Jay: A New Face in the Steemit Community

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! How is your day going?

My name is Jay, and I am one of the new faces here in Steemit.

Introduce Yourself - 2 - Initial Picture to Present - Edited.jpg

Hi guys! So I'm trying hard to pose like an Instagram blogger here. Hahaha.

From the many things I heard about this platform (for which some are still confusing as of the moment), one thing made me 100% sure in officially joining: Steemit is a community where people welcome and support each other through the creations that they make and share.

Sounds cheesy for an intro? Haha, I guess. Despite the cliché-ness of it, that fact alone made me more relaxed and confident to talk about myself and my intentions of joining here. So, let’s start!

Who is Jay?

I am 23 years old living in Cebu City, Philippines. I am a chemical engineer by profession, but I found myself wanting to go to graduate school (Master of Science in Chemical Engineering) so technically I am a full-time student as of the moment.

Introduce Yourself - 6 - Graduate School Classmates 2.jpg
My graduate school classmates who are coming from different walks of life. Despite the few numbers, we manage to be comfortable with each other and become each other's support system as we go through the struggles of studying for our master's degree.

Just to break the first impression of some of you, I just want to say first that I am not a nerd nor a fan of the Chemical Engineering field. I think most of us agree on the fact that life has been so confusing at times that we sometimes find ourselves in places that we least expect. So yes, here I am, about to be swallowed by the overwhelming level of Math that are so far from the “1 + 1 = 2” thing that we knew when we were still young (just an exaggeration. Hahaha. Actually, I just sleep it out if I don’t understand anything, which happens most of the time).

Introduce Yourself - 7 - Advanced Mathematics - Edited.jpg

We can describe through words how the water moves once it enters inside the water pipes as we take a shower to start the day. Advanced Mathematics can tell the same thing through this equation alone. Isn't it cool? Haha. I think otherwise if I don't get things right sometimes.

Being the eldest and the breadwinner of the family, I shoulder the almost-never-ending life expenses through the scholarship benefits that I get from studying in graduate school, as well as the extra jobs that I am currently in as an online English (ESL) teacher and a private tutor in Chemistry, Mathematics and Chemical Engineering. Just like everyone, life has been challenging and busy for me lately, but I believe our attitude matters more than the issues we deal with. I love to believe that I am in an overload of opportunities showered upon me at the same time. Who am I to complain? I consider myself blessed.

Introduce Yourself - 1 - My Family.jpg

My family is my treasure! <3

I am a futuristic kind of guy, so most of my hobbies and interests revolve on the idea that “maybe I can use this hobby for the future”. I like to learn various languages, cook dishes, and do household chores. I know the third one is weird for an interest, but maybe a few of you, like me, consider cleaning the house as therapeutic and relaxing to the mind.

Introduce Yourself - 8 - Various Languages - Edited.jpg
These are my language notebooks. My fascination to learning various languages started with my addiction to anime 11 years ago. Until now I am still not fluent to any of these, but I can write some Japanese, a few of Chinese and almost all Korean characters. My focus for this year is to be able to be familiar with basic French conversation.

To be honest, I still think I’m too young to really know the things that I want to have and to be clear on what I want to be. As I wake up each day, the only thing I am sure about is that I want to make the best out of the life given to me and not lose the drive in providing meaning to the things that I do.

I would love to share more details of my life, but I believe it is proper that I begin first with how I arrived here in Steemit.

How I Learned About Steemit

My journey to Steemit started with an invitation from a very close friend of mine, Gail (@thegaillery), to collaborate with her on a one-year project about confidence through blogging. She knew I couldn’t reject the idea, because she knew I have always been wanting to do this ever since. We initially planned to launch the project through our separate blogs, but things turned out well when Gail decided to better start it in Steemit, which I believe is a strategic one, given the nature of this community.

Introduce Yourself - 10 - First Meeting with Gail.jpg
The Confidence Project meeting with Gail. We are working hard to prepare something good for your guys! Teehee!

Have you heard about The Confidence Project (TCP) here in Steemit? The launching of the project’s manifesto started a few days ago, which basically includes what the project is all about, the mechanism as to how the project will go, and the approach that the project incorporates to make it more effective, on schedule and interactive to the people who want to take part in this initiative.

