Hello from Venezuela, steemit!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Let me be honest, since weeks ago I had intentions of start writing here; I find the whole concept behind steemit really fascinating: the triad cryptocurrency-writing-community has revolutionized networks' dynamic, not only in generation of communities of preferences and interests, but in its incentives. What a great idea! Finally I decided opening my account and start, so let's get the ball rolling: I introduce myself.

I am Jesús Valerio, a venezuelan from Caracas, in love with his city and his roots. I don't know if there's any rationality in that, but the venezuelan passion has been part of me since I was a little boy. I swear it's not chauvinism and that I have never pretended some nationalist narcisism, but venezuelan stuff —the good venezuelan stuff, of course: music, literature, history, geography— makes me feel tremendously nice. Let me show you, at this point, one of the most important symbols of my city: Teresa Carreño Theater.

Teatro-Teresa-Carreño-1320x880.jpg

Complejo Cultural Teatro Teresa Carreño. Taken from: http://www.correodelorinoco.gob.ve/el-teatro-teresa-carreno-cumple-hoy-35-anos/

For describing myself I must talk about my two biggests passions: Politics and Music. Venezuela, as you must know, is a highly politized country and I, since a boy, have been interested in public matters, in understanding and trying to change it. Maybe —only maybe— it's the cause of another of my main passions: History. I'm in love of the study of History, universal and venezuelan… they are so vibrant, so passioning! The seek of answers to our concerns and torments should start there: rummaging around our past, around what we were, around what we have been. But I won't divert: my first political incursion was in my high school, when I was president of students' union; later, in university, I started to professionalize in politics as I was the president of the Student's Federation. After that I decided to become member of a political party of which I'm part. This picture is a very nice memory of those university struggles:

IMG-20150929-WA0009.jpg

And well: Music… oh, Music! Even a stubborn guy like Nietzsche once said that without music, life would be a mistake. Sure he was right: very few artistic manifestations are capable of satisfy human spirit as Music does. What a wonderful invention has had humanity —even comparable with invention of writing—, in invention of music. This passion took me, inevitably to start making music. Though my little academic rigour in that area (music theory and I have not really got along), I've given some happy steps in a music conservatory and I've fallen in love with the most iconic national instrument: venezuelan Cuatro. (Yes, I did have my Indie band when I was in high school, but my predilect instrument is, with no doubt, the Cuatro). Oh!, not willing to get specific, I just comment: Salsa is my favorite music genre. In short, this video illustrates what I'm talking about… those were really hard days, when repression had just assassinated young musician Armando Cañizales in a demonstration in Caracas. This was a march in his honour:

 
Well, it seems to be that I have written enough for a short description, but I must add a couple of things. First one may result paradoxical when it's contrasted to previous lines: I study Engineering, pretty much, because I do love numbers. Second: if I needed a short phrase to describe my motivations, I would use that latin that Kant used: Sapere Aude!

Read you, friends!

P.S.: A serious introduction must include two more things and here they go: my favourite book, El Pasajero de Truman by Francisco Suniaga; my favourite song, Ritmo Alegre by Eddie Palmieri. Salut!

To read this post in spanish I invite you to:
https://steemit.com/spanish/@jesusvalerio/hola-steemit

Sort:  

Hello jesusvalerio! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Hello, guys! Thanks a lot!

I'm still trying to understand how everything works in here so this is very useful. I'm following you guys right ahead! Regards!

Welcome #jesusvalerio
Good post, look forward to seeing your post, especially the music, art, and culture of your homeland.

Thanks, @rushofwaves! That's the main idea: bringing here some good stuff!

hi @jesusvalerio Welcome to Steemit Community. Looking forward for your next post. See you around. You can also join in STEEMSCHOOLS discord here https://discord.gg/8CRS4j4 They can help you grow in this steemit community. If you still don't have a discord account. Just register first through the link I gave you. I'm glad to help you. See you there!

Hello there, @hazelicious! Thanks a lot.

I'll be glad to join you there, guys. Thank you!

Usted ha recibido un upvote por la comunidad @inteligentzia y su TRAIL de curadores ya que consideramos su post de información útil y de relevancia creativa.

Si quieres saber más del proyecto aquí te dejamos nuestro post introductorio

También puedes unirte a nuestro canales en el Chat Discord o en nuestro Grupo de Facebook para saber más del proyecto!

Hola, amigos! @inteligentzia.

Qué lujo eso; de verdad muchas gracias. Inmediatamente me incorporo. ¡Gracias!

Very well written article! You have a talent, develop it. I follow you, I'm always glad to make new acquaintances, I hope you will follow me.

Thanks a lot for that! Sure I'll follow you. See you around!

Hello! I followed you, let's increase the power of Steemit together! I hope you follow me. I'm always glad to have a new acquaintance with good people! ;)

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67364.26
ETH 3322.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71