F*ck the eternal “side hustle” culture

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

I’m a theatre artist and storyteller who believes in the power of shared experience to build empathy and transform our world. As a director, facilitator, and creative business consultant I combine storytelling, social justice, and bold fundraising strategies to help socially progressive organizations and individuals achieve their goals.

me.jpg

I aim to live in a world in which artists thrive. F*ck the eternal “side hustle” culture. I am keen to discover new ideas and platforms for artists to be empowered contributors to our world (which is what makes me want to join the Steemit community and connect with people thinking outside of the box about the issues facing creatives).

Artistically I believe in creating nontraditional work with, by, and for diverse communities. This has led me to work in prisons and community centers serving some of the most vulnerable populations. I have seen the best art created in the most unlikely of places, with the least amount of resources. There is immense power in someone telling their story, it is palpable.

Here’s my “formal bio" in case you’re ever looking to collaborate or just wanna know my qualifications:

Lily is a community-engaged artist and creative business consultant who combines storytelling, social justice, and bold fundraising strategies. Raabe holds her M.A. from New York University and her B.A. from University of Portland. Beyond her artistic work, she has 16 years experience as a Teaching Artist and 6 years experience as a theatre manager having worked with companies including: Intiman Theatre, Opening Act, The New Group, Oregon Children’s Theatre, Theatre Askew, and NW Children’s Children’s Theatre. She is co-founder of The New Alchemists, producing work in Seattle, WA and Hilo, HI. As a creative business consultant Raabe works with individuals, agencies, and nonprofits via grant writing, marketing, strategy, and grassroots development campaigns to help them reach their goals.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/lily-raabe-b173455b/

Current clients include: Scandiuzzi Krebs Consulting, Intiman Theatre, SuttonBeresCuller, Annex Theatre, The Common Acre, AlleyCat Acres, Unkitiwa, Sawhorse Revolution, Ezra Dickinson, Peggy Piacenza, and Aham Oluo.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! There needs to be more people like you here. This is a good start.

Thanks so much, loving it so far and happy to be here.

Agreed... there shouldn't be a side hustle. There's only one life we live and it should be integrated. Welcome abord to Steemit!

Amen to that. Artists should always get a living wage to create things that make the world a more beautiful and tolerant place for folkx to live. :)

Again. You're fucking awesome. Good work in the prisons and beyond! I stand with you and literally wire this with goose bumps knowing someone as bright and powerful as you are on a similar mission. More than upvotes and dollar bills I've found happiness only in the trenches fighting a war most have spent their live savings avoiding. Little did I know.... Much love my sister from another mister!

Thanks for all the support...I’m starting a 6-month prison project at the end of the month and will be doing a weekly blog about it, maybe that will interest you. :) I’m pretty stoked to write it, I always have a lot of feelings and thoughts after the workshops.

Most definitely interested. The prison topic (issue) is a huge concern of mine and of my business partners. Insanity is the most fitting comparison that best describes the current prison system. Especially based on the ever more popular definition of insanity. Why intelligent people of power let this continue is an issue all it's own, but seriously it's time to make a difference. Inside and out unfortunately. I have a contact for you when you're ready let me know and we can find a safe way to communicate her details. She was my third grade teacher and is still my good friends mother and a friend of mine. An inspiration to all really. Probably 70+ and she goes to visit women in a "correctional" center here in Colorado on a weekly basis. Fearless she makes alleged murderers week a little better bringing a non-judgmental smile and in her case words from God.

P.S. I use "correctional" because to highlight my frustrations in the "system" I remind those that may sometimes forget the fact the system is punitive by definition. Correctional center is a play on words that implies rehabilitation and or correcting one's behavior. I assure you that it is a glorified time out in adult day care and we are losing good women and men a like to not just not seeing them, but their dreams are shattered as the are released to another system ill equipped for that many homeless people with a record they often didn't exactly deserve. Admittedly this is an opinion, but it's based in a real world logic built from helping many parolees and myself at this very moment fresh out of jail. Something that I still smile at from this and hopefully my last stint in jail was a commisary item offered for order daily called the "Snack Pack". Filled with candies, coffee, chips and anything else a member of the elite adult day care may need in order to enjoy the daily cinematic choice of the toughest softy in there.

Seriously? Not saying I didn't like the extra coffee I'd draw for, but come on a Snack Pack? How about some classes or a free phone call for those like me who get completely cut off from everything on the outs. Fucking Snack Pack.

Excited to see your perspective!

Thanks for this thoughtful response! There are so many issues with the American prison system...where to begin really. One book I’ve bee reading is Incarceration Nation which includes case studies from 9 other countries prison systems and their processes of rehabilitation. It’s a fascinating read. Looking forward to continue connecting and talking about these issues. Hopefully the blog posts I’ll start later this month when the program I run picks back up will get a lot of dialogue going.

Welcome to Steem! It has a great community, and there is so much to learn its amazing. If you havent read the FAQ yet you should it is very helpful. https://steemit.com/faq.html

If you are considering investing in steem I would read this article first: https://steemit.com/steem/@jerrybanfield/top-10-reasons-to-buy-and-hold-steem

I converted the Steem Whitepaper into audio format if you prefer audio over reading, you can find it at https://steemit.com/steem/@meatspoon/steem-whitepaper-in-audio-format-feel-free-to-download

Participating here can be frustrating at times though. Just be patient and hang in there. Longevity is the key to success. I haven't been around very long but have done a lot of research about how Steem works and how to use it. If you have any questions you can ask in one of my posts, even if it's off-topic. Or you can join my public Kik group #steemitvote4vote for a live discussion with me.

Have fun and steem on!

Hey! Thanks so much for all the links and advice, super rad of you. I’m looking forward to getting acquainted with everything and it’s nice to have people to reach out to with questions. :)

Welcome to Steem Lily :D. Just like other platforms, find some people who you're active and whom you feel deserve your upvote! Steemit is truly the best platform right now for artists to truly make it their livelihood. This is all still the beginning, but before you know it we'll be there :)

My partner is super active on Steemit and I’m excited to start using it. I also want to bring over my LLC with a few other artists to the platform. It’s such an interesting idea, fingers crossed it’ll take off if we all jump on. :)

Pleased to know you, Lily ☺️

Thank you! :)

Welcome to Steemit! Artist and aspiring writer here. I found you through our mutual dolphin class, hehe. It seems you and I share a philosophy ;) (Read my 2nd Introduction Post).

This post has received a 7.21 % upvote from @moneymatchgaming thanks to: @ukuleletutorials. Upvote this Post to Support the MMG Community on Steemit! :)

Everything we have a passion for, even if its our hobbies now, does not have to stay as a side hustle. Very true and not a lot of people are aware of that. Its nice that you are trying to help people reach their creative goals. Maybe we can talk more about my creative goals so you know what I am aiming for later on. Seems you are doing great on steemit so far being under a month here! I wish you all the best!

Feel free to check my blog posts incase you find something that interests you. Have a great day! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33