[Life] RIP my sweet one-eyed Jacq

in #life7 years ago

Monday was a very sad day for my famly.

My 14 year-old kitty, Jacq, had been diagnosed with mammary gland cancer in May and, with the help of a couple of surgeries, she lived until Monday. It had metastasized into lung cancer, she developed some difficulty in breathing, and then a couple of days ago, she stopped eating. The vet found another lump in her abdomen which was probably why she had stopped eating.

Jacq1.jpg

We had to let her go to the Rainbow Bridge and nothing has felt right since.

I will always miss her so much 💔 She had such a wonderful inquisitive and absolutely lovey personality and would lay on my face when she slept on me. For years, the joke had been whether she was trying to smother me of not. When she was a kitten, she wound sleep on my chest, her nose next to mine, breathing in when I breathed out.

In the past few years, my husband and Jacq had become nap buddies — she would literally wait til he got home and jump off me as if to show him she wasn’t cheating on him by napping on me. Monday morning, when he came home for lunch, his voice was what got her up and out of the pantry -- we called it 'Narnia' because she would disappear in there for hours -- where she’d been laying. All she wanted was to curl up on his lap and go to sleep.

We’ll miss the tuna dance, the crazy chasing after strings on sticks, the way she used to claw my leg to get my attention so I’d play with her and then when I didn’t pay attention, she’d bite me. Not hard. Just enough to get my attention.

I’ll miss her beautiful face and how she used to clean my nose when it was apparently not clean enough for her.

Jacq3.jpg

We’ll miss the cat Art Deco she would leave for us on the walls when she would sneeze or try to clear her nose — she was always snotty because of how her face was shaped.

The house feels empty without her, even though my husband, daughter and I are all home. There’s someone missing — and it’s my baby kitty, Jacq.

Thank you to Mountain Shadows Pet Hospital (Colorado) and all of the people there for being so kind, caring, and compassionate during this rough time.

Jacq_me.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @kipswolfe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am really sorry to hear about your beloved Jacq. I can totally relate with the feeling. They are so much like innocent kids which makes the pain more unbearable. I hope you find some peace during this difficult time. I lost my 13 year old Labrador last year and I still get teary when I think about how funny he was. xoxo

Thank you for your sympathy. Jacq was more than just a pet -- she was part of my family, an ever-present part of my life, just as I'm sure you felt with your Laborador. Losing a pet is just as difficult as losing a human sometimes.

omg, Jacq is so cute and gorgeous in these pictures, @kipswolfe, I'm so sorry for your loss. You can see how happy she is in all these pictures, and such a good soul.

z_black_heart.png

I have had more than a few of my cats in my life pass on to the next one, each with their own veracious personalities and quirks and traits and it is always loosing a member of the family and a closest friend.

I feel for where you and your family are at right now, Kips, and am sending you all the love that me and my cat can send to you.

My one suggestion, when you all feel ready, is to get a new cat. Giving a loving home to a new catte who might otherwise not find one is one of the most healing things you can do, in my experience.

Wishing you all the warmth and comfort in these times.

Carma, I'm planning on getting another cat -- definitely. Just... not right now. I want to wait a bit so I don't "expect" another Jacq, if you know what I mean.

Jacq was the first kitty I raised from a kitten. She really was a wonderful cat.

I understand the most, @kipswolfe, Tux, my first cat that I had raised from a kitten, passed last year. Definitely take the space and time you need - you'll know when you're ready.

All my warmest wishes to you and your family, Kips!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71