Hi Steemit! Please allow me to introduce myself, I'm a man of wealth and taste

.. well actually, I'm not. But never let a good opportunity pass to quote some Rolling Stones lyrics, right?

Who am I?

I am a 41 year old man from the east of the Netherlands. The Twente region, to be more specific. Hence my name Grensgeluiden which loosely translates to something as Sounds of the Borderland. As you might know, Twente is a small region sitting on the Dutch / German border. I make a living as a webeditor / copywriter. So publishing on an online platform is not something new for me, but as I normally only write in Dutch and never on a personal note, you still caught me somewhere outside my comfort zone nonetheless. So don't hesitate if you have some comments or remarks about my writings. I'm a single father, co-parenting a toddler girl and a boy who is in his first year of primary school.

What brought me to Steemit, and what do I expect from it?

I'm actually not sure yet. As a cryptocurrency enthousiast I stumbled upon this platform a while ago and decided to create an account. I forgot all about it, and didn't use it really untill today. The last weeks I got more active researching crypto in general, altcoins in particular and that renewed my interest in Steemit. There seems to be a lot of good reads over here about the world of crypto. And besides that: from what I read so far, I find the concept of Steemit very sympathetic and thought Ah well, let's give it a go, and earn some Steem, Steem Backed Dollars or Steem Power. (As you maybe can tell, I'm very much a beginner to all these new concepts).

What are you going to write about?

Well, maybe I won't be writing that much at all. Maybe this blog will be the first in a row, maybe it's the only one I'll ever write over here. As an ENTP-type (Google that if you're unfamiliar with it) I'm someone who is keen on trying new things, but also easily distracted by newer things. But that having said, I will give you some topics I'm interested in at the moment, and where I will at least try to read about, upvote or curate. So if you write about ...

  • Cryptocurrency
  • Traveling
  • Languages
  • Innovative journalism
  • Geopolitics
  • (The war on) drugs
  • Neoliberalism vs populism

... you just might grab my attention! And maybe, just maybe.. I will grab yours.

Sort:  

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!


Welcome to Steemit @grensgeluiden!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome grensgeluiden!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Great introductory post i wish you success

Wow, you have quite a list there. Can't wait to see what all you write and share with all of us. Welcome to Steem!

You've Been.png

We wanted to let you know, we have given you a 100% upvote, are now following you, and are introducing you to everyone we know. You can visit our post HERE.

You can also visit our discord server The Steem Terminal is your one-stop location for learning about destinations on the Steem Blockchain & Discord. Here you will find people who are willing to answer the questions you may have as a new Steemian, documents to assist you, a place to learn and practice, and find out about the many opportunities to connect with other Steemians!

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Welcome to the SteemIt Community.
Britt & Ren

Congratulations @grensgeluiden! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to steemit @grensgeluiden.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Welcome @Grensgeluiden you seem like an interesting individual

I make a living as a webeditor / copywriter.

That sounds like a pretty cool job, I'm sort of interested in copywriting.. If you could give me any advice about that what would it be?

Well, maybe I won't be writing that much at all. Maybe this blog will be the first in a row, maybe it's the only one I'll ever write over here.

Guess I'm taking a risk by spending time responding if this might be the only post you ever do, but oh well! Maybe it'll be worth my while and you'll stick around and we will interact more in the future. :)

... you just might grab my attention! And maybe, just maybe.. I will grab yours.

Those are some good topics you're interested in and I share some of those as well, and yeah! Who knows.. Maybe we'll grab each others attention.

If I could give you some advice I would say to try to find some communities to be a part of as they can make a big difference here on steem and be very rewarding and valuable to be a part of. A good one is @steemitbloggers and also I help host a contest/community called the @ifc or Information Finding Championship it's a neat group and we try to do a different quest each week when the game is in season, there's quite a few supportive people who will likely leave feedback on your entries and you may even make some friends!

In addition to that I would suggest to try to socialize and go to other peoples pages and leave comments and check the #introduceyourself tag to connect with other new steemians.
And also just put out good content that people like and build up your following overtime.

If you have any questions about anything feel free to ask and I'll do my best to try to help! If I can't help I can probably find someone who can. Cheers and good luck on here. :)

Hi @apolymask. Thanks for the kind words. I just followed your @ifc group.

Hey there.. You're welcome! Glad to hear you followed the IFC! I'm sure you can find it on your own but here's a link to the most recent round, there's still a good amount of time to enter before it expires if you're interested. I look forward to seeing you around if you decide to join! :)
https://steemit.com/contest/@ifc/ifc-season-2-round-5-choose-your-own-adventure

Welcome my friend, the crypto movement only evolves and grows, majority doesn’t even see it coming.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello @grensgeluiden
Currently, We're supporting for the Planktons by our small upvote. If you follow @haccolong you will get free upvote of 20 users. You may like it, Check statement here.

To get more 15SP delegate + 3000points and receive additional rewards from your activities on Steemit, you can use Partiko app for your phone.

Welcome to Steemit & Wish you luck - success with Steemit!
Please ignore this reply if you do not need the above.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84