Hey Guys! I'm A Programming Enthusiast Newly Exploring Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hey guys!

Greetings from Canada 🍁

I'm a programmer and lover of all things tech, and the Steemit site is by far the coolest tech-y thing I've come across recently. There are a lot of exciting ideas being passed around here, and I'm really hoping I have something to add to the community.

introduceyourself.PNG

Potential Programming Tutorials

I'm liking the growing collection of intro-to-programming content that's being produced specifically for Steemit. I was expecting there'd be more of it, as a site like Steemit seems like it would be a breeding ground for Silicon Valley "disruptor" types. However, I'm pleasantly surprised by the more down to earth and beginner friendly tone of posts by creators like @raycoms, @cristi, and @drifter1.

I'd be fun to try adding something of my own here, though I'm not quite sure what. I've only got a few years programming experience on me, so I'm by no means an expert, but there are a few technologies I could probably give some intro tutorials on.

Potential Topics

  • javascript - Best language 💖 💖 💖
    I'd be able to either do a step-by-step of using React.js for web development or give a basic functional programming tutorial, as JS has some pretty sweet functional features that don't get used nearly enough.
  • python - A language I've had to pick up recently for work. Writing about it would be a good way to reinforce what I've been learning.
  • image processing - I use OpenCV + TensorFlow fairly frequently to mess around with pictures.

If you guys would be interested in any of the above tutorials, or maybe something else programming related, please please please let me know in the comments. 💗 It's really much more fun making tutorials if there's someone being helped by them. Otherwise I'm just sorta shouting into the void here... XD

Sort:  

Hello! Welcome on board! Glad to see you! Your skill are very welcome here!

P.S. Uncaught TypeError: console.log.print is not a function

Oops, Nice catch 😅
I took the time to edit the actual text for errors, but didn't think to check the picture.

Also, yay another js enthusiast!

pocketsend:101@kasturi, have fun!

Successful Send of 101
Sending Account: cron
Receiving Account: kasturi
New sending account balance: 986406
New receiving account balance: 100
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: d4a52ebbe98f4b77624c2ca6d4f12c751617dd80
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

Welcome to Steemit!

Hi @kasturi... Nice to meet you... Welcome to Steemit..🌹.. This is a nice intro post... I hope you will do great over here as a steemian..😊.. Follow Me @onority

Welcome to Steemit @kasturi! This community is ever growing, and having programmers in our ranks is fantastic- many of the bug fixes/new ideas come from regular ole users! Definitely feel empowered to mention any improvements you see possible to any of the major players :)! If you have any skill with botting, making a spam fighting bot would make you a king of Steemians! Spam isn't a huge problem here, but that is because a lot of people fight it with dedication! As for tutorials, I certainly would tune in for any of the above! I'm not very tech savvy, and I'm always looking to learn more! Following you and looking forward to your next post!

Thanks for the info! Will definitely look into the Steemit bots thing. It sounds interesting.
I've seen the bots sort of showing up from place to place but I didn't realize they could be user-created.

Check out @cheetah she is a spam fighting robot! There is a post pinned under her avatar that explains how cheetah works, and why it is important. We need more like her for sure!

It took me a couple weeks to realize it, but Steemit is only great because of users who have added their time and effort into making it great! The idea itself is wonderful, but without this community it never would of grown as it has!

If you have any questions, feel free to reach out :)

Welcome! You can talk about each one as well. Properly that you will find people here that like one of than and for those that like more you earn more upvote and can use that as guidance. Success!

Thanks for the advice!
Yes, I probably will end up making some posts and seeing what happens from there, but it's a lot more reassuring to know that there's an interested audience before putting in the time to write something. But then on the flip side, I guess an audience won't know whether they are interested in something unless they've had a chance to read some of it 😅

Congratulations @kasturi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @kasturi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @kasturi! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kasturi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.52
ETH 2406.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65