My Motorcycle Accident Story and Overcoming Hardships (Caution Photos Are Real and Brutal)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

WARNING: I put all the brutal images at the bottom.

Thought I would share a little bit more about myself. I wanted to also share with people that tend to have a hard time working through things. I am a self motivator but these past three months have been pretty tough on me physically and emotionally. On March 11th I got into an accident going out to Anza Borrego to see the Super Bloom. I live in North County San Diego, but I had picked up a girl who I was about to ask to be my girlfriend in National City area. I got there and we talked a little bit and shared with each other how excited we were. I was extremely nervous I liked this girl a lot but I was excited to see what the day would bring for us. Maybe a little make-out session in the flowers? I was hoping for it. Anyways, as we left her sister asked me if I had my motorcycle license, to which I replied "No, but I drive safe so there's nothing to worry about."

So we started to drive out, and made it out near Julian area with a couple stops along the way and I took some pictures of her and my bike with the amazing view as well. I was having a great time, as was she. Soon enough we were going around a few turns that I took a little bit to fast and sure enough I went over the double yellow line and got hit on the left side of my bike (only my foot) by an oncoming car. I feel my foot on fire and I look in the rear view and she is still on the bike unharmed (thank god) so I look down at my foot and it appeared to be hanging off by a thread. I then decided that the day is ruined and I just blew my chances at making this girl my chick. I pulled over to the side of the road and since I couldn't put my foot down I tipped over and looked at the damage. Brutal.

Here is a picture of when I got into the hospital after they ripped off my boot.

Yeah, that is my tendons and bone sticking out.

So this was about a 7 day hospital stay. After my first surgery I asked the girl to be my girlfriend which she accepted. I was ecstatic, I assumed this had all happened for a reason and that this was meant to be.

After what felt like years of staying in the hospital eating the same thing everyday I finally got to go home. I was a little depressed but I decided that it was a net gain because I got this amazing girl that I would do anything for and I didn't hurt her on my bike. We had planned so many different things for our future. I started playing guitar and teaching myself and reading a lot more. I also started drawing (I had no idea that I could draw) here are a few:

And me with my baby guitar:

The first month was me and a woundvac sucking any juices out of my foot to create more tissue between my tendons and my skin.

After two months of healing my girlfriend and I ended up breaking up. This absolutely broke my heart because I had let my walls down more so with her than any other girl I had dated previously. I think it had to do with me being in such a vulnerable situation. But the situation is what it is. Something I can't control but for two weeks I was losing my mind because I was so depressed. I couldn't walk, I lost this girl I was infatuated with, and I just had nothing to look forward to. I was a wreck. I started going online more and found this place which I am so grateful for and stoked to be a part of it, I started investing more time into investing and looking at cryptocurrencies which has created a purpose in my life again. The guitar has been going amazing. I bought myself an electric guitar and amp and have been playing for hours daily. I started working out again (which I used to do everyday) and all these little things got me out of my funk. I needed to trust myself. I needed to work on myself rather than fade away into a nothingness of depression that was controlled by a physical wreck. Just because something happened that was horrible doesn't mean I can't come back from it. I picked myself up from my bootstraps and carried on no matter how hard it was.

It has been the hardest thing I have ever had to deal with in my entire life. It may not seem like much but the things I had to deal with mentally seemed to far outweigh any type of physical pain I had to endure. I am finally looking retrospectively and realizing this all did happen for a reason. I have met some amazing people on the way and this accident made me a much stronger person. I am starting to walk on my foot again and starting physical therapy. I also just joined a UFC gym in hopes of learning Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. The DR said I would never be able to run again for exercise and my three toes on the left will always be super stiff. I think this will be able to be overcome with training. I remain hopeful for it.

I guess the whole point of this post is a reminder for me and anyone else in a shitty situation that things will get better. You may need to work for them thoroughly and have patience, but they will eventually get better if you set your mind to it. Life is an outside force that humans cannot control. If you focus on what you CAN control and not stress on what you CANNOT then life will be a lot easier. Your anxieties and worries can be minimized if you learn to do this correctly.

Then I got my stitches out.

Then I got a skin graft from my leg.

This is where I am at now:

My foot is still broken in a few spots and dislocated but I am able to walk around:)

Me before the accident

Sort:  

Ughh,so sad accident. Glad that you find this platform. Keep it real

wow great post!
you should always take care buddy!

Thanks, I am back up on my bike since last week riding. I try to be a little bit less fast nowadays but it is difficult for me lol.. I am quite the adrenaline junkie.

holy shit thats gnarly. be sure to eat healthy foods ALL the time
Infinate Black Cloud 72dpi.jpg

I usually eat pretty healthy. I have my cheat days though ;)

Goodness gracious - I am so sorry but am glad that you're healing! Keep pushing forward, my friend.

That's the only way to go ;)

welcome to steemit

I do like your intro … nice one … future posts are been waited so hope for you the best in this new & challenging environment. I like writing/posting about several topics that call my attention, from travel, life to science and technology. Here are some of my last posts, that if you can, read them and leave some comments - it will be great.

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/nice-island-beautiful-beach-lots-of-aquatic-sports-to-do-still-the-best-part-of-the-trip-was-been-in-family-all-together

https://steemit.com/steemit/@indepthstory/i-was-almost-convinced-but-what-happened-what-on-earth-is-going-on

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/rio-de-janeiro-is-one-of-those-items-that-must-be-placed-in-the-bucket-list-and-one-day-definitively-visit-we-did

Best of good luck in the STEEMIT arena …. have given you my upvote tick for the welcome, and of course hope you will tick on the follow link .!!

Txs. & Rgds.

@indepthstory

Checked em all out. I think I spoke with you earlier about one

Oh my @lude sorry about your accident. We are also motorcycle rider's. Hope your healing time is quick. Take care

Thanks! What kind of bikes?

2014 harley Davidson fat boy. We have so much fun.

Nice! Harley is the way to go 100% . I am thinking about taking my bike around the country and maybe starting writing about it. Would be fun.. hopefully could be lucrative too? We'll see.

That is a fantastic idea. I have a friend we did that several years ago. I will follow you as well @lude

Take care. Have a great day

I'm glad you are ok. I'm following you to know you better. Feel free to connect with me @lulita 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60934.92
ETH 3379.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48