The Steeming Introduction of Leo Wood, a Singer Song writer- Abroad! ;)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hi welcome to my introduction, I am so happy to be here contributing to Steemit - The coolest idea around!! I hope you enjoy my music & my stories! 😉

Behind the scenes of a 'singer song writer' - Abroad

I am a song writer - for me, lyrics and songs have come naturally. Capturing a feeling in a flow of words and melody!

As a Soul singer, I write across genres and have released music in Jazz, House, DnB, Hip hop & Electronica. I love to mix styles and have found that Soul harmonises beautifully with it all. I am collaborating with producers all over the world, writing and producing my own music and at the same time... Travelling through some of the most amazing places on earth.... Lucky me!

Interested in my music already?

You can also listen here on: https://soundcloud.com/leowood-original

Many people find the idea of song writing romantic - which it is! I LOVE IT!
It is also a crazy lot of work, the industry is a maze and it helps to have luck on your side!
Over the last 5 years I have been getting my head round the ins and out of how to build a career in music - I have been round the block from the ground up, building building building. If you ever have a question about how something works, if your a budding singer or musician, or if your just intrigued - Stay in touch, I am all ears!

Screen Shot 2018-03-16 at 17.03.03.png

What am I bringing to Steemit?

I am here starting my Steemit blog to share my creativity, read about yours and discover things that make the universe a whole lot more intriguing. 💡
From the high recommendation of @hartflowpoet, I have become fascinated by the possibility of sharing not just my songs, but my adventures, thoughts, ideas & tips with you! As an up and coming artist with a growing following on Soundcloud, Youtube & Facebook, I hope to bring more people to Steemit through my music and my adventures.

Lets build this platform, listen, create & enjoy the ride!

What is the ride?

BIG NEWS

I left Bristol and for the last 5 months I have been traveling through the Americas from California through to Nicaragua (onward). An adventure of a life time where I’m finding my fortune out in the world.
As a recording artist my music collaborations often happen online. A producer sends me a track, I record my vocals and we make sweet music together!
5 months ago I wondered whether it would really be possible to do it from anywhere in the world... So.

'Can you record vocals on the move from anywhere in the world?'

YES! It takes a lot more effort, you have to make do with what you got, build from nothing, ask around, find silence in the middle of chaos and be incredibly determined. This journey is just starting and the idea of making music on the move, musicians abroad is a topic I will explore into the 4 corners of the planet.

A post shared by Leonora Jane Wood (@leo_wood_original)

''Wow - what opportunities will arise from this''.

It didn't take long to see just how exciting and unexpected this challenge would be.

Theres a whole lot of world out here 🌎

Quick map.jpg

The Crunch?

I’ll be sharing my journey (in its many forms) with you here.

From my experiences as a determined singer in a brutal but exciting industry, to creating music around the world & to my travel stories & adventures.

28698728_2034498476790833_4878157821696793996_o.jpg

This is just the beginning.

Mission 1 – Making music...How?

I have taken everything I need to write, record and perform music on the move! My bag is not your average traveler collection of useful gadgets, though there is a lot of that too.

Also included:

An Appogee 97K USB Mic - If you are a recording musician, I can’t recommend this bit of kit enough. Compact, simple, beautiful and with a great sound.

A 'Shure' performance Mic - Just incase I need to whack that out on occasion .

A Midi key board for both recording and live performance.

An Apple Mac - couldn't live with out it!

And a fine quality pair of Audio Techniqs headphones. ( I LOVE THESE)

As well as all this, my partner in crime is trooping along with a DJ mixer, laptop, drone, mini rig and everything he needs to play a DJ set anywhere we end up in the world. And by 'anywhere' the point really is 'Anywhere'.

You can check us out at Yosemite national park in our first "Live in the wild' set on Youtube Via The Beat 'N Track.Leo Steemit 4.jpg

With this gear in tow I hope to fund my travel and ultimately my LIFE (I am sure I will have to pick up some hard graft jobs along the way ) At least for a while...
I will be exploring:

if & where you can make money performing music as you travel

''If it is realistic to attempt cracking the music industry from abroad?''

''If I can you make money from releasing music???!!?.''

Mission 2 -

Experience what the world has to offer! The good, the bad and the incredible!

There is much to do out here in the big wide world! And the bucket list is only getting bigger and wilder.
Lets challenge ourselves, fight for that epic view, explore, do something you've never done before, try this, try that, meet people, expand your horizons, do it cos ‘’why not’’! Open your eyes & discover a world of opportunity!!Leo Steemit 5.jpg

By following my page

You will get a behind the scene look at 'the singer song writer' - Abroad. I will also share stories from 'The Beat n Track' which is our extended page for music and adventure.

You will see my challenges, my creativity as it comes, discover the best places around the world to make/play music (should you be keen on adventuring off yourself )and be a part of this unique journey into the music industry.

To be continued…

Sort:  

Hey @leowood! Welcome to this wonderful community!! You'll meet great and amazing people here... Write freely and keep steeming :)

Hiya! Thanks for the welcome! I'm looking forward to it :)

Welcome Leo! Nice to see you here! 🙂
Your art is a great addition to the community!

Thank you! :) I look forward to sharing more with you all!

Wow, very impressive. Your music is nice and you have a way to captive with your words. I can see why you will do so well. I wish I had started traveling years ago. So many wonderful and beautiful people out here. And Steemit seems to bring it all even closer. Consier going to Chiang Mai Thailand Digital Nomad Summit January 19-20 2019. Your Your craft is unique in the area of working from your computer anywhere in the world. Once again impressive. Looking forward to hearing more.

Thanks so much Pmlifecoach!

Its amazing to be able to travel and build a career at the same time. Thailand is definitely on the cards for next year :) Have you recently been?

I'm here now taking a 2 week class in Thai. Be here till May 3rd. It's become a favorite destination. Hope to return 2 weeks in October, And will be here for a month in January Chiang Mai to include the Nomad event. people from all over the world attend and share their nomadic working experiences and tips. As well as much networking. Have net some Steemians from and here in Thailand on Steemit. May get to meet in person before I return to my home.

Sounds really interesting! If you do it again in 2019 I may be able to make it :)


Welcome to Steemit @leowood!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Thanks Introbot! Nice to be welcomed so fast :)

Hi @leowood, you have made a very nice intro, I just put your post link in my blog, if you like it then please upvote and follow me, otherwise please comment in that post, then i will remove your link.
https://steemit.com/life/@sultanmr/best-new-steemers-introductory-posts---page-10-1524351008-796666

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60562.69
ETH 2903.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34