Introducing myself

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hi, Steemians!

My name is Henrry Lezama. I am 44 years old. I was born in Yaguaraparo, a small town on the east peninsula of the State of Sucre, Venezuela. I moved to Cumaná to attend Universidad de Oriente when I was 18 and (except for 7 years abroad) I have lived there since. I have 5 children: 1 son and 4 daughters. I am also the putative father of 3 dogs and a cat. I know that sounds crazy in the context of the Venezuelan crisis, but we cannot make up our minds as to which child to stop feeding, give away or put to sleep.

With my daughters - Personal file

With my wife and daughter - Personal file


My son and grandson - Personal file


Brandy - Personal file


Chiquitín - Personal file


April - Personal file


Darky

What else can I tell you about me?

I received a Bachelor’s Degree in Education (EFL) in 1997 and after 4 years teaching at UDO and thanks to a Fulbright scholarship, I went to the United States for Graduate School. I attended Ohio University at Athens, Ohio and Illinois State University at Normal, Illinois. I got an MA in American Literature and ABDed a PhD in English Studies with emphasis on Children’s Literature and African American Literature.

Besides Children’s and African American Literature, translation studies and Anglo-American History have kept me intellectually alive since 2008. When I am not reading on any of those subjects, I do some gardening. I love flowers and fruits and find those plants the most gratifying to cultivate. Since I do not have a place with a yard big enough to farm, I grow plants until they are big enough to be transplanted and then I give them away to friends and family with yards. Sometimes I take plants to our campus and plant them there, hoping some day my children will eat the fruits or just enjoy the shade.

Source: Personal file


My daughter Anna


Source: Personal file

My other hobby is movies. I am fascinated about movie making and enjoy almost every genre. I think that good movies and good literature complement each other. I use plenty of movies references in my literature classes as a didactic way of illustrating basic storytelling methods and the multiple ways in which we can approach texts, movies being a kind of text students are more familiar with and more attracted to.
I am convinced of the power of education and the power of literature. It has become imperative in this technological era, when immediacy, fragmentation, superficiality and hyper exposure to information are so entrenched in our society, to provide children with the best artistic forms possible to help them become more human, better thinkers and better citizens.

With my daughter Vivian, at age 3 - Personal file


My daughter Anna, of 7 months - Personal file


Anna on office chores - Personal file

I found the Steemit concept both innovative and stimulating. Besides the obvious prospects of economic incentives, the very possibility of quality interaction with talented people from all over the world, who can not only judge (by action or omission) but also sponsor and encourage whatever talent one may have, holds a powerful appeal. I am embarking on this adventure with all the technical limitations and shadows that doom over Venezuela, as well as the emotional roller coaster that has come to characterize our daily life. It is my hope that by keeping our intellectual activity alive and sharp we will be keeping our country alive and expectant for better times to come, when our children can grow physically and intellectually healthily … and flourish.

Sort:  

Hello Welcome to steemit. I'm here, too, most recently
I'll be glad to meet you. I work in the music field and am the founder and leader of a music project called Music Without Borders
And this is my first post Where can you find out about me more
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@nikita13/getting-to-know-the-community-steemit-my-first-post

Thanks,
I'll check you out

Loading...

Bienvenido a steemit!

Welcome to steemit @hlezama. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

Hi welcome to steemit! Nice to meet you! Follow me and follow back

Hello hlezama, welcome to the great community of Steemit, I hope you have a great time here ...

Thanks. I'm working on it :)

Welcome @hlezama to Steemit. You have a beautiful family. And the kids are good looking too. I will be interested to see your perspective and what you will bring to the community, particularly given you were educated in the states and are living through tough times at home.

I will give you a follow and an upvote. Consider stopping by my little corner of Steemit to say hi. Minnows have to "school" together or risk getting all lost in the big creative ocean.

Hi, I am @cryptkeeper17 and I am hosting a seven day contest to sponsor for free at least one person into @steembasicincome, which costs $1.000sbd to join. I would like to extend you an invite, it does not cost you anything, and the entire payout is going to sponsor one (or more) new members in this club among the new steemit members that enter the contest. https://steemit.com/earthnation/@cryptkeeper17/contest-for-minnows-free-membership-to-steem-basic-income-possible-010-upvotes-1517857865

Hello, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I love cats and dogs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47