Hi steemit world!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

drivingsail.jpg
So, I guess I need to introduce myself to the steemit community. I'm Jaye, and I'm thrilled to be here.

I'm an American (of the US variety) but "home" is now in coastal Ecuador, where I love life more every day.

Here are a few facts about me:

I'm a politically active progressive. I supported Bernie Sanders for the presidency in 2016, and yes, I do believe the DNC screwed us out of President Sanders by putting their foot on the scale in the primary. I'm now volunteering for Justice Democrats and Real Justice PAC. Although I live in Ecuador now, with no plans to return to the USA, I hope that the country I came from can pull its collective head out of its ass and make things right - and I'm willing to help.

I'm an Atheist/Antitheist. I don't believe there is a magic man in the sky, and Religion, in general, does more harm than good. Religion is about money. Religion is about controlling people. Religion is about fear of what happens when you die. Some "religions" are nothing more than cults. I don't judge if you are religious, I just secretly think you're a little less intelligent than I did before I found out you were religious. OK, so I judge a little.

I strongly believe #BlackLivesMatter, and I do my best to be an ally to my friends and family of color. I speak out when I see injustice taking place, and more of my fellow white folks need to do the same.

I don't tolerate any racism, bigotry, prejudice or discrimination from the people I keep in my life. I'm quick to eliminate toxic people from my sphere.

I judge people. Hell yes, I judge people based on my actual observations of their actions. I judge people based on the way they treat other people. I judge people by the way they talk about other people. To some degree, I judge people by the company they keep. If I'm 100% honest with myself, I judge Americans, especially those of the white variety a little more harshly than other people. White Americans, like it or not, come from a place of privilege. The election of Donald Trump, where over half of White Americans actively chose to vote for a man who is openly and blatantly racist, sexist, misogynistic, violent and hateful, made me sad, disgusted, and embarrassed to be a white American.

In general, I give people the benefit of the doubt. If I don't know you, if I've just met you, I assume you're a good person, with good intentions. I'm friendly, polite, and professional with everyone until they give me a reason not to be.

I'm observant; In a large group setting, or when I'm around new people I mostly watch and listen. I notice subtleties. I notice attitudes and body language. I notice inflections and tones. I'm very selective about who I'm close to, who I confide in, and who I trust. I don't want to be best friends with everyone, and in general, I'm a little closed off until I know someone well. Some might say this makes me "Not a people person." I'm not the type that wants to be the center of attention.

I swear a lot.

My material on Steemit will include the following topics:

  • US and world politics from a progressive angle
  • Legalization/benefits of Marijuana, including some fun stuff like my incredibly delicious brownie recipe, and my methods for refining herb, making oil, etc.
  • Stuff about my life outside of 'Murica, including observations of the "ugly American" types I've encountered here.
  • Technology. I didn't mention earlier that I'm a "digital nomad." I have a small business that offers website design/development and digital marketing services including SEO.
  • Racism. Bigotry. Prejudice. Discrimination. I'll be calling it out.
  • Religion, atheism, antitheism, and the damage done by overpopulation.
  • Environment and Climate Change.
  • My adorable and sweet mutt, Jackson!!

OK, that's enough for now! If you made it this far, thanks! Please follow me if you think you might enjoy my posts.

Bye for now!!

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @jayesimons!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to steemit @jayesimons. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

I welcome you, jaye
Your #introduceyourself blog is nice,
And I swear too 😂!
Blogging thats what its all about on this platform and this blockchain. Blogging is it, blog on and you could be succesfull! 🤛 and you could earn money. 💴💸💰
I blog every day and love it!❤️ Thats how I am, where I am today.
But be carefull with all your passwords !! Never give that up!!!!!
For very good safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11
The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Love your photo. Love to travel too and was in Hawaii, Vietnam, Canada. Love freedoms. Love capitalism. Love making government smaller. Love people. Love many things. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. Call me Joey.

Congratulations @jayesimons! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Welcome to our community, I wish you the best of luck

Congratulations @jayesimons! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Hello! Welcome to STEEMIT buddy =D
I'm also a newbie Nice to meet you
stay in touch!

Congratulations @jayesimons! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00