MORE about ME and my MOVE and the start of my NEW CAREER and LIFE in Orlando!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers!

Here is some info about MY LIFE :)

So I am originally from New York but after losing my mom I decided to move in with my sister in South Florida. I started college at Palm Beach State in Boca and graduated in 2013. After that I went to Florida Atlantic University to finish off my Bachelor's degree in Psychology with a minor in Sociology. I'm pretty good at school so I graduated Magna Cum Laude with a 3.7 overall GPA. I knew that I definitely wanted to go to graduate school for Marriage and Family Therapy but I still hadn't decided where I wanted to go.

Because my sister and I really started to grow apart during the 5 years that I lived with her (which is putting it nicely but maybe i'll explain more in another blog lol) I decided that I really wanted to move away for grad school. I finally decided on Orlando because I had visited my boyfriends family there a lot and realized that I really prefer grass and open spaces more than I enjoy traffic and high rises. Don't get me wrong, the south florida life is fun but I guess I like the simple things.

So this brings me to my second move....
This past Friday was my last day at my job as an administrative assistant for Atlantic Pacific Property Management. Leaving that job was bitter sweet because I worked with a lot of older people who really loved me. Nevertheless I was super excited to be leaving and moving on to bigger and better things. So this weekend I spent all of my time packing up my entire life into my car to drive from South Florida to Orlando. It was tiresome being that the weather is consistently in the high 90's during this time of the year, but it was totally worth it!

Starting in the next few weeks will be my middle school counseling job which I am extremely thrilled about. As a psych major I understand that it is very difficult to find a good job in the field so I couldn't be more grateful for the opportunity. In addition to that, I will be starting my Master's degree in Marriage and Family Therapy at Palm Beach Atlantic University in August.

Because I have never worked in a classroom setting before and this will be my first time counseling, I am very nervous. But, I know that it will be a great learning experience for me. I know that I will have many new exciting stories to share with you throughout this transitional period in my life and I look forward to sharing with you all! :)

Sort:  


"Be yourself; everyone else is already taken."-- Oscar Wilde

Welcome to Steemit! We need super smart people like you around here. :)

Thank you!!

Congratulations @lawrenlag! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @lawrenlag! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lawrenlag! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54140.93
ETH 2422.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12