YummyNowandWow #1: 5 🍚 Dishes 🍲 You HAVE to Try in Vietnam!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Today I'm starting a new food series: YummyNowandWow!

Cao-Lau.jpg

I LOVE eating. And drinking coffee. Lots of it. I may cut my spendings on clothes, going out, or on random stuff to decorate my house. But I will never cut my food budget.

A life that isn't full of yummy delicious nomnomnom food just ain't much fun to me.

Sorry, that's just how it is.

I'm always on the lookout for new dishes to try, in the hope that they will blow my taste buds away with their combination of different flavors.

And in this new YummyNowandWow series, I will chronicle all the good stuff I come across!

Will you join me on this trip around the world?

We're starting in Vietnam!


5 🍚 Dishes 🍲 You HAVE to Try in Vietnam


Vietnam: home of the craziest traffic congested streets I have ever seen!

Vietnam Traffic Hanoi.jpg

Me, blocking the traffic in Hanoi, in the North of Vietnam

But also of some of the world’s most stunning views:

Halong Bay Sunset.jpg

The sun sets over Ha Long Bay, a UNESCO World Heritage Site

And of course home of amazing yummy food!

The Vietnamese use lots of fresh ingredients mixed with well balanced spice blends to create some of the most delicious meals you have ever tried.

You’ll fall of your chair when you taste the Vietnamese cuisine, for real!

Even former president Barack Obama couldn’t resist: in his last year in office, he jumped on a plane to try out them noodles with chef Anthony Bourdain.

Obama Meme.jpg

After which his dinner partner Anthony Bourdain tweeted:

Antony Bourdain Twitter.jpg

So: Are you planning a trip to the ‘Land of the ascending dragon’?

Then here are FIVE DISHES you have to try in Vietnam!

1. Chả Cá Thăng Long – Fish with Turmeric & Dill


 Chả Cá Thăng Long.jpg

Chả Cá Thăng Long is a famous noodle dish from Hanoi, made with pan-fried fish filets, turmeric and dille. It tastes earthy, fresh and, well, salty. It’s topped with peanuts, so this dish is both crunchy and tender.

The fish almost melts on your tongue, so soft! I ate it three days in a row. Need I say more?

2. Phở – Beef Noodle Soup


Pho.jpg

If a hamburger is the national dish of the U.S., pho would be Vietnam’s answer to that. Phở, which is pronounced as ‘Fuh’, is a noodle soup.

In its most basic form, phở consists of rice noodles topped with raw beef, which is sliced in thin pieces. As a flavorful beef broth is poured in the bowl, the beef gets cooked. This is called phở bo.

But there are many different variations of phở. For example, there is phở gà, which is noodle soup with chicken. Another variation is phở tái, for which sliced rare beef is used.

Phở is a popular breakfast among the Vietnamese, but you can really eat it anytime of the day. A visit to Vietnam isn’t complete without trying a hot bowl of beef noodle soup!

3. Cao Lầu – Pork Noodles


Cao-Lau.jpg

Cao lầu is another noodle dish, but this time from the picturesque Hoi An.

Cao lầu is made with thick noodles, pork, fresh herbs and a delicious caramelised broth. This has got to be one of my favorite Vietnamese dishes, I can eat this anytime of the day.

If you visit Hoi An, locals will tell you that Cao lầu is copied all across the country but that the real thing can only be found in Hoi An!

4. Fresh Spring Rolls


Springroll.jpg

I had never heard of the word spring rolls until I traveled to Asia.

How on earth is that possible, you may wonder?

Well, I’m from the Netherlands and we call spring rolls ‘loempias’.

And not just loempias, we call them Vietnamese loempias. These are actually deep fried spring rolls, not fresh spring rolls (fresh vegetables rolled in rice paper).

Imagine my surprise when I learned that loempia is not a Vietnamese word! Fellow Dutchies: save yourself the trouble of looking for it on the menu of a Vietnamese restaurant, you won’t find it!

I did my research, and it turns out that loempia is actually an Indonesian word.

Which, when you think of it, isn’t that surprising.

Indonesia used to be a Dutch colony, so we have been influenced by Indonesian cuisine. Which by the way is waaaay better than the Dutch cuisine, which mostly consists of deep fried snacks like a ‘kroket’, ‘patat met’ (fries with mayonnaise, if you’ve seen the classic movie Pulp Fiction you know what I’m talking about) and ‘boerenkool’ (farmers cabbage).

Similarly, the most popular dishes at most Chinese restaurants in the Netherlands are not Chinese, but also Indonesian:

  • Babi Pangang (grilled pork in sweet and sour sauce)
  • Pisang Goreng (fried banana)
  • Sate (chicken filet on a skewer in delicious peanut sauce)
  • Nasi (fried rice), and
  • Bami (fried noodles)

Fried spring rolls were the only kind I knew, until I traveled through Vietnam. There, I got hooked on fresh spring rolls!

Included in my cruise trip to Halong Bay was a cooking class, where we made fresh spring rolls.

