Intro .....

Hi, fellow Steemians. This is an exciting day for me because I have finally joined the most promising social media on the planet. My name is Brighton and I am a web developer who lives in South Africa. I am a tech enthusiast and when I have nothing to do, I love experimenting with food. I first learned about Steemit on a Youtube video by Joe Parys. I was surprised that I had never heard about until now and it has been around for a year! I mean, I'm on Youtube every single day, yet none of the channels that I subscribe to mentioned anything to do with Steem or Steemit. Anyway, I would like to say thanks to Joe Parys, because of your video, I am now a member of this awesome community and I hope to have a great time here.

I have been a web designer turn developer since 2013 and I am currently studying Computer Science to expand my knowledge. I aim to use Steemit to create a global network of acquaintances. I heard this is one of the most helpful communities on the web and I hope to connect with Steemians of all walks of life. Being new here, I still have a lot to learn and I hope I will be able to get support from all those that have been here for a while.

When I found out about Steemit, I went on to do some research because this whole thing sounded too good to be true. I watched a number of videos on Youtube that included a couple of debates. From these I was able to make a calculated decision to join this platform and be part of the anticipated growth. I however was left with a few questions, one of which is, how exactly does Steemit plan to make money in the long run. I mean, most of the successful social media make most of their money from advertising, and from what I have learned so far, Steemit does not have any advertising and they are not planning to introduce it. How then will the money be made, will it come purely from the trading of the Steem tokens. I am new to all of this and I would appreciate any enlightment from those knowledgable. The other thing I am concerned about is the loading speed the website, it is really slow, is there any team working on this problem.

Despite all the negativity and skepticism that is doing rounds on the web about Steemit, I believe it is gonna be the most popular and powerful social media pretty soon and I want to be part of that growth. I am happy to be part of this community and looking forward to having a great time here.

Sort:  

I'm a web developer as well and frequently write about webdevelopment particularly on Craft CMS. Hope to connect and maybe we'll like each others content. :)

Welcome to Steemit!

Just curious, why did you tag Philippines ? Are you pinoy? I'm a member of the @teamphilippines #teamphilippines community.

There is also at least 1 other south-african in our community, maybe you'd like to join our chat: https://discord.gg/yYWBvED

Neways again, welcome to steemit, gave you a 100% upvote.

Thanks Sasha, I appreciate your upvote. To answer your question, I'm not Pinoy, my wife is Pinay. I have joined the discord chat already.

Really? I haven't seen you there. Maybe you're in a different server? What's your name on Discord. If it's the same as on here you're not in the link i dropped.

Ah, just joined now using the link you provided. I had joined ealier using another link, now I see that it's a different group altogether.

Welcome!

Big Welcome!

Welcome to Steem @insculpt I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @insculpt. Brighton, I think you raise a great question that I would love to know the answer to as well--how will Steemit monetize long term?

@bigpanda thanks for reading my first post.

Congratulations @insculpt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome @insculpt aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

Checkout this post and give me some feedback on it
CIRCLE OF FRIENDS

@circleoffriends
#circleoffriends
#minnowsupport
#cof

Thanks man. Will do.

Salute! I saw your fresh account so welcome aboard. I just upvoted you for this as you deserved it and know that the steemit community awaits!
I am struggeling, like you, to get those big upvotes on my posts so you could give @MinnowPowerUp a go. This service lets you earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have also made this post where I explain my experience with the service in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

Congratulations @insculpt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61014.18
ETH 3412.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52