I am a recent college grad, and I am TERRIFIED!

What’s terrifying, new, very rewarding and one of the biggest leaps you will ever take in your life? If you answered investing in cryptocurrencies, then, well, you’re definitely right; however, the rewarding, terrifying, new and largest leap I was actually talking about is graduating from college. First and foremost, I would like to say that I am very grateful for the opportunity to have gained a college degree, and experienced such an amazing time to learn and grow as a human. I understand that not all people get the opportunity to do this, and wish that this would be accessible to every single person. On that note, I have no friggin’ idea what I am doing.

A year ago today, I graduated from the University of Oregon (GO DUCKS). My studies included: music technology, finance, business analytics, marketing, business management, some beer and no sleep. Oh, and a lot of free time. I had a phenomenal job as a barista at an Oregon-grown private coffee company called Dutch Bros. I was a fraternal man (LHT). I had a great community surrounding me that built me up. Overall, I had a life that I did not want to leave. Now, that’s a lot of “I”s, which isn’t usually my style. But after leaving all of this for a new life as an adult, I have to say that things did get a little tougher - honestly, I just need to blow some steem, amen?

If you can relate to all of this - well, maybe not the specificity of each item, but the generality of it - then you know that freaking out is a constant wave that comes in sets of ten. What industry do I want to work in? Should I get that internship that all my buddies are getting? Should I move in with my friends, or save money by living with my parents? Should I go travel, then work? Should I work, then travel? Should I pay off my student loans? What hobbies do I want to dig into - music production, graphic design, investing, reading more, coding? Should I date the girl of my dreams even though she’s living in New York? Am I doing things right? Uhhh… what is going on?

These are things as a college graduate that I constantly think of. Moreover, these are things that any human being thinks of, and quite frankly, that is a-okay! You hear people say “after graduating, you have anywhere from five to seven years to really set yourself up for success” which is another terrifying thing. But honestly, screw that. Life is all about what you make of it, and how you approach it. If you think you should be seeking a job right out of college, go for it! If you think that living in a different country for a few years is something that fits your goals, why not? Life is terrifying as it is and it always will be. So why freak out about it and just let it do its thing? Where you are right now is where you are meant to be, so be okay with that!

me.jpg

Hi, I am Jordan, and I have been freaking out since college ended, but that’s okay. I am currently working at a Broker / Dealer in the financial sector in Oregon. I have been pursuing music production and investing as hobbies. I have an amazing community and family that I am surrounded by. I have a beautiful girlfriend that I cherish (yes, she lives in New York). And, I have the ability to eat, drink, sleep comfortably, and save money. These are all things, whether big or small, that help me realize that life is plain weird; these are things I am grateful for. Life has its ups and downs, and focusing on the downs will only limit its ups. Considering this, I still freak out, but as I’ve said countless times: THAT IS OKAY!

So, this is where I am at currently in my life. If anyone else can relate, give me a follow or comment below! These are things that I constantly enjoy talking about, because one thing that I can say is that conversing with others in similar positions is a way to curb the funk. It’s also a great way to combine ideas and grow together as a community! I will be putting up content about my life, where I’m at, what I’m learning, what I’m enjoying, and what I am not enjoying in the hopes that someone can take a snippet of it and make a change in their life too. This post might seem very selfish, but ultimately that is not my goal here. I want this to influence others to express what they’re feeling so that they, too, can help others with their experiences!

Oh, and cryptocurrencies. That’s another thing that’s been on my mind, and has also been quite the rollercoaster. I want to give a quick shout out to to my buddy @thaumie for bringing me into the crypto scene, and for giving me another investment vehicle to study and learn about - oh, and to also see some gaaaiiinzzzzzz!

Until next time, Steem.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! enjoy it here
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Welcome to Steem!

You look like the agent from the show Narcos haha and welcome!

Haha, thanks for the compliment ;). I just started watching, definitely a great show!

Hello Bro ! Follow u!
I'm Korean ! My hobby is DJ !!!(Basic) haha
Let's get along well.

That's awesome dude, I love DJing! That's what got me into music production. What style of music do you enjoy?

Welcome to Steem @jornographer I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @jornographer :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Welcome to steemit!

Thank you, excited to be here!

Great article Jorno. Love the truth and passion behind it! Cant wait to learn from you on this platform.

Thanks brother! Excited to learn from you as well my friend. Let's keep it goin'!

Hello there @jornographer and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Welcome to Steem @jornographer. You are in the right place, resteemed, upvoted and followed.

Thanks, veejay! Followed you right back my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66544.05
ETH 3487.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72