Fresh Spring Rolls Boat1.jpg

Making them is really quite easy. All you need are some fresh vegetables, like lettuce, grated carrot and cucumber, etc. Add what you like, I personally really enjoy some shrimps in there too. Then take a piece of thin rice paper, wet it, put the veggies in the middle and start rolling. For those that are into Mexican food: It’s a bit like making a burrito!

Dip the fresh spring rolls in a peanut sauce and you’ll have a delicious meal!

5. Hoi An Treasure Bags


Treasure-Bags-open1.jpg

For this last dish, we’ll return to Hoi An. I don’t know if this is a Hoi An specialty, but I tried it there and it blew my mind.

The Treasure Bags look like a birthday gift: so cool!

Treasure-Bags Hoi An Vietnam.png

These little presents are filled with a delicious mixture of fish, mushrooms, spring onion and soy chilli sauce. The wrapping is crunchy and cracks open when you take your first bite. And then that soft filling just falls on your tongue...

Eating them made me feel like a little child again!

I felt that same sense of wow and wonder I see with my little niece, when she explores the world around her...

Page Divider.png

This is the first post in what I intend to be a long-lasting series:

YummyNowandWow!

We could all benefit from living more in the moment, and experiencing that sense of wonder we as adults often have lost along the way. This is also why I chose my Steemit name: @livenowandwow. It serves as a friendly reminder to myself – and hopefully also to you, as a reader – to not take what we have for granted, but appreciate it.

And trying out new foods is one of the ways to accomplish that!

So next time when you don’t feel like eating that healthy salad...

...try out something completely new, a dish you have never tried before!

If you are in Vietnam, pick one of the five dishes I mentioned above. But you can also simply explore food options that are closer to home. Be creative, and bon appétit !

Which of these Vietnamese dishes would you like to try?

If you enjoyed reading this post, you may also like my other recently published post: TravelNowandWow #1 - Did You Know You Can ⛷️ Ski 🏂 on Cyprus?!

Credit: all images are my own.


Follow Resteem Upvote @livenowandwow.png

Sort:  

Great post! I am also from the Netherlands and never knew that some dishes are from Indonesia and not China in Chinese restaurant. Upvoted! I would love if you would be able to check out my latest post :)

Thanks, appreciate the kind words! Great to have another Dutchie on board. Gezellig, welkom!

I'll have a look at your latest post 😉 .

All this food looks amazing! I love anything food related, and I really like the structure of your food series, especially all the details about Vietnam and Barrack Obama, lol. Very entertaining article. I've followed you and look forward to seeing more :)

Thank you @natashahall!

Yes, I try to pay attention to the flow of a post, keeping it fun 😉 . Happy to hear you liked it!

Cool! I love vietnamese dishes😋😋 Especially, rice noddles..😍

Me too, @aram.jin!

Vietnamese is one of my favorite cuisines. Cao Lầu is probably my favorite dish 😊 .

#NL Hey @livenowandwow, ik kwam je net tegen ergens en ben je gaan volgen, goed bezig! Vraagje: werkt deze minnowbooster een beetje? Ik zag dat de voting power op dit moment tegen de kritieke lage grens zit; heeft het nog wel waarde?

Hey @finance2nomad, leuk, nog een NL-er!

Ik ben eerlijk gezegd pas net achter het bestaan van minnowbooster gekomen, een paar dagen geleden. Dit is geloof ik de tweede keer dat ik het op een post gebruik. Als ik het goed zag kreeg ik voor 2SBD een vote van hetzelfde bedrag. Dus daar verlies ik op, aangezien je als auteur maar 75% van de post opbrengst krijgt.

Ik zit pas sinds een paar weken op Steemit. Ik ben blij dat er minnow support accounts en projects zijn. Ik probeer ze momenteel uit.

Wat zijn jouw ervaringen?

Thanks! Mijn beste ervaringen zijn tot nu toe met randowhale, ik zie nog geen goede alternatieven wat dat betreft. Daarnaast moedig ik je aan om bij het MSP te komen, zie mijn guide van een paar dagen terug :)

Zit al bij MSP! 😉 Ook gebruikt voor deze post, zie comment hieronder. Alleen nog niet zo actief in Discord channels.

Randowhale bevalt me ook het beste tot nu toe!

Zie dat jij ook 'TeamAustralia' als tag gebruikt. Ik begrijp dat dat een ander minnow support project is. Is dat niet alleen voor Australiërs? Of kan ik me daar ook bij aansluiten?

Ok mooi! Nee is niet per se alleen voor Australiers, al zit ik er zo'n beetje vanaf het begin bij als "representative van Nederland". Weet niet zeker of er dan nog meer Nederlanders bij kunnen. Het voordeel is overigens ook redelijk miniem; 2 bots met max. 0.3-0.5 dollar per post. Ging me meer om het snel opbouwen van een netwerk op dit platform en het creeeren van goodwill ;)

Zag net deze nieuwe post: https://steemit.com/minnowbooster/@minnowbooster/minnowbooster-update-log-2

In het kort: als voting power <50%, dan voegt het weinig toe om hier gebruik van te maken.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by danielsaori from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Yeah but Thai food is better ;)

Thai food is great, but better? Not so sure!

But don't worry: I intend to publish lots of posts on Thai food too 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57