How to introduce yourself when you live for the experience?

Until recently I had a bit of of a life-crisis because I couldn't understand who I was or how to communicate as to what I do.  

My usual introduction was:

"Hey I'm Paulius, UX Designer working on _____"


It never felt genuine. The titles seemed like they were boxing me in and limiting my expansion of thy self. I contemplate a lot about life and being a deep thinker I started looking at people like Hemmingway, Carl Jung, Joseph Campbell, Bruce Lee etc.

One quote that struct me was by Bruce Lee: 

"A good teacher protects his pupils from his own influence"

My personal life philosophy went something like:

Being attached to everything and nothing at the same time. 

I reflected how I can stay in the balance of what feels the best for me. So... I asked my self a basic question:

"If the titles box me in, what keeps me open?"

I quickly discovered that when I worked with design or trained jiu-jitsu there were never moments where I identified my self with a title, instead i used to forget about it and immerse my self in the process. It is a bit paradoxical in a sense that I am a designer but I'm not at the same time. 

-I work with design
-I practice jiu-jitsu
-I express my self through art
-I live with T1 Diabetes 

This helps me be open, immerse my self in the process, and enjoy the experience itself. 

#IMPAULIUS

I was born in Lithuania and immigrated to USA in 2004, thanks to my parents. I work with UX Design, train Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, and being a T1 Diabetic I'm also a huge advocate for health.

WHICH BRINGS ME TO STEEMIT

I always wanted to share my work with others and participate in unique conversations, but it seemed like people on other platforms were competing against each other on who's "3 steps to_____"  article sounded more intellectual.

I've been on Steemit very shortly and already discovered people from different outlets sharing fascinating work! Glad to be here and join the movement of something new and refreshing!!

Thanks,

Paulius!


Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @impaulius!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Awesome! Thank you :)

Welcome To Steemit! Your biggest challenge now is how can you grow from a minnow to a dolphin and then to a whale. Fortunately, it’s not as hard as it seems.

If you post great content and involve yourself in the Steemit community you’ll grow a large following in no time at all.


SteemitVideos is a project created by @spencercoffman dedicated to helping you grow on Steemit. All videos will be posted here directly from the YouTube channel.

Welcome to Steemit!
I've always had a problem with introducing myself through my job title- we're much more than just this one thing.
This is a great place to share yourself- have fun!

I was never fond of it. I prefer to process or the experience :)

I added you because i track other ux designers on this platform. Trying to build a ux community. I’m rebuilding in ux /ui and dev a new ui for Steemit. Addedyou as well! I’m a Sr/dir in ux in la!

Welcome to Steemit! This is a great post :) You did very good at telling us about yourself. I think a lot of us have the same feeling of "Being attached to everything and nothing at the same time."
Once we look deep inside, which can be a little scary at times, and allow ourselves to see ourselves in the brightest light we understand a bit more about how life works. Youre a great writer and I believe youll do great here. I havent been here very long myself but if theres anything I can doto help, please just let me know!

Thanks :)

It's a weird dilemma to be in. When it's a sense of everything and nothing, by reading Carl Jung's books he definitely gave me a new view to look at and interpret different stages of life.
Otherwise, the anxiety starts kicking and the existential crisis takes over.

You're spot on when we look deep inside there are frighting images that pop up, but I guess you get to meet your shadow side.

You get to meet your shadow side and learn how to live with it! Its a big learning process for sure but a necessary one. Theres nothing wrong with being a deep thinker, as hard as it can be at times. It just means you are more in tune with the emotional side of life... I personally think that makes us better people as we strive to look for the beauty and the ugly in things, whether it be people or objects, and find ways to beautify them in our own eyes.

Welcome to Steemit!

This is a great community of content creators. Steemit has a bit of a learning curve. So try to have patience to understand the platform, how to format your posts, and optimize your payouts.


Here are a few good resources for new users:


Let me know if you have any questions as a new user on Steemit, I am happy to help! You can follow me at @ngans. I post a lot about neuroscience, psychology, health, and philosophy.
Neuroscience Student Pursues Steemit over PhD?!

Thanks for the info!

And followed! I'm obsessed with psych and health! You got an interesting perspective.

These are some pretty good resources. I am working on a curated group of onboarding resources for noobs. Good stuff

Hello Paulius and welcome to Steemit. Looking forward to your next post in managing your Type 1 diabetes while living in a car. It should be interesting to hear how you did that.

I have gave you a upvote and a follow, consider coming and doing the same back on my page, trying to work my way up here a bit and make my votes count for more. also have a few articles to come later today full of gardening tips, aswell as ewaste recycling old computers, and cellphones etc to be more enviromentally friendly

Your words ring all to true. However, what do you say when your work is a direct reflection of who you are?

I belive that one of the reasons why we unconsciously associate who we are with what we do comes from our past way of working. Manual labour was very prominent and there fore we could se the value that we brought to society, we could see the work affecting people.

Like freelancers, we used to put our names onto our achivemenets.

Well, I believe when you reflect your work, it is up to you to interpret as a process (verb) or as a title (noun). Whichever one you can interpret life through, I guess.

I don't really associate it with Manual Labor, I just believe it's something that moves us as humans to work. Now, work can be a subjective term met in an objective way, I do believe it gives you meaning and goal setting to envision the "higher self".

Or I can be talking out of my ass and sometimes run into existential rabbit hole. But I do love conversations that make me contemplate the status quo.

hmm I like this.

When I talked about manual labor I meant, in the physical terms of spending energy. You as a UX designer are spending energy and are creating something out of thin air, hence why I think it's a form of manual labor.

I do believe in a higher self and I do believe it guides us to achieve the most valuable thing for ourselves and for the people around us. If we are not working on what gives us fire, why are we willingly to waste our energy on sychophanitc lies to perpetuate our false motives?

I think you would enjoy reading this poem from a journalist that I follow, which touches on what we are talking about in such a simple and beautiful way.

When we say "Hi my name is x and I do y" we are being static, we put ourselves in a box and start believing that we are that one box.

When people ask me what I do for a living I respond by saying "I connect people by sharing their story with other people, and at the moment I am doing x".

Abstract your work, your passion and your mission, and then put a title on it that won't tie you down.

That poem was a trip! Very simple yet unveiling in every way.

Ahhh this brings me back memories of my old mentor. We worked on a similar concept of expressing your tone.

When people ask me what I do for a living I respond by saying "I connect people by sharing their story with other people, and at the moment I am doing x".

Abstract your work, your passion and your mission, and then put a title on it that won't tie you down.

Welcome to Steemit. Nice first post and introduction. I have advice for you. Write quality and interesting post, but first learn how to write and check how others write posts. On begining comment post which are interested to you. Try it and you will earn some STD. Just remember you need to write quality comments. If you want you can follow me and upwote some of my post or comments. Have a nice time on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64275.79
ETH 3156.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56