Thirty Years of Books...And So Much More

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

homebooksresize.jpg

This March will mark the 30th year anniversary of my launch into the business side of the world of used and rare books. And what a big, big, wordy world it is.

Along the way, I have found out what it was like to run a mail order business with its printed catalogs and pay by good check, long before "Google", or "Amazon" was a household name. I discovered the skills needed to successfully operate a brick and mortar bookstore on main street U.S.A., never imagining that such a hopeful enterprise would run into the concrete walls of the big box stores and mostly go the way of the dinosaurs. I rode the wave of Ebay, Paypal, and the internet bookstore, and survived the crushing influx of the penny sellers and the relentless purveyors of bad information. I've watched the book world change in so many ways that it's sometimes hard to remember why I became a bookseller in the first place.

It has been a unique and rollicking adventure, though not recommended for the faint of heart. You might say that I've handled a lot of books in those three decades, and I've got the creaky and complaining back to prove it. I don't mind telling you that it is not an easy way to make a living, particularly in a world of ever-increasing electronic distractions and a struggling world economy. It is not a place for anyone wishing to avoid a challenge, or face a steadily rising and unending learning curve. A great memory doesn't hurt a thing either, especially if you can keep it.

I can also say that I would not have changed a thing about the journey. I've met a lot of great people along the way - people who love the books as much as I do - and more. My conversations within the limitless universe of mind bending ideas and printed happenings have been epic, and I can still hear many of them reverberating in my head from days so long ago.

"Wow, you must get to read a lot", is an oft-repeated phrase. Well, don't I wish.

The life of a book dealer is a full one, and the motto "So many books, so little time" is the Bookman's lament. We make a living one book at a time, and every decision to buy is based on our knowledge and experience and the ability to find a buyer and turn a profit, each and every time. Buy wrong, and die.

No wonder that "No pain, no gain", and "go big or go home" are the rallying cries of the fiercely independent. All, above all, failure is not an option.

Small matter, I say. It is the tightly focused hunt in the dimly lit bookstalls and the love of carefully bound volumes that drives us before the hounds. Perhaps you know just exactly what I mean.

To all of our customers and the cherished book friends we've made over the years - Thank You - and best wishes from the deep well of our book loving souls. It is your love of words and unquenchable thirst for knowledge that keeps us doing what we do. For that, we are most eternally grateful.

Here's to many more years of black ink and the printed page, and the people of the book - God willing....

Michael Patrick McCarty


Once you learn to read, you will be forever free.
Frederick Douglass

Some people will lie, cheat, steal, and back-stab to get ahead...and to think all they have to do is read.
Anonymous

homebooks4.jpg

Please visit us at http://throughahunterseyes.com/
and follow me on steemit at https://steemit.com/@huntbook

Sort:  

Just a thought, but I bet you would do pretty well here on Steemit if you made posts featuring recommended books from your collection over specific topics and made them available for purchase from your post with SBD. There are a lot of homesteaders and preppers here that would probably love to build a hard-copy reference library just in case the S ever HTF.

Wow! - now that's an idea that had not dawned upon me. Brilliant, simply brilliant, I say! I have 12,000 good books for sale, many of them in our areas of interest. Thanks for bringing that concept to my attention, and continued success...

Yes that would be a great idea to sell books via steemit posts for steem or SBD.

Are you only able to sell in the US and Canada or can you ship to the UK and Europe?

If you go forward with this let me know as I produce the list of Businesses accepting payment in steem.

I will add you to the next list if you are interested.

Is http://throughahunterseyes.com/ the bookselling website or is there another site for that?

Hello,

I would like to sell my books via steem or SBD. I can sell internationally. My books are listed on a 3rd party site, https://www.abebooks.com/servlet/SearchResults?sortby=0&vci=97402. The business would be Michael Patrick McCarty, Bookseller (via abebooks) If they found them on that site they would have to email me and handle the transaction off site. . Would that work for you? I am not yet up to speed on steem vs. dollars, so I am not sure how that converts as far as asking price. I am also wondering, if I did a specific post for a book for sale, can I list the steem or SBD price on that post? Thanks for the interst.

I have come across AbeBooks but I don't know the mechanics of the site.

Is AbeBooks only a marketing platform for your books, or do they handle any of the fulfilment for you?

Or is the order passed back to you and you handle all the shipping etc?

Presumably somewhere AbeBooks takes a cut on the listing price?

If you put posts for individual books on steemit you could then handle the steem transaction directly. You would also earn some reward for the post.

Most people use CoinMarketCap for steem v dollar exhange rates :

If I can be of any further help let me know.

Wow I see you have a copy of the classic 'Fly Fishing' by JR Hartley.

That book was made famous in Britain by the Yellow Pages advert :

Yes, a lovely little volume...

AbeBooks is a marketing platform, like Amazon. I receive the order thru them and ship the book for my warehouse. They take a cut of the sale. So, it sounds like I could do individual posts, with the price listed in dollars, and worry about the rest after the sale. I will check out CoinMarketCap. Thanks for the info. I am excited about this.

Great, let me know when you have it up and running and I will add you to my list.

Very cool! Welcome to Steemit! I know I personally prefer a physical book to a digital one. Since you are a prepper, I will be happy to have something to read if one day technology is no longer available. Following!

I couldn't agree more, and I just can't do the ebook thing. Nice to meet you too.

I saw a comment of yours on @fernowl13's post a little while ago and headed over to meet and greet you! You had mentioned dehydrating, etc

if you are ever looking for a group, actually a community, of homesteaders/gardeners/self-sufficient like-minded people, I am the moderator of a group here... also the "un"official ambassador to the group.

let me know and I can post an invite link here for you!

So nice to meet you, and yes, I would love an invite. I am truly excited about the possibilities of it all...

Here you go.. any questions just ask

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

I have been on steemit under six months and have turned it into a "career". I am a SAHWife with no children in the home and was a writer.ghost writer in another lifetime and this platform has allowed me to continue on with my passion.

Welcome!!

Thank you so much for the invite into a community of my favorite kind of folks. Looking forward to the discussion...

Thanks for the list, I have been working on my own reading list for a while now and picked up some suggestions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66408.50
ETH 3486.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70