Indie Author's Introduction!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello!

IMG_20180210_233754.jpg
Forgive the Handwriting :P

I'm indie author C.M.W. Hawkins, a transplanted American currently living in Canada. A friend advised me to give Steemit a try, and it seems like an interesting platform. I'm hoping that even if I don't exactly make a lot of cash, that I can help build a following that can spill out into my other online social media outlets.

My main goal/hope is to get into a habit of posting more regularly across ALL platforms. Right now it is very sporadic.

I only have a site on Facebook currently for my publishing imprint Undead Avian Publishing.
Here you can find information about latest releases, live readings, and other neat nuggets of wisdom or information I'll post

You can find me on Twitter, Instagram, and on Goodreads. I also post alpha/beta progress chapters in my latest novel weekly through Patreon.

Genre

I dabble in a bit of everything. As a writer I believe I shouldn't feel pigeon-holed into writing for a specific genre. I write what I am inspired to! Which...can tend to me writing nothing at all for long stretches. Curse you, fickle muse >:|

That said, I am certainly far more comfortable in writing Horror, Fantasy, and Sci-Fi; in that order. While I personally prefer to read sci-fi over fantasy, I feel writing it can become a bit too technical and over my head. I like to have my writing feel grounded, and believable. At least with fantasy you can make things up (to a degree) and get away with it ;)

Current Works

I have two published novels out currently, two more in the editing process, and yet another that I am about a third of the way into writing. You can find them anywhere books are sold online, or most special order systems in brick & mortar stores. Click for my Amazon Author Page.

Fear in the Blood

Fear in the Blood - EBook Cover2.jpg

On a late autumn night, Deputy Hank Murphy and his partner are hot on the trail of poachers. After cornering them, the deputies discover something terrible. Something terrifying. Something that leaves three men dead, a town demanding answers, and a Sheriff that is happy to just sweep it all under the rug.

Unable to find the information or support he needs, Hank turns to medical examiner Julie Black and university professor Jeremiah Besson to help him discover what killed his partner, and how to stop it, before the whole town is gripped in terror.

Set in a small town in the American Midwest, Fear in the Blood is a thrilling creature-feature novel by C.M.W. Hawkins that will have you locking all your doors, turning on the lights, and doing your best to stay as calm as possible. There’s no telling what might be scratching at your door, eager for a quick bite.

The Gods Who Walk: Book One of the Antembra Trilogy

TGWW Cover_eBook.jpg

Over one hundred and fifty years ago, the world of Antembra suffered a cataclysmic event that threw the planet into chaos and disarray. An unfinished ritual, referred to as the Unbinding, released a torrential flood of magic, nearly destroying the world in the process. Now an insane god, The Withered King, seeks to finish that ritual. If he succeeds, Antembra will be reborn in fire and blood, giving rise to his own dark creations.

A small, dysfunctional group is all that stands in his way. At the behest of the remaining pantheon, the Gods Who Walk, they seek an artifact that will give them a necessary edge to take down a god: The Behemoth Vessel. A mechanical construct worn like a suit of armor that gives the wielder unimaginable power.

However, not all gods are to be trusted...

The Gods Who Walk is the first entry in an exciting new fantasy-themed trilogy from author C. M. W. Hawkins set on the broken, dying, and tide-locked world of Antembra. It follows the adventures and exploits of a small band of unlikely heroes, seeking justice, fame, and redemption.

The Withered King is coming, and he will stop at nothing until Antembra is remade as he sees fit.

My Steemit Content

Unlike my Patreon page, I will post snippets of finished works, upcoming stuff that no one has seen yet (aside from Patreon subscribers), and some older works that haven't seen the light of day. I'm going for quality over quantity, so hopefully there will be some diamonds in the rough.

Also, I'll be using Steemit to showcase my progress in writing and creating a script for a video game I am developing. Whether or not it sees the light of day is a whole other story :P

I look forward to being a part of the community!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit from another indie author. I'm new here too, hoping to add another channel of exposure for my writing. I've started posting my novella here, a chapter at a time. I'll be reading your stuff. Best of luck!

Hey there author, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and you are cool.

Welcome to Steemit and good luck with your writing! Follow me and I'll follow you back :) @phil917

You'll learn a lot here. Welcome :)

Thank you! Maybe next time I'll learn to finish my title before posting XD

Welcome. Hope we will see your good post here. :)

Owned by 3 cats.. this made me smile. The Gods Who Walk sounds like something I'll grab once I work through some of this other stuff. Looking forward to hearing more about the video game too : )

Hi, do you want to have a chance at making thousands of dollars in Ethereum while playing a game. Read my post to find out more

https://steemit.com/money/@stevekelly/new-ethereum-game-aethia-big-opportunity-to-make-thousands-of-dollars-in-ethereum

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59