sent 0.500 STEEM, your account has been credited 0.250. Send your next transfer for 0.001 with your URL and the hashtag #prepaid to have your post resteemed.

To have your post shared with over 10,000 followers send 0.250 SBD or STEEM to @crystalhuman, your post will also be shared to twitter at https://twitter.com/Marketechnologi

Welcome to steemit, lots of nice places! Thank you for sharing, follow and upvote for you

Please Stop

In your your last 100 comments you used 44 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 1 times. You've received 0 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 51.50% and Bot: 1.80%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52