I'm crowned by nature! - Introducing myself

After wrestling for real estate for nine months in my mother's belly, two of us emerged in the summer of 1985.

On that day my twin-sister and I were completely bald save for some numerable silky strands of pitch-black hair that scantily decorated our small round heads.

But within a few years those stands multiplied into forests and what once resembled silk now looked more like wool. With every passing day and every glance into the mirror, my love-hate relationship with my hair grew. It was either I loved it for its naturally fluffy texture which I found just as comforting as cuddling a teddy bear or I hated it for its obstinate refusal to blow in the wind like the magazine girls' hair did. In an attempt to force it to submit to my will for it to be straight and "blow in the wind", I had it chemically relaxed.

But my relationship with my hair was just a symptom of the neurotic relationship I had with myself. As I grew, I struggled with self-esteem. The next person: my fair-skinned friend, my brainy classmate, and even my twin-sister, always seemed to me to be better that I was. I was yet to realise that the grass is only greener where it is watered. And up to that point in my life, I had not been watering my sense of self.

It was only after I finished high school and was about to go to college that I decided that if this life was going to be worth living I might as well learn to fall truly, deeply and crazily in love with myself. So I did it. I introduced a pair of scissors to the curtain of straight hair that I had been hiding behind and by so doing unveiled myself so that I could really meet me for the first time.

steemit intro pic.jpg

Years later, with my hair growing into an afro that seemed to to be creeping up to heaven, like Jack's beanstalk, I discovered the treasure of information about natural hair on social media. Through the generosity of countless natural hair bloggers and vloggers, I started to not just see my hair as nappy, but as happy.

It is on that basis that I have decided to share the happiness that is natural hair and self-confidence tips with the rest of the world. I look forward to you joining me on this journey of self-acceptance, celebration and throne-claiming as I share how I wear my natural crown.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @kayterera! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Noted with many thanks

Hey darling @kayterera!

For those of you reading this, I am the other half of the egg so to speak, Kay's twin sister!!!!

I am so happy you're on Steemit Kay, and thank you for introducing me to it too!

To love, happiness, joy, peace, friendship, money ;) and ... everything in between!

Hair or no hair, straight or curly, rasta or mohawk, welcome to Steemit @kayterera!

I hope you will find many friends and create beautiful content for this network!

To help you on your way I will give you a few links to posts that helped me out a lot when I started out here two weeks ago. Believe me, you will need some guidance ;-) It wil save you precious time NOT making nooby mistakes.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@pinkisland/guide-for-steemit-beginner-or-a-simple-way-for-getting-started

https://steemit.com/steemit/@donkeypong/simply-steemit-your-no-nonsense-guide-to-getting-started

https://steemit.com/steem-help/@beanz/the-unwritten-rules-of-steemit

Don't get discouraged, be patient and you will get readers and even money coming in.

Again: welcome! I will follow and look forward to your posts.

nice one from you @hatsekidee

Hello @bluetube,

Thx for the compliment. I read your introduction post and am intrigued. I follow you now and look forward to your stories and experiences.

Have fun, stay blue (which in your case seems to mean 'happy') :-D

Welcome to Steemit. I hope it is good for you. Invite some friends and build the community

Welcome to Steemit @kayterera ! The place of opportunities and good vibes;)

Welcome to Steemit! Great first line, that made me laugh. Great intro, look forward to more, like your voice in your post.

So encouraging...many thanks!

Congratulations @kayterera! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi and welcome to steemit. I hope you like it here and good luck!

welcome to the community @kayterera wish you luck in your journey

Welcome to steemit. @kayterera
following you now :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88