Introducing Myself ... I'm K.I.M.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians💨


that's me👆🏼

I'm brand new to Steem and loving the community vibe after a look around. But enough about you...😂 here are a few fun facts about me!

ONE: After working as a travel writer and TV travel expert for several years, I began shooting a round-the-world documentary in 2015. Still working on it.

TWO: Besides travel and filmmaking, I love history, gadgets, tech, & learning about cryptocurrency and ancient cryptography.

THREE: Indeed, my dad made my initials the same as my first name.

FOUR: A policeman in Lesotho once scheduled to pull me over 'again at 3 pm next Monday' to get an update on how my pony trek went. People there were super friendly.

FIVE: Astrology friends, I'm a ☉♑︎ ☾♊︎ ϴ♐︎.

SIX: I'm also a photographer, so, here are some photos to enjoy!

10201197638918659.jpg

After a morning hike in the Andes mountains near Quilotoa, ECUADOR

10214765362863278.jpg

Statue of Nikola Tesla in front of his birthplace & childhood home in Smiljan, CROATIA

10212941580829867.jpg

A friend I met in Perthshire, SCOTLAND

10208541658754565.jpg

The brightly-colored dalol mineral pools in ETHIOPIA's Danakil Depression...one of the lowest & hottest places on earth

IMG_1495.jpg

The backwaters of Kerala, INDIA ... my favorite country

10210373701194481.jpg

Some kids on a camel ride at the Great Pyramid of EGYPT. Tourism is down so much you often have temples and tombs to yourself. One of my favorite countries.

10213892400959776.jpg

The enchanting Mariinsky Theater in St. Petersburg, RUSSIA

Sort:  

Hello! Welcome to Steemit!

Your pictures are amazing! Probably all that years of experience you have been a travel expert. Where in the world are you now with your documentary! That is pretty cool sounds like you're living the dream! I'm pretty sure steemit became popular from people who were well-written like yourself and travel around the world and share their pictures so I'm sure you're excited for all the potential success you're going to have here! Maybe you can check out our Discord aimed at increasing new user engagement on steemit. We have writing classes that are archived @ntowl, we have a photographer that's amazing with 20-plus years of experience in @scottshots also there is a young prodigy in @baa.steemit who teaches new Steemit users how to use Utopian-io to name a few things going on our discord server. I would love your expert opinion on our "educational" place for new Steemit users!

3.gif

Thanks @dynamicgreentk! And yes, it seems like this is a great community to join. I'll check out your Discord.

Welcome to steemit Kim!!! This place is super cool for photographers, I have a ton of fun here, hope you do to. Looking forward to seeing more of your photos, following. Cheers!

Awesome, thanks for the welcome & the follow @scottshots, following back!

Thank you it means a lot!

Fantastic introduction Kim. It's neat to see parents naming their kids creatively. Mybparwnts did the same with my sister Jen. Good luck with the steeming anyhow.

Thanks for the welcome @myklovenotwar...and yes, creative naming is fun :)

Hi, Kim. My name is @shauntaemonte or Aaron in real life and I'm still pretty new too and finding my way. But I wanted to give you an up-vote and say hi. One thing to know if you're serious about this is being active with posts and comments and building your own little community of followers and people of similar interests. I invite you to follow me and visit my blog page. Up-vote if you like and I'll keep an eye out for you.

https://steemit.com/cityscapephotography/@shauntaemonte/homeless-in-los-angeles

https://steemit.com/landscapephotography/@shauntaemonte/rugged-and-rewarding

https://steemit.com/landscapephotography/@shauntaemonte/tears-along-the-navajo-trail

https://steemit.com/sportsphotography/@shauntaemonte/wcmx-wheel-chair-motocross

Kindly, if you follow, up-vote, or resteem me, please make a comment so I know. And why. That way I know if I'm sharing things of interest to the community and also I can repay you in-kind for doing so.

Thank you,
https://steemit.com/@shauntaemonte
https://www.spohnranch.com/bio/aaron-spohn/

Kim, you are amazing. I once tried to be a host for a travel adventure show. That was fun even as I didn't make it but I was on one episode of that show. Nice to meet you.

What an interesting life you have! I can't wait to hear more stories and thoughts on your travels - also more photos! Thanks for sharing - following!

Nice to meet you @localnorth! Your feed looks great - following too :)

Hello, KIM, and Welcome to Steemit.

As a writer / photographer, you'll find that Steemit is a great platform on which to publish your work. It's not so much of a social network as it is a publishing platform.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.
1 – Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 10–20 photographs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
2 – Include some text to complement the photos. Anything from background info about the subject, to technical details about the camera or the photo, or even anything about your overall technique. As long as you have a fine balance between images and text, you'll get a better response.
3 – Ensure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
4 – Be yourself.
5 – Be interesting and informative.
6 – Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
7 – Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Thanks for all the tips, I'll keep them in mind. Nice to meet you!

One more point. Submitting photos in the various photo contests is a great way to earn a bit of Steem and to attract followers. Here are links to 3 contests.

@photocontests, organized by @juliank
Daily color challenges, organized by @colorchallenge
#tepchallenge, organized by @theexplorer

For entries into those photo contests, short posts are OK. But it's a good idea to add a bit of text explaining the photo, to give the post some meat and to make it more interesting.

Congratulations @kim-i-mott! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Woo hoo. Thanks!

Welcome to Steemit @kim-i-mott !!

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Jump into our discord channel to meet new friends, find great content and contests as well as ask for help: https://discord.gg/FjjfbNR

Awesome, thanks for including me! I'll also go check out your discord channel...

Hey @kim-i-mott ! So glad I stopped by over here! I love how you set up your intro post. So cool to hear all about you - you definitely have a lot to post about :) looking forward to seeing more from you!

Thanks @amariespeaks, I'm glad you stopped by too! Look forward to seeing more of your stuff too!

you're welcome ! See you around :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68316.98
ETH 3856.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65