so excited to be here... thanks for having me. I hope I fit in.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

hello everybody,

it took me a couple days to finally write this because I really didn't wanna mess it up.
I figured I would spend some time kicking the tires and making sure I didn't seem too anxious.

Screenshot_2018-01-23-12-54-47 (1).png

So I'm technically from Portland, Oregon-

where I recently ran for mayor and lost bad.

I'm also an activist, a journalist, a lyricist, a superhero and an animal whisperer. I spend a lot of time hiding in the woods with my best friend Flash.

me and flash.jpg

I've spent an intense ten years organizing large scale charity events and participating in various forms of direct action activism- mostly related to social and environmental justice.

pepper spray.jpg

I feed kids.

we throw large scale shows which have raised tens of thousands of non-perishable food items for kids suffering from food insecurity.

i fee kids.jpg

I raise school coats.

Every summer we throw huge potluck BBQs and raise hundreds of gently used school coats for these same kids.

hnwc10.jpg

I warm the cold

every winter we raise tons of cold weather survival gear for the most vulnerable members of our community trying to survive while living on the streets.

efryting drive.jpg

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10201129020528242&id=1251242201

In the years before I exited Portland I took over a bank owned "zombie home" and turned it into a community center and homeless shelter for women escaping the violent world outside.

I run a fake church

focusing on community empowerment but it's really just a front for real life superheroes to gather and grow. I identify, recruit and facilitate exceptional people to do exceptional things.

fcms.jpg

I also do weddings!

www.fightchurchmedia.com/weddings
wedding blue suspenders.jpg
wedding green tie.jpg

now I spend most of my time wandering around with my phone doing my version of journalism,

including a lot of livestreaming.
in the last past year I've been blessed enough to go live from the Pacific (Santa Barbara), the Atlantic (Miami) and the Gulf of Mexico (Galveston)
camera phone.jpg
standing rock.jpg

sometimes I host a morning talk show called Coffee & Bong Hits

logo.png

but I mainly hang out in the woods where I live in Columbia County, Oregon -halfway between Portland and the Pacific Coast with my son and my girlfriend,

and of course Flash. working on that pioneer life.
me and flash 3.jpg

LAST THING: I'm also developing a block-chain based community token to facilitate a peer-to-peer bartering system.

I'll be sharing developments as they arise.

so, in closing I would love to be your friend.

in exchange for your reciprocal relationship I will give you.
-my personal interpretation of current events based on my learned perspective.
-an occasional essay.
-videos shot from around the country
-episodes of Coffee & Bong Hits
-pictures of nature
-pictures of my dog and other wild animals we encounter
Screenshot_2018-01-23-12-34-36.png

Sort:  

I'm so happy you're here on steemit that I just peed a little in my pretty Pink Silk Panties!

As you're friend I can confirm that I in fact do have the X-Gene. Digital Herpes .png

you most certainly are an Xmen, man.
I can't wait to see all your contributions!

Dude this place is fun to explore. lots of awesome reading!

And here he is! What up Mike?! It's Mike!

you know mike, just being me. nobody else is better qualified. tee hee hee

welcome to the magic that is steemit!

oh thank you! do you know where the chat rooms are?

Welcome to steemit @jessiesponberg. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

oh wow. thank you for all that great advice. I dont know if I have any SBD but I would love to trade some for some trees!!!

lol! Watch out for all the hype thrown at the newcomers. :)

good advice. I do really like trees though!

Welcome to steemit, looks like you live in a very beautiful place. cool! btw, im here to inspire people to get fit and energized! check out my post about the Miracle Morning: https://steemit.com/life/@mysted/this-will-transform-your-life-endless-energy
Have a lovely day!

heck yeah! Ill definitely check it out.
thanks for the link.

This is Artopium Mike, BTW. My old music project "Dark Rabbit" played at one of your mayorial fundraisers. ;)

I KNOW THIS MAN! thats why I was so stoked.
you and @mikebluehair42 are the only people I know in here.

Blue hair Mike??? Followed! Didn't know he was here!

heck yeah he is.
hes the guy who originally told me about @steemit

I'll guide you to the ways of steemit if you need help. it's pretty crazy here and there's A LOT to learn. Check out this article I wrote about the upvote bots: https://steemit.com/steem/@artopium/i-admit-i-use-the-upvote-bots-and-here-s-why

@original-works and @steem-intalented are the worst upvote bots. To see the good ones go to:
http://steembottracker.com. Most of these cost money to use though. But as my article explains, you get what you pay for here.

I'll definitely read this soon. I've been doing a lot of research before i even signed up, but there's SO MUCH!

STOP THE PRESS

is this guy really sharing a potato chip with...a deer?!
If so welcome to steemit!!!
The folks over at #nature should see this.

I still have to get the hang of the best hashtags!

I hope I did this right.
the formatting is gonna take a bit to get used to.
I obviously messed up a couple times. lol

Oh shit you made it! Glad to see someone who thinks like me on this thing. Help me light this place up! Steemit needs ~personality~ ... bring it!

heck yeah. I was stoked to see you on here!
hows Cali?

Back in my home state of CO right now and I'm freakin loving it. Missed the snow and didn't even know it.

Oh shit you just hit #26 reputation! you're gaining on me!

congrats brother!

oh niiiiiiice! that wasn't too hard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62