My Introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!



IMG_1581croppede.jpg

I'm Katy Savage! I live in Utah and am new to Steemit as of January 1, 2018 and glad I picked you!
I’m a bird enthusiast, amateur photographer, a vegetarian, and I take photos through my binoculars.

What?

Yep.

I take photos through my binoculars to get the optical zoom that my point-and-shoot camera desperately lacks. It sort-of started with, “huh, I wonder if this will work”. And it did. It gets me photos I would not otherwise be able to get, but it takes a lot of shooting to get one that is just right. I expect to be able to afford a much better DLSR camera within a few months and though I’ll be EXTREMELY grateful, I’ll never forget my roots.
Here is the post detailing my methods, with some photos of me showing how it is done.

Why Steemit?



I wanted to find a place to post a photo every day, somewhere off the beaten path, where it can take on a life of its own. And to bring into my daily life something I love, to motivate and inspire me.
I’m not hugely into social media platforms, but I wanted to invite constructive criticism about my work.
I like Steemit because of the intentionality the members wield. We are here. We are creating the environment, not being acted on. As for me, I hope to add quality content and help combat the photo plagiarism that runs rampant in our community.

Common Raven.jpg

Common Raven, Joshua Tree National Park

My Story



A little about me.
I went to college for four years, changing majors so often that I ended up with a two year degree. I wanted something that would be financially stable, but couldn’t settle on anything because each was interesting but none of them made me happy. I worked at odd jobs for a few years and now I am blessed to have my loving husband who supports us so I can pursue the things that are fulfilling but make little money (at least starting out).
I have been waiting to get into an art program locally and in the meantime I am pursuing ornithology with a ravenous curiosity. I never would have thought I could just do this. Just love birds and learn about their biology and their social nature and the many parts they play in our world. Up near 10,000 species on Earth and a seemingly endless facets to explore, it is likely to be a lifelong learning pursuit. And I couldn’t be more delighted.

Some of my other enthusiasms include:

Exploring this great planet
Breathing in good outside air
Hiking
Camping
Board games
Listening to audiobooks on many subjects
And, of course, food

Things I desire for my life:



To never stop learning.
To always be able to find that natural, burning curiosity that has gotten me through some tough times.
To choose happiness and create opportunities for happiness for others.
To be able to find peace with what I’ve accomplished, or not accomplished, in my time here.
To live a life that inspires others to live consciously and appreciate this beautiful, precious world we share.

IMG_1639e.jpg

So far I have really enjoyed the unique community I have found here. Thank you all for being supportive. Stop by anytime for a delightful bird photo or two. :)

My Steemit Map Locations



Flycatcher.jpg

Flycatcher, Uinta Mountains

Credits. . .
Bird PhotosTaken by me
Photos of MeKassidy Giggey, a personal friend

Sort:  

Welcome here! Followed you and i am sure you will do great here!

Upvoted this awesome introduction, welcome to steemit Katy I know how you feel about this awesome community, I'm loving this platform because I was able to do things that I wasn't able to do before. I wish you all the best and take care!

Cool Pics..Never stop Learning =D

Thank you! :)

Beautiful photos and beautiful photographer!

Thanks to @josephsavage, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Woohoo! Thank you!

Thanks greetings introduction in stemit, please visit my blog when, thank you very much for those of you who have come to my blog, may we all be in the shelter of god omnipotent

Hello. Welcome to steemit!
Upvoted & followed you.
nice meeting you 😊

Thanks for the upvote, I'm glad to be here. :)

Your Welcome 😊

wow, glad you joined steemit. I share your values and interests. Hope to see more bird photos.

Thank you so much. :) I post every day and would be delighted to have you drop in. :)

Haha.... that's awesome you thought to use your binoculars and that you followed through and gave it a try! Is that photo of a raven taken with this method? You'll have to share some of theses photos with us! And maybe you'll earn enough Steem Dollars to buy a new camera! I'm new here also... just did my #introduceyourself post also! Check it out here if you like!

The raven was taken with the built in lens but the flycatcher photo at the bottom was taken through binoculars. I've posted a photo every day since January 1st and plan to do so every day for the whole year.
I have some money saved up with a bit more coming in to buy a camera soon, though I do hope that at some point it can help buy more gear, etc. :)

I'm sure with persistence and good quality content that you'll do well on this platform!

Your post is really great. I found it awesome. I like it. Thanks for sharing with us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61