"TEACH TO LIVE, LIVE TO TEACH" - A TEACHER WAS ONCE A STUDENT

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello to you, my new Steemit Family!!! This thing is really new to me, but I'm very excited to learn a lot from everyone here and explore never ending possibilities. I'm Teacher Glai from the Pearl of the Orient Seas. Let me introduce myself to you by sharing my story.

Steemit Thumbnail Cropped.jpg

A common adage goes, "Teaching is a noble profession, but it is indeed one of the most difficult and taxing jobs."

Teacher Glai.jpg

Never had I imagined myself teaching inside the four walls of the classroom. I definitely never thought about teaching. I can still remember what I put in my high school yearbook as my dream job - To be an accountant.

To be an Accountant 2.jpg

Growing up in a poor family with five children and a single mother, I had always thought of taking up Accountancy and Business Management as my course when I get to college. I thought that if I learned how to do business and earn a lot of money, it would give me the ticket to change my status and my whole life.

Youngsters.jpg
(I was wearing blue-green dress)

When I graduated high school, my mother still cannot afford to send me to college since my two older siblings were also college students and the two younger ones were also studying in high school. Despite that, I did not despair and stayed positive. I looked for a part time job and ended up as a service crew in a McDonald's restaurant. The monthly pays that I received were used to support my older brother's tuition fees and helped with some house expenses.

Service Crew.jpg
(left, beside the manager)

Two years had passed, and it was finally time for me to enter college and start the new page of my life. When I checked on the available courses, the only course that my savings can afford was Education. It was so saddening at first since it was the ONLY option I got, and I don't have any other choice. Nevertheless, I had convinced myself to give it a try. To really continue my studies is what I had been longing and aimed for anyway. I studied in the morning and I worked in the evening. Yes, I was a working student for four straight exhausting years. It was a never-ending sacrifice!

With Award.jpg

With a lot of determination, perseverance and hard work, I graduated with a Bachelor of Technical Teacher Education, major in English and have become one of the Outstanding Teacher Demonstrators of our batch. My six years of service in McDonald's had finally come to an end too.

Right after graduation, I landed my first teaching job in one of the reputable private schools in our town. And guess what? The first assignment that was given to me was to teach CHEMISTRY!!! Isn't it ironic? Well, life is really full of ironies. I didn't even know how I passed that subject?! It was a real tough challenge, but still, I accepted it. With God's help, I was able to pull the whole school year off and learned a lot from the experience. I unexpectedly enjoyed my first year of teaching and loved my students. I was always looking forward to greet and meet with them everyday.

However, despite all the good experiences and the established love for my students, I was still having difficulty coping with our financial struggles. I then came to realize that the wage was really not enough for me and my family's needs. I was struggling to make both ends meet. My heart was telling me to stay but my situation was telling me to find a new job. Because my love for my family prevailed, I switched from being a teacher to a customer service representative in a BPO company.

Customer Rep.jpg

Working as a call center agent offered me higher earnings and benefits. I started with a higher basic pay as compared to my previous job as a teacher. I also got paid extra when I worked during holidays, night shift, and overtime. It even included HMO coverage and different allowances. I was able to go to different places I have never been, dined in different restaurants and tasted the food I had never tried, and bought stuff I was never able to buy before because I didn't have means. Above all, I was able to make my family's condition better. Finally, I'm getting what I want!

Call Center Time.jpg
(fifteenth from the left)

After four years of great comfort and indulgent living, I felt that there's really something missing inside of me. I'm missing the TRUE MEANING of