YummyNowandWow#5: Barefoot, Chiang Mai's Hidden Pasta Gem

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Just look at this:

Barefoot Chiang Mai Italian Restaurant 3.jpg

Seriously.

Take all the time you need.

Doesn’t that look amazing?

This is a so-called ‘pasta summer’, and is just one of the many amazing pasta dishes available at the picturesque little restaurant Barefoot.

Have you seen the Netflix show ‘Master of None’?

I LOVE that show.

I have to admit: after seeing season 2, I developed a little crush on Alessandra Mastronardi, who plays Francesca.

More importantly though, the second seasons starts off with Dev doing a pasta apprenticeship in Modena, Italy.

When I saw that, I was like: ”Beam me up Scotty! Transport me to Italy now! I wantz my pasta…”

Barefoot Chiang Mai Italian Restaurant 12.jpg

At the time though, I was living in Chiang Mai, in Northern-Thailand. And although there a few restaurants here that serve decent Italian food, it wasn’t until I tried Barefoot that I could confidently say I found the one place to rule them all!

Barefoot Chiang Mai Italian Restaurant 7.jpg

Barefoot is a tiny restaurant, located west of Canal Road, close to the International Exhibition and Convention Centre and Doi Suthep mountain. It’s tucked away in a little soi, and can easily be missed.

Let's step inside, shall we?

Barefoot Chiang Mai Italian Restaurant 2.jpg

Barefoot Chiang Mai Italian Restaurant 13.jpg

The restaurant is run by a small Thai staff, in their twenties. The restaurant is so small that every table is a chef’s table here! Well, unless you want to sit upstairs. But really, you shouldn’t.

Barefoot Chiang Mai Italian Restaurant 5.jpg

Everything is freshly made here. And if you sit downstairs, you have a front row seat!

Barefoot Chiang Mai Panorama.jpg

It’s a real pleasure to see how the pasta is prepared right in front of you.

Barefoot Chiang Mai Italian Restaurant 4.jpg

See how the dough is flattened and rolled into a thin, long sheet. And then the pasta is sliced into thin ’angel hair’ or ‘fettucini’, which you have decided on beforehand.

Barefoot Chiang Mai Italian Restaurant 11.jpg

As the pasta is cooked, the rest of the ingredients are fried in a pan.

While you're waiting, take a look around. There's weird gnome, who's hiding his eyes behind his massive orange hat:

Barefoot Chiang Mai Italian Restaurant 1.jpg

His friend is less shy:

Barefoot Chiang Mai Italian Restaurant 10.jpg

When everything is almost done, the pasta is put in the pan with the rest of the ingredients, and mixed into one delicious bowl of yumminess.

Some grated cheese on top, and there you have it: dinner is served!

Barefoot Chiang Mai Italian Restaurant 8.jpg

And guess what: Barefoot even serves spaghetti for dessert!!

Barefoot Chiang Mai Italian Restaurant 9.jpg

Page Divider.png

This is the fifth post in the YummyNowandWow series:

We could all benefit from living more in the moment, and experiencing that sense of wonder we as adults often have lost along the way. This is also why I chose my Steemit name: @livenowandwow. It serves as a friendly reminder to myself – and hopefully also to you, as a reader – to not take what we have for granted, but appreciate it.

And trying out new foods is one of the ways to accomplish that!

If you are in Chiang Mai, Thailand, I highly recommend eating a pasta at Barefoot. You can find Barefoot here.

But you can also simply explore food options that are closer to home.

If you enjoyed reading this post, you may also like my other recent posts:

YummyNowandWow

TravelNowandWow

Credit: all images are my own.


Follow Resteem Upvote @livenowandwow.png

Sort:  

I live in Chiang Mai but was not aware of this place. I'll have to check it out now. Thanks :-)

You're welcome!

A lot more Chiang Mai posts are coming up. Not all hidden gems like this. But I'm probably leaving town soon, after having lived here for a while. So I am going to document the beauty of this town before I leave.

It's great, it's like seeing the familiar with a new set of eyes!

There are some amazing restaurants in Chiang Mai but like I said I've never heard of this one. Will be looking forward to your next CM post

Great Post Thanks For Info ! I am hungry now

Haha, thanks!

Same goes for me lol...

Pasta! Pasta! Pasta! thinking of that for dinner..

Pasta is the best, isn't?!

Wow! Excellent post brother thank you for the information! And vote, please if you vote for my comment, I would really appreciate it :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by livenowandwow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57