The Biggest Mistake I Made in My 1st Day on Steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Yep. I got in trouble on my first day on Steemit for being too enthusiastic, lol!

Figures. My enthusiasm gets away from me sometimes. Here’s a prime example from Canada Day many years ago:

Canada Day

Anyway, back to my mistake. There I was, hopping around commenting on people’s posts, welcoming other newbies to Steemit, ridiculously excited about being here, and I got shut down by a bandwith limit.

I knew I had to be careful with upvotes, but I didn’t realize that EVERYTHING you do on Steemit takes bandwith. (Yes, newbie mistake, but I'm only a 2-day-old minnow, so...) All those comments shut me down.

I was watching my SteemPower on steemnow.com, as per this content-rich article about your first month on Steemit by @adonisabril— but I didn’t see anything there about bandwidth. There are other things in that article I’m still trying to wrap my head around, and work out how I feel about the ethics. More on that below.

NEWBIE TIP — Check your bandwidth by putting your Steemit name into this web address: steemd.com/@yoursteemitname

A helpful moderator on Discord (thanks @furious-one) gave me the above tip, and told me there were two things I could do: 1) wait, 2) get more STEEM and power up.

I wasn’t able to get into steemit.chat for a while (hint, check your spam folder if you don’t get the email confirmation). Now I’m on there, but super grateful I was on Discord for that emergency chat this morning. Lol!

I’m not too worried. I’ll figure Steemit out. There are some really nice people to help — this community is amazing!

Getting temporarily shutdown on Steemit was actually helpful in some ways. I got things crossed off my to-do list that I’ve ignored since discovering this rabbit hole of awesomeness. I went away for a few hours, came back, and my bandwidth had magically charged up. I don’t know how this happens, or how to predict it.

There is so much I need to learn!

Like bots. I have much to learn about bots, and I’m trying to figure out where the ethics lie. On one hand, all these people saying you can’t succeed without bots, on the other, my idealistic fantasy of being able to organically build community on Steemit and gain support without buying votes. I’m not for or against bots, just need to learn more.

I’m working on getting some STEEM and powering up, but until then I’ll be keeping a hawk-eye on my bandwidth.

Update: I just found this in-depth article by @TimCliff on Steem Bandwidth User Experience Issue. You might find some useful info there.

I hope by posting this, I’ll help a few other newbies out.

Also, here’s me publicly saying I’d like to comment on everyone’s posts with joyful glee, but little minnow me has to hold back some. If you’re new here, and I follow you, please translate it as me jumping up and down welcoming you to Steemit!

I’ll be keeping an eye on my followers as well. If you give me a follow, and you’re producing quality content that interests me, I’ll follow back. :)

If you want to learn more about me, check out my INTRODUCTION POST which has lots of fun pics like this one.

Katrina Ariel

PEACE, y’all!

Sort:  

I am glad to have run to your article. I remember encountering this bandwidth hours earlier. I thought it has something to do with my data usage. So I extended the limit and for some reason it works. I am an enthusiastic beginner too. Atleast I know now. 😊

The things we learn as we go, eh? Thanks so much for the upvote and comment, Joy! My best to you on your Steemit adventure.

#funny
Sometimes the behavior of our friends can make us laugh, whatever we do we must be entertained with jokes

90 posts in 2 days? I guess you are a bit of a fanatic. lol Congrats on your reputation though. I thought I was doing amazing but you're already at 36 in 2 days! :)

Yes! I'm definitely a fan of Steemit. And it's not a competition (not in my world, anyway). Thanks for the comment! :)

You're welcome. I guess the 90 includes comments so I might be able to tie you. lol

Yep it includes comments too. Welcome BTW. Upped

Thanks. I upped you too and subscribed.

Feel free to ask folks for guidance... Stick to those of rep 60+ to be safest!!! upped!

So how does this steemit thing work? ;) lol I think I've figured out a lot of the stuff I wish I'd known when I first signed up. I still can't get images to work in my comments though.

Hello again! Great post. I also got banned for a little bit lol... Guess that enthusiasm is contagious!

Didn't know about the website so thanks for sharing that. I too don't know where I stand with the whole bot thing....

Hi Jeremy! Thank you for being kind enough to say hello on another one of my posts! Glad to know I'm not alone on getting temporarily booted, too! lol! Glad you found the website tip useful. Good luck figuring out the bot issue. :)

hey, wow, didn't know about brandwith at all... checked it and it says i still have 100% left. idk, maybe because i got some SP. so i'll follow you now and see if i can through some votes at you... maybe helps a little :) cheers

Thank you so much for the follow and votes! So appreciated. Glad to meet you!

no problem :) steem is for everybody to enjoy and participate! keep up this good energy and posts. you will do great here, i think. namaste

I remember running into the bandwidth problem too! Enjoy the break while it lasts before your SP skyrockets and you never have an excuse to pause again ;)

lol! That will be a problem I can handle. :) Thanks for the comment and camaraderie. I've followed you and look forward to reading more of your posts!

I just observed the bandwidth thing just before I saw this post. Thanks for sharing. I have been commenting crazily all night. Lol

Thanks for reading! And for using some of your precious bandwidth to comment. :)

#funny
I will laugh again when you post another funny thing

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @katrina-ariel to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

I'm super new and super excited but had no idea about the bandwidth, thank you for helping us out! So much I need to learn!

There is so much to learn, but we're in good company. I'm glad you found the post helpful! I'm off to read your intro post. Thanks for saying hello, and all the best to you in your Steemit journey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97