First blog-post in Steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit community!

I am very excited to join the world's biggest blog community powered by blockchain. I hope I can contribute something to this community by sharing some of my knowledge, passion and interest in the future. This is going to be my first post briefly introducing who I am, and what I plan to write in Steemit.

My name is Hyunsuk Yoo. I have a peculiar resume: I have just graduated from medical school in Seoul, South Korea, and I am currently working as a software engineer as part of my military service. Yeah, you read it correctly -- not as a doctor, but as a software engineer.

In South Korea, all males have approximately two years of compulsory military service but with special qualifications, there are alternative ways of serving. With a medical degree, you can work as a army doctor for three years instead of two years as a private, and this is the most popular way of serving for medical school graduates. If you have a masters degree, you can apply for a research position in select research institutions (most are universities but there are a few companies like T-max, the software company one that I am currently working in). In medical school, I found many inefficiencies in the medical system that I believed I can eventually change with machine learning and data science. As I was fortunate to have a masters degree, I applied and got into a company that focuses on data processing and does research on machine learning!

It has just been a month since I started working in T-max and I have a far way to go until I master the latest algorithms in deep learning. I only have a modest background in computer science and in fact, it's just been two weeks since I've printed "Hello, World!" using Python, and only a week since I've first heard about Google's TensorFlow. But I hope I will soon be able to apply deep learning to predict neurologic outcomes of patients with complex labs and vitals, distinguish subtleties of chest X-ray lesions, and come up with optimal chemo-regimen for cancer patients, etc.!

Anyways, in my future blog posts, I will write about interesting medical facts that I've learned during four years of medical school, my past research projects in the fields of radiology and epidemiology, recent research trends in medicine and potential applications of machine learning to medicine that I plan on implementing in the future.

Finally my hobby is traveling, taking photos, investing (I invest mostly on Korean stocks, but also on the cryptocurrency market), and playing poker so I hope I can share my thoughts on these topics too. :)

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @hyunsuky!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to steemit,a community for positive people just like you,trust me you'll enjoy every bit of it...Looking forward to reading your blog

Welcome to steemit! I was shocked that you are working as a system engineer! Haha! I read it once and thanks that you confirmed it!

I also love traveling and taking photos! I have been there in Seoul last year and would love to go back!

I have been here for a month already and I have gained some ideas that I would like to share to newbies like you! You can check it in the link below! I hope you enjoy your journey here on steemit! :)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@csalupado/my-first-month-on-steemit

Welcome to Steemit! Glad to see some new faces!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59398.61
ETH 2510.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43