Psychology. Hiking. Mental disorders. Children. Stolen heart… Wait, what?! Ok, let me explain.

image

Who am I?

Hello, everyone! My name is Valeria Simeonova. I am a psychologist. Simple as that.

What about my academic background?

I have a master degree in Clinical Psychology and I have been trained in Cognitive Behavior Therapy. Recently I am interested in Systemic Approach in working with families and groups. Why is that? Well, long story short – work with children stole my heart. For more details – continue reading.

What about my professional background?

Well, I was still a student when I spent some years working in a Daycare Center for people with mental disorders. Then I spent some more years working in a school with underprivileged children age 5 to 18. Based on my experience back then I started working with children because I wanted to work for prevention of mental disorders. I loved and cared very much for my patients but most of them were schizophrenic and their personalities were highly damaged by the disease. It seemed much more worthy to work with young individuals for developing and adopting adaptive coping skills in an attempt to prevent a disorder.
Working with children was the most difficult and the most inspiring experience in my life! I wanted so badly to help them become the best version of themselves. Unfortunately, I didn’t see the whole picture clearly yet. It turned out to be much more complicated than just planning trainings and consultations. There were so many sides taking part in a problem – teachers, friends, family. So if I wanted to influence children I had to influence all other sides of the system first. So I spent the last two years profiling and selecting teachers for the toughest schools and training them skills.

What about me personally?

Well, put in short, I am married, I have recently become a mom and moved town. I love traveling, hiking and camping. Besides writing, I love reading (what a surprise!). Oh! I love good food (and good wine, of course!)

Why writing here?

Writing here serves three purposes.
First, it makes me feel inspired and passionate about something.
Second, it’s another way of helping families to bring up happy and healthy individuals.
Third, I firmly believe that science is supposed to make our lives easier. Science is for people. Unfortunately, there are so many “psychological” books and articles, which have nothing to do with psychology. And there is so much psychological research which has nothing to do with people – its findings are very difficult to understand if you don’t have any academic background in psychology. So what I am trying to do is to “match” science and people. Or put in other words – to make psychology easy-to-read, easy-to-understand and easy-to-apply in everyday life.

So, that’s it. That’s “me” in 450 words.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit

Hey @insight-out. Welcome, and I hope that you will enjoy steemit:)

I give you a warm welcome @insight-out my recommendation, at first dedicate yourself to read, analyze how it works and do not focus on profits. That's for later, happy day ...

Thank you for the good advice!

Welcome to steemit @valerie, wishing you all the best here

You are beautiful from the Insight-Out, the Inside-out, pun intended, you have a creative pen name here, and I love studying psychology in college. Good to reflect, to have reflection, in life, and that is a deeper source of real, eternal, beauty. I'm Joey.

Nice to meet you, Joey! Thank you for the kind words! I completely agree with you - if we don't reflect on ourselves and our experience we are like deaf and blind for the wonder of life. Personal growth takes turning inside, getting an insight and then taking an action :)

Awesome hehe, how are you?

I am fine, thanks! Still trying to figure out how Steemit works! :) How are you?

I am good. I am happy. Good to see you.

Welcome to Steemit World.....

Congratulations @insight-out! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58913.67
ETH 2640.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42