Changing the Way the World Views Breasts - My Intro

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

#IntroduceYourself

Hey Steemers! My name is Marissa and I first heard about Steemit from a friend who thought it’d be a great way for me to share my content with more people. I love the concept and I’m pumped to contribute. I actually got my start as a content creator on Medium.com, so I know the power of a good platform and what it can do for you.

Why Am I Here?

I live to create and inspire. This has come together for me recently in the form of my latest venture, Your Breast Self. Your Breast Self is a social movement dedicated to empowering small-breasted women with body image insecurities and reshaping the way society views breasts. You can think of it as kind of like the opposite of the "real women with curves" body image campaigns.

Your Breast Self was inspired by my own personal journey with self-acceptance. I am 5’1 and very petite, and along with that comes petite breasts. However rather than see my breasts as proportional to the rest of my body, I always saw them as my biggest flaw. I spent most of my life highly insecure about my breasts and wishing they were different. Because I was so insecure, I always thought that I would get breast implants. Many of the women in my family had them, and I thought I would do the same. But recently, I’ve experienced a shift in my mindset that has helped me change the way I view myself. I can now say that I no longer want breast implants (in fact the idea seems utterly crazy to me now). And I can say that I feel confident with my figure in a way that I never have before.

How did this happen? Well, it wasn’t an overnight change by any means. My shift in mindset was the result of a long personal journey, and there many contributing factors. You can learn more about my personal journey here.

My Vision

Now that I’ve reached this point in my own journey, I want to help other women with breast insecurities do the same. As part of this, I run a site called YourBreastSelf.com, where I provide style and body-love advice for small-breasted women. My goal is to share my own lessons and insights within a trusted community of women so that I can help others avoid the shame that I’ve experienced. I would love to share my knowledge and inspire others within the Steemit community as well.

Please note that my aim is not to condemn plastic surgery. I will never judge anyone for getting breast implants. If something truly makes you happy and a better version of you, then by all means, go do it.

Yet, what I will say is, what I dislike about breast augmentation is that oftentimes women are driven to get it by shame, not by self-love. They get surgery because they feel like they have to in order to feel good about themselves (note: have to is very different than I choose to).

Breast augmentation can end up being really positive for some women, especially those with breast deformities or who have survived cancer. However, for the thousands of other women out there like me, my goal is to inspire them to see themselves in a new light — one that isn’t distorted by the media, plastic surgery, or aspirational brand campaigns.

The feedback I’ve received so far has been phenomenal, and it inspires me to keep going. I would love to use Steemit to spread my message to even more women (and men). It’s time to redefine the approach to beauty and teach women that beauty is a mindset that we each have the power to define. If you have female friends who you think would benefit, tell them to check out my writing or send them my way. You can reach me directly at [email protected].

And so you know I'm legit:

Sort:  

Very lovely. So glad to have you here.

Great to have you on the site. What does being a content creator on Medium entail? How would you compare Medium and Steemit based on what you know so far?

It's similar to Steemit, you just post your content and tag it by topic, and you can support other writers (via recommending/hearting the post). If your content catches on, it can go viral. However, you just don't get compensated for the content you publish. The other difference is you can create a publication on Medium that consists of multiple posts, and you can contribute to other user's publications

steemwelcome49.jpg

You're welcome! And I am happy that your blog is starting to move after the authentication! (even @ned has upvoted you now) :o)

Hello marissah, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave. We are currently in alpha testing, if you would like more info join robinhood chat on steemit.chat or pm @repholder.

Lovely Intro - Keep on Steeming!

hi - what do you mean by author? Can't figure out how to pm you via this platform

Fun Fact: Humans are super strange compared to the rest of the animal kingdom on earth in regards to their breasts! Most animals mammary glands aren't swollen all the time like humans seem to be!

You learn something new every day.. Today it was something about boobs!

Edit: Sorry for the odd breast fact.. I meant to welcome you to our community but that came out... -_-

Haha no worries I appreciate the extra tid bit of info. Thanks for the support! 🙌

@marissah Small breasts have ALWAYS been my favorite (especially if the 'aureola and nipple' aren't boring!). Big boobs get in the way, and personally speaking, for some weird reason always seemed inhuman to me. Perky cones were my thing, but now it only matters they aren't big.
Strange that women would think tiny boobs made them less female.
Its really all about the nipple anyway. (but maybe that's just me)
Welcome!
And check out my new post of old sketches.
Just to prove I'm not kidding about being into tiny boobage! Take care ~DM
https://steemit.com/art/@matherly/some-of-my-sketch-art-from-the-1990s

Welcome to the community.

Welcome Marissa to the steemit community! I love your message you are providing women. Although i am not petite, i think that message goes across all women as far as being happy about their bodies and their breasts. :)

Thank you! Agree! So many women are not "petite" but have small breasts or are insecure about their breast shape or size. I hope my message inspires across the entire spectrum :)

Just in time to celebrate the holiday coming up August 28th , @steemed-open has a nice post about empowerment no matter what you look like

haha that's amazing. i didn't even know about that. Investigating!!!

You'll find more info here. Just an advice, if you ever post nude pics on steemit use the NSFW (Not Suitable for Work) tag or else you will anger puritans and they will flag your post.

It's the #gotopless day. I posted this: "Hi Marissa, welcome to steemit! Have you ever considered going topless for your cause?" but unfortunately got flagged by the doublemoral patrol.

Don't be ashamed of your small breasts! Small breasts are better than no breasts at all :)

thank you for your verification. welcome to steemit and let me promote your post :) please do not post more than 4 time in 24 hours. you will be considered spam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61785.67
ETH 2891.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54