SMOKING 2 PACKS OF CIGARETTES A DAY WON'T KILL ME....

in #introduceyourself8 years ago


Hello Steemit friends! I'm an addict. A cigarette addict. I have been an addict for over 10 years now. I've tried numerous times to try to quit smoking. I've tried the patch, the nicotine gum, and trying to quit cold turkey. But I always end up picking up another FREAKING cigarette. I tried switching to smoking the e-cigs or vapes. It worked for about a week but it just didn't have enough nicotine in it for me to keep going.

I smoke Newport Menthols, so I think nothing compares to the actual cigarette. I know I should quit, for my family, for my children, and for myself. But I stress a lot, and honestly, a cigarette is my only friend at these moments. What is a girl to do? I mean, I could always try drinking instead but that wouldn't be any better, right? I've heard of others that quit cold turkey and I always thought, "they must have killed a couple people during this stressful era in life".

I mean, I went without a cigarette for only a week and every single day, I wanted to punch somebody. I wanted to snatch a cigarette from someone's nasty mouth. I know it sounds pathetic, but I am addicted. I am an addicted cigarette smoker. I don't know if I will ever have the bones to just call it quits, enough is enough! I am a slave to cigarettes. I can almost compare myself to a drug addict. I would go through withdrawals if I had to quit smoking.

I DO want to quit. I don't want to leave my children behind if I end up dying because of lung cancer. Any tips or recommendations? Please don't suggest drinking, I can't let go of a bad habit to pick up another one. It's just not happening.

HELP ME QUIT SMOKING!

Sort:  

I quit myself. I recommend you should treat it as follows....

Stage 1 First 2 weeks is the biological addiction , programme your brain to think that you are having a 2 week seriously virus flu or cold. You just need to accept that the pain is there but will pass, focus on 2 weeks. When you want a cigarette have a sip of water, it clensis and somehow purges A strange dihydration effect that will last 2 weeks. Also try not replace by any other habit during these first 2 weeks.

Stage 2 this is your 6 month goal, u will want to restart , it's good to start a sport or something healthy, think of what you did as child for inspiration , you grew up with it so you will most likely love it, for me it was swimming.

Sage 3 you will have another potential lapse at 9 months. Try to doing something completely different , like start a new hobby, mine was building a new business.

Stage 4 once you get to around 18 months I'm convinced that your body changes and perm antler rejects cigs, you just can't remember how I liked them. Stage 4 can take 2 years as was the case with me.

Been quite for 10 years now hope this helps and good luck!

This is great! Thank you so much @sotura Very useful information and I will give it a try. I can't promise it will work, but honest to god, I will try. And congratulations for quitting and sticking to it.

good comment, thank you. I hope this will be helpful to myself and others.

I've been smoking for 15 years now, I think. (Around that, anyway.). and have quit a good bunch of times. Usually I find the first 3 days the worst, with my body getting really sick from the withdrawal. And then weeks where my mental health, goes through a rollercoaster.

  • The most important part though, is finding something you're not used to doing, while smoking. or having breaks in between, to go get a cigaret.
    Having smoked for so many years. the addiction isn't the only thing keeping it going, but the simple habit of doing it, is adding to that. (And habits are a pain to get rid off.)

What I tend to do, before I quit. Is that I stop smoking while doing things I enjoy, and only smoke. And start doing more things that I don't really enjoy, and smoke meanwhile.

  • The simple psychological effect from that, can make smoking a pain in the ass. (Not that it's worth anything on it's own.)

I also tend to chain smoke, as to get physically ill from the nicotine. (Nicotine is a nerve toxin, litterally. The more I ingest after that "relaxing feeling", the worse I start getting.)

  • Though, with 2 packs a day, you probably have a high tolerance for it. So that might not even work, without actually killing you.

(FYI. The only reason I actually started smoking again, every time. Was because of those annoying "quit smoking" advertizements there are in Denmark. And where smokers get ostricized with laws. <- Yeah, I'm weird like that, ssh.)

I sincerely wish you the best of luck, @lkong87. ^_^

Thank you so much @mistowed . I am having the hardest time, and I mean I have no support to back me up. My husband smokes as well and we've been saying that we are going to quit but we never do. It's get a hold on my life and it really sucks. Maybe I will try to get some expert helpers. This will one day kill me...

Don't your husband support you, when he himself also wants to quit?

  • But yeah. It can be a really tough thing to go through alone.
    ^ I just took almost 3 months without weed, after 7 years of daily use. It's definitely not the same at quitting the cigs, I can say that for sure. Since there are no withdrawal symptoms. Everything there, is psychological. (And 3 months later, I still fell the urge to smoke it before bedtime. While my day and night cycle have been completely messed up.)
    ^ Though, it was meant as a break, to get the THC out of the system, and get a bit more clearheaded, so I get a deliviery tomorrow, or possibly the day after.

I think it's about attitute, discipline, and simply telling yourself enough, that you actually want to do it. (That last one, is rather important though. - If you don't tell yourself, that you want to quit, then no matter what you do, and how much help you get. You probably wont succeed with quitting.)

But the first step, is the desire, which you seem to have. So I'm sure you can do it. ^_^

No because when I'm ready to quit, he never stops with me. It's a battle I'm facing alone, apparently. I'm smoking a cigarette as we text back and forth right now. That's how addicted I am. And in about 5 minutes, I will pick up another one. I'm a stay at home mom, so I have a lot of free time, in between with taking care of my children. This really sucks.

I'm sorry to read that actually. And surprised. - Maybe a tiny bit angry. (Not sure. the surprise takes presidence.)

  • Why will he not quit with you, if he wants to quit anyway? Sound rubbish...

Yeah, I have a lot of free time on my own, having a ruined back after a disease, where some nerves where damaged. And I think I've maybe lit up 3 - 4 cigs, since my initial comment. (Which is pretty dumb, if you think about it. After I pointed out, that nicotine is a nerve toxin, and I have damaged nerves. <.<)

^ If I where you, I'd start using the children more, as the excuse to quit.

  • Having parents that smoke, makes to potential for children to start smoking themselves later on, that much greater.

(Fun fact. - Nicotine was once used as a way to kill off rodents, like rats. But it was stopped, because it's simply too toxic, in large quantities.)

Yes, my husband is all talk, unfortunately. He's been smoking longer than I have and honestly, he won't listen to anybody. If he wants to smoke, he's going to smoke. There's no telling that man otherwise. It's a real pain in the butt.

Sounds like an amazing relationship...

  • Sarcasm aside.
    I really do hope, that you get through it, and quit. You sound like that is something you really want, so I'm definitely cheering for you, that's for sure.

And if you ever need some support, you can always hit me up in the chat, or throw me a comment somewhere. I'll be happy to provide what ever I can. ^_^

For me quitting wasn't about the physical addiction, rather the habit of smoking. What worked for me was to try to form new habits when i felt the urge for a smoke, particularly exercise helped a lot

I've tried exercising myself and when I'm done, I take a break. And that break, is a cigarette. It's getting to be really pathetic.

It is hard. But it is possible. Enjoyed you sharing. Currently documenting my journey to being nicotine free

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53