Introduction post: Who is manonthemat?

Hello steemit community!

After anxiously waiting for two weeks to have my account activated, I can now take an active part in this very interesting and exciting community.

In fact, I was so excited to get started and provide some content, that I broke the unspoken rule of writing an introductory post first and I ended up posting a longer article in the bitcoin and cryptocurrency space with the title Going green for mass adoption of cryptocurrencies. I want to apologize for my lack of good manners and give a brief, yet hopefully somewhat meaningful introduction to my persona.

Straight outta Hamburg

I was born and raised in Hamburg (Germany), where I spent the majority of my first three decades of my life. Currently I live in Los Angeles (USA) with my wife, who is an US citizen with Mexican roots, and our two cats. My current job title is that of a Senior Software Engineer. My work history can be viewed on LinkedIn.

My username manonthemat is a reuse of my public GitHub account. It stems from a time where I was so occupied with providing financially for my family, that I missed out on mat time. However, I wanted to make myself a promise, that I will return onto the mats and make martial arts an integral part of my life once again. Especially 柔術 (commonly misspelled as Jiu Jitsu) is one of my favorite activities.

10th Planet Jiu Jitsu Blue Belt
This photo dates back to May of 2010, where I was awarded the blue belt under Eddie Bravo.

As a matter of fact, these days one can see me on the mats again more often. While I'm full-time employed, I'm also a full-time college student. During this semester I'm taking a 柔道 (Judo) class at college, and even manage to drop into 柔術 classes every now and then at a nearby gym that's run by former training partners.

My profile picture is from a snapshot on the set of the MMA short-film One More Round (yet to be released), where I played a corner man next to UFC legend Chuck Liddell.

However, at least initially, I do not plan to write about these subjects here (unless you are interested in the mat-life). Instead, I am planning to continue writing about blockchain technology and cryptocurrencies first and foremost. My next article will be about media influence on cryptocurrency markets. It will most likely be much longer than most steemit articles, but I hope you find value in it, as I try to thoroughly research these topics.

I am looking forward to read and write many articles here, which may lead to some great exchange of ideas and collaborations.

With kind regards,
Matthias

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @manonthemat!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Yes, I love Crpto too! Lots of detailed analysis on my blog along with some predictions

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to steemit @manonthemat. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

steemitComment.png
We are excited to see you join us here! Steemit is a remarkable platform that is built to reward users for creating quality content. Its a logic called proof of brain.

As for TechChat, think of us as DJs that create tech content instead of music. We create content by looking for the most shocking, interesting, and exciting breakthroughs in the tech space. Basically - we do all the research so you dont have to.

We hope to hear your opinion on TechChat’s content! We always love to hear from our community.

Happy Steeming 🚀

welcome to steemit

Welcome to steemit, nice introduction!

I did nearly the same mistake as you. I wrote an introduceyourself post and then spent a lot of time working on a big post I wanted to write for a long time (here  if you are curious). I had nearly zero followers, used probably the wrong tags and it certainly were not the only mistakes. Ah well, still learning every day about the platform 😉

Anyway, I wish you good fortune here, seems like you will have some interesting stories to tell!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28