Introduce Yourself - 9 - TCP Banner.jpg

The Confidence Project (TCP) Banner

The basic idea about The Confidence Project is that confidence is something that can be built, not a talent nor a special skill only given to some. We envision that through this project, more people will be bootstrapped on the notion that with consistent practice and with valid evidences, they can truthfully declare to themselves and to others that they are confident at a thing that they want to be good at.

You can check out the full details of the project here, as well as the project’s first takeaway here. For this month, @thegaillery will be the host for the first takeaway and challenge, so I hope that you find this project interesting and will support and actively participate the challenges. The whole TCP journey will be fun since we will choose winners for every challenge and reward them with SBD. How cool is that?

I hope that as I grow with this project together with you guys, we can become the best versions of ourselves in the long run.

So basically, The Confidence Project opened the doors for me to explore Steemit. Of course, when we talk about opportunities, a domino of opening doors is in store for us to show what more we do have for people to be excited about.

What Can I Contribute in Steemit?

Here are some of the things that I want to start here in Steemit:

The Confidence Project

As one of the co-founders of this project, I will also take part in establishing and hosting the takeaways and challenges. I am utterly nervous and excited at the same time, so I hope to have more encounters with you soonest in the next coming months through TCP.

My Personal How-Tos

If there is one thing that I cannot forget in my Ethics class way back in the university, it is the fact that humans will always have the inner desire to improve the quality of their lives. The challenge lies on the steps that each one of us has to follow in order to improve every aspect of it, may it be on a seemingly irrelevant thing as riding a public transportation, to the bigger ones like organizing tasks in a long-term project that you are working on.

Introduce Yourself - 3 - Thinking Guy - Edited.jpg

Image Source

To contribute to the human’s natural desire to make their lives better and more efficient, I plan to share my ideas on optimizing how we do some mundane activities that we don’t usually put too much attention. I want to start on the small things, as these play an integral part to the bigger and more important ones. To make it direct to the point, I want to present it in bullets for easy digestion in the head.

Reviews on My Experiences in Travelling and Reading

I want this year to be full of outdoor adventures and additional life perspectives, so I also want to share my experiences in the places that I will travel. I believe most of us love to find a fragment of ourselves by traveling, and so sharing my experiences with you will surely help you on that quest.

Introduce Yourself - 11 - Jawili Falls.JPG
Can you guess what place is this? I will tell you more about this soon in my next blog post.

I consider myself a deep person in terms of understanding the message of the books that I read, and so it will be more beneficial to share what I realize from the chapters of information that I read from time to time.

What are my expectations?



Connect with people.

As I roamed around the world of Steemit, I realized I entered a community of creative and enthusiastic people. I felt a tinge of intimidation at first because I might not be as active as others, but on a brighter side this is an opportunity for me to learn from each one of you through the posts that you make. People are tied together through the same experiences that they encounter, or on the similar ideas that they both believe in. With that, I believe I can find people whom I have the same experiences and ideas and connect with them in the long run.

Come into terms with myself through writing.

We tend to settle our personal issues, especially the ones that we cannot really share, mostly by reflecting on it or by writing it out in a journal. As a believer of the concept of duality, I think both internal and external factors contribute to the struggles and issues that we deal with. I want to settle my weak points by indulging more on expressing myself creatively through writing and sharing quality content.

Have fun!

I suppose this is a necessary ingredient in every undertaking. I hope to boost my motivation to be a better person by enjoying every aspect of my Steemit experience.



So yes, that’s it for my first ever post in Steemit. Hooray! I am hoping that we get to keep in touch with each other as we go along through this platform. Thank you for reading!
Introduce Yourself - 12 - Final Picture.JPG


Love lots,
@jsmalila

Sort:  

Your introductory post was very well written!
Welcome to the steemit community. I hope you have a great time here. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me. Happy steeming! :)

Thank you for the compliment and support @brokemancode! :) I will surely need ur help in the coming days coz I'm a little bit lost about some things here in Steemit. Haha. Hope to interact with you soonest! :)

Likewise! You can always count on me. :)

Yeheyyyyyy!!!!!! At last @jsmalila!!! So happy to read your intro post ❤️ Hihihiiiii ibang level gyud mag intro hahah welcome to steemit jay!!!

