So I totally BORKED my introduction post and I'd like to verify properly this time!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Please forgive me! When I first joined Steemit a few weeks ago I was so excited to introduce myself and get involved in the community that I had no idea there was an etiquette for introductions/verifications. To be honest I was a little skeptical about how much I was going to like it here and perhaps since I was born way back in the eighties and didn't grow up on the internet I've always been a bit weary of posting too many pictures on social media. Since spending some time here I've come to realize that I really love reading other people's intro posts and that personal interaction is extremely valued here. So like I said in the title I apologize, I'd like to introduce myself properly.

This is me @juliakponsford

intro1.jpg

For a little background I was born in beautiful Halifax, Nova Scotia.
I used to be quite a party animal as you can see here:
kidme2.jpg
Here are a few more pics of me being a little scamp, the left one is from 1984 ( I was blissfully unaware at the time that Big Brother would always be watching) and a few years later on the right.

kidme4.jpg

Despite being a massive pothead throughout my teenage years I managed to graduate and get into university, I did a major in psychology and a minor in french with honors but I never continued on with a masters. I loved every minute of my psychology courses but I felt like it just wasn't the profession for me. In my first year of university I went to Quebec City for an intensive french immersion program. That is where I met @vachemorte! (I'll save that story for another time) And we've been together for 17 years!

I ended up moving to Montreal with him after I finished my degree and kind of floundered for a while. I didn't really know what I wanted to do so I just worked as a waitress for quite some time. This is when I started developing more of an interest in the arts. Vachemorte and I started working together on some experimental films on a potato quality camera, maybe I'll post some of them here sometime, the early ones are fairly cringy.

I also gradually started sketching and learning to sew. I had my own clothing line for a while, that was fun but I got tired of it after a while:

clothing01.jpg
clothing2.jpg

I've also experimented with all kinds of different crafts

plushie.jpg

Vachemorte and I opened a little boutique together called Perfide where we sold mostly locally made art and clothing. We had that store for about six years and it was a really fun experience but we decided we wanted to move on to other things like film and music.
perfide banner.jpg

That's when we started writing a script for our first feature film: The Juju Gum Conspiracy. We wrote the script ourselves, and then cast, filmed, recorded audio, did the music, everything all by ourselves. It was quite a tough experience but it was pretty exhilarating and we learned a lot on set. We'll do some more posts about our film in the future!

A still:
Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 12.47.49 PM.png

Lately my interests have narrowed a little bit, we still plan on doing another film in the future so I have been learning to edit. I'm getting pretty comfortable with the software and really enjoying the experience. I've also take a much greater interest in creating music and I think being able to blend visuals with music is such an exciting thing play with. Here is my most recent video/track if you haven't seen it, it's ambient electronic with vocals (it was a Steemit collaboration with @vachemorte and @greatdabu!):

Post with my process and inspirations here: https://steemit.com/music/@juliakponsford/original-music-video-dreams-so-deep-a-triple-steemit-exclusive-collaboration

I guess that's probably more than you've ever wanted to know about me but I felt like this community that has given me such a warm welcome deserved better than my initial introduction which had almost no information about me and no verification photo!

I'm majorly impressed with steemit so far and I really think this place is going to blow up! I'm trying to convince all my friends to join, none have yet but I think they'll wish they joined sooner once they see what's up :)

Thanks so much for having me <3

pinkgifdeluxe.gif

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit :D

Welcome to steem nation

Thanks richard!

Completely BORKED indeed!
upvote_initiative.png
Manually 40% UpVoted & Re-steemed! Yes, I do this personally, and not with a bot!
More about the Initiative here...
Remember To Vote blueorgy for witness!

Haha thank you blueorgy BORKED was the only word to describe it!

Good work man!

Welcome to steemit community @juliakponsford.. here we will mine the results of the dollar in the form of posting and vote as well as comments of others replies. But nevertheless remember all the rules that every post should be original and never do plagiarism against the work of others. Because all of our posts are supervised by steemit and boss @ good-karma, keep enjoy and good luck ..

Thanks for the advice, all my content is 100% original and I plan to keep it that way!

I am excited to read your future posts. Good luck and welcome!

Thanks ive already posted quite a bit but I'm just warming up there's lots more to come!

This comment has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 20.83 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @sepracore. Vote for Aggroed!

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you I appreciate it!

welcome to steemit @juliakponsford

Thank you so much!

WELCOME.gif

Thanks that gif is pretty fabulous!

Welcome To Steemit. This is a new amazing platform for blogger and good social network for chatting, sharing idea with a posting, . And give input to each other Actually I looking forward of your great post. i up voted you for your great introduction. I trust that u can be best blogger and contributor on this site. Begin a blog post and comment to earn big money as your reward. Good luck friend !!. Im waiting for you to come my blog Profile or you can visit me for my latest post, Nice to meet you on this channel and Follow Mefollow

Thank you so much I'll check out your blog :)

Nice and Proper intro post @juliakponsford! I'm already enamoured with you and your sweety @vachemorte 's creative talents and I'm so glad we hooked up already.

Thanks, I started feeling guilty that the first one wasn't up to par, lol! I hope we Collab again in the future it came out even better than I could have hoped for!

Fer Sure ! We Will !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62