A globetrotter has landed on planet Steemit... ๐Ÿ›ฌsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Hello world ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŒ

It's me! My name is Maite and I am a Belgian girl who is traveling the world!

Last June I finished my studies as a teacher of Dutch and French for high school kids. I didn't want to settle down and started working immediately, because the world is too beautiful to stay at one place.

I worked the whole summer and so in October 2017, my boyfriend and I flew over to.... Thailand ๐ŸŒด, a tropical destination where I had never been before. OH, I fell in love with it's white beaches and crystal clear water ๐Ÿ˜.

Our plan was to travel for 6 months: 1 month through Thailand, 3 months through Australia, 1 month through Vietnam and 1 month through Laos. BUT... Look at us now... We did 1 month of Thailand, but are already 4 months in Australia and we don't have any plans to leave yet... Why? Because we decided that we didn't want to stop traveling! The earth is calling us!

Except from traveling the world, I have got some other goals in life. One of them is making people aware about the pollution of the ocean and about the fact that we are interrupting the life cycle of its wonderful marine life. I really believe that there are some good people on this planet who are saving terrestrial animals, but there are less people who think about the animals who live in the ocean. Also, a lot of people aren't conscious about the way we are mistreating these animals unintentionally. As a traveler, I think it's my mission to share this information. ๐ŸŸ๐Ÿฆˆ๐Ÿฆ€๐Ÿ™

One of my main reasons to participate to Steemit is because I am convinced that this is a very valuable platform. As you can make money out of your post, I think that a lot of people are going to share powerful, informative messages; and that's really what I was waiting for. I would like to learn from other people, instead of loosing my time with irrelevant posts. ๐Ÿค“๐Ÿ“š

I hope to get to know a lot of you and to meet like-minded people!
Let's do this ๐Ÿ’ช

Lots of sunny regards ๐ŸŒž xxx

Maite

(NB: Picture has been taken at the Blue Mountains, New South Wales, Australia)

Sort: ย 

Welcome to Steemit! I've heard nice things about Thailand.

Great intro and lovely picture @maiteclement. Good luck โœŒ๐Ÿผ

Thank you very much for the warm welcome, @travelfusion ! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Hi Maite

Welcome to Steemit Maite ;)
Since you travel a lot, you might have some awesome travel pictures? If so, you should check out @czechglobalhosts daily picture challenge!
Greets

Hello, Maite, and Welcome to Steemit.

It's great to hear that you can't stop travelling! I hope you can maintain such a lifestyle, and with Steemit, maybe you can.

Travel is one of the most popular topics / tags on this platform, so you'll find plenty to read and a large audience.

At the same time, if you write about travel, you will have lots of competition. So, make sure that you produce high-quality posts that are interesting, readable, and attractive. If you do that, you're sure to succeed.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20โ€“30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called โ€œshitpostsโ€ by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. Thatโ€™s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Hello!

Well this can help me a lot, as I am a newbie to this platform!
I understood it completely and everything you say sounds very logical!

Thanks for that and have a good day ๐Ÿ˜Š

Hello maiteclement! Welcome to Steemit! We'd like to share 5 of the most essential tips we believe will help facilitate your onboarding process here: (For a detailed writeup, check out our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users)

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords (or private keys). Each offers varying degrees of access to your account so you'll need to secure all 4 keys. Know when to use each one here.
  2. Get Steem rewards: Here in Steemit, you can earn 2 types of rewards: author rewards and curation rewards. In addition, you can choose how Steem pays your author reward: "Default 50% / 50%" or "Power Up 100%". Which option is preferred will change over time. To learn more, click here.
  3. Upvote wisely You are free to upvote any post you find interesting, but wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published. Also make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain for voting power. To learn more, click here.
  4. Know your Steem and Steem Dollars (and Steem Power too): Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. In addition, you'll need to convert your Steem and power them up into Steem Power to have greater values on your upvotes. To learn more, click here.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

Good luck on your journey! We hope you'll like the great community here. Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

This is a clear reaction! Thanks for opening my eyes ๐Ÿ˜Š!


Welcome to Steemit @maiteclement!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hey @introbot and @byColeman!

Thanks for welcoming me to this new community and for giving me some useful information!
I also really appreciate that you have upvoted me and followed me!

Cheers!

Amazing having another like-minded traveller on Steemit!! Welcome!

I love how much you care aboutโ€‹ the world and its creatures! We need more peopleโ€‹ like that!

I'm super pumped to see your posts in the future!

Happy Steem haha

Oh hahaha thank you very much! I am happy to have a comment of a person who cares about it as much as I do :D! I am certainly going to follow your posts in the future! Have a lovely day ๐Ÿ˜Š

Welcome maite,
Hier mijn welcome post voor newbie steemers maar ik wil ook nog wat in het NL zeggen, je kunt als je veel steemed zelfs je reis ermee betalen !
Je zilt heel veel beleven dus blog blog blog dan is Steem je provider van de reis van jullie leven
Succes!!
Your #introduceyourself blog is very nice.
Thats what its All about on this platform and this blockchain. Blogging is it, blog on and you Will be succesfull! ๐Ÿค› and You Will earn money. ๐Ÿ’ด๐Ÿ’ธ๐Ÿ’ฐbe carefull with all your passwords !! Never give that up!
For very good safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11
I blog every day and love it!โค๏ธ
Helpfull is the Steemify App , its Free in the Appstore go cheque it out. And good luck steeming and I Will See you around๐Ÿ€
Greetings from Brittandjosie - Holland

Hey @brittandjosie !

Oke super! Ik ga mijn best doen om hier goed in te worden, maar moet het wel allemaal nog even uitzoeken! Merci voor jullie tips!

Groetjes ๐Ÿ˜Š

Laat me weten als ik iets voor je kan uitleggen of doen. Misschien is de steepshot app voor jullie travellers een idee. Upload is idem als bij instagram snel en eenvoudig als je geen tijd hebt voor heel blog ๐Ÿ˜‰ ik weet niet of hij het nog doet

Oke ik bekijk het! Thanks :D

Nou hij blijkt uit decapo store gehaald te zijn ๐Ÿ˜ฌ

Welcome to steemit @maiteclement! I love your #introduceyourself post! I am retired now to Mexico, but spent years teaching high school in Canada and really enjoyed it!! I also have the same passion about cleaning up our oceans...it's terrible to see the pollution, isn't it??

I belong to several groups here who welcome, support, and mentor new people like yourself. They each have a Discord channel as well, which if you don't know, is another place that we connect, chat, share ideas, contest, problems...whatever you need actually. The groups are @newbieresteemday, @greetersguild, @asapers and @helpie. We overlap a bit, but that's a good thing because you can get to know so many like-minded people who are really interested in selfless, community spirit. We purposefully go looking for new people because truthfully, it can all get a little overwhelming when you first start out ;)

If you have any questions, feel free to ask. I'm also going to come back here as @newbieresteemday and resteem your post in the hopes of giving you more exposure. Please consider joining these groups; they'd all love to have you :)

Hello @lynncoyle1 !

Thanks for your lovely comment!
I am going to check out your groups later, but I am sure they can help me! You are right that it's quite a bit overwhelming! But I like it, so I am excited to learn more about it.

Have a wonderful day ๐Ÿ˜Š

You are most welcome! Let me know if I can help you out ;)

By the way, my dad's family is all from Belgium too;) Hey @simplymike, check it out...another Belgian girl! @maiteclement, she will be a wonderful help for you as well !!

Thanks @lynncoyle, for showing me this one ;0)

You are welcome!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74