Salamat kaayo for welcoming me with wide arms, Ann! Part of how this post was organized is inspired from your introduce yourself post kay idol sad kaayo tika diri sa Steemit, and of course sa real life pud. I hope we see each other more often soon if ganahan mo ug meetup with other Steemians. I miss you Ann! <3

I would always welcome you with open arms Jay!!! Waaahhh!!! I miss you too!! Pohon magkita na nya ta pod with the Steemit community 🙌🏻

I'm sensing a good future in this community, specifically your good future. There are tons of things I can relate to in this introduction. Aside from being the eldest and the breadwinner of the family, we share the same sentiments towards math. I love math, but when I can't understand one mathematical concept, I just slept and don't mind them.

About the Confidence Project, I have been the no. 1 supporter and fan of that initiative. I can't wait for the second takeaway; your takeaway. For sure, I'll make a conjunction post about it just like the first one.

Sa kadaghan sa akong gipanulti, mao ni ang pinakaimportante: Welcome to steemit Jay and please don't hesitate to contact me if you have questions, concerns, or issues about the platform. I am willing to help to the best of my ability.

Kuya @ybanezkim26! Thank you very much for the warm welcome, support and encouragement since day one. Thank you kaayo! Your help is surely a great part of my future growth in this community. Thank you for offering your help, coz I am the kind of person that always asks (to the point the basin samuk na kaayo sha hahaha) every time I really need help or advise sa ako decisions. I hope to have more moments with you kuya sa future meet-ups and brainstorming sessions. See you again soonest!

Wow. If all of your posts on Steemit are like this, you will do really well. This is a great blogging format! You have so many hobbies and interests, it will be fun to follow your journey! (I have got to say that picture of your math equations kind of gave me diabetes though. Haha. I always say once you start putting the alphabet into math, I'm outtie!)

Good luck on here! My best advice to you is to comment often and earnestly, and try to keep up on at least one post a day, but no more than 3 typically. (You actually get kind of "punished" for posting more than 3 times a day. By that I mean, you get less earnings and SP in general, which you want to be able to grow on here!) Other than that, this is an awesome community, and everyone is very helpful! You will like it! Welcome!

Thank you so much @bigfatastro for the warm welcome! Also, I appreciate the heads up about how I should interact with the community and post my blogs here. I'm still new about almost everything. About the Math part, we'll I can give you some tips soon through my post on how to minimize the "diabetes" thing (Hahaha) when we encounter higher forms of Math. Believe it or not, I really hate Math before, but here I am, almost not sleeping in the middle of the night to accomplish a problem. I hope to interact with you more often! :)

And he posts! Welcome, @jsmalila! I am so proud of you. Please know that I will stand for all that you are and all you will ever be. Apart from our similarities in upbringing and motivations, I have found a great gem of a friend in you. I hope you will like it here! :)

Indeed, time and circumstances have proven that you are one of my constants, Gail! Thank you for opening this opportunity for me to grow as a person. I'm sure this project will be the plot twist that we have been hoping before. We can do this! <3

Hi @jsmalila! Welcome to this awesome platform! Based on this post alone, I know you'll have a great time here and you'll definitely get the exposure you deserve. I can't wait to see what you have in store for us. Just let us know if you have questions about the platform. We're more than willing to help. I'm looking forward to seeing you in the next meet-up. :)

Thank you for the compliment and encouragement @legendarryll! I will surely need ur help, thank u so much for offering ur support. See u soonest! :)

I'm a few days late but I'm glad to have come across this post. Welcome to Steemit @jsmalila! You are a great addition to the community. I actually enjoyed reading your thorough introductory post! :) Looking forward to reading more of your work.

Thanks for the welcome @jazzybells! 😊

Hi nice one I upvote your post yes we need to support each because this not a competition but this is called unity. God bless this me @lorner hope you visit also my post.

Thank you @lorner! Sure I will! :) Thanks for also giving time to read my first post here in Steemit. Hoping to have more interaction with you here!

Thank you @lorner! Sure I will! :) Thanks for also giving time to read my first post here in Steemit. Hoping to have more interaction with you here!

Your most welcome.

Warm greetings and love, welcome to the platform :)

We have made a Discord group for newbs which may help you grow faster, click here for further details :)

Thank you for welcoming me, @asadullah! Sure I will check this out. Thanks for this! :)

I'm glad to hear that, looking forward to see you in DISCORD channel :)

Mabuhay kabayan!
Steem on! Enjoy your stay.
Hope to see more of your adventures!

Here are some imaginary @teardrops tokens

Thank you kababayan! I hope to interact with you soon in our future posts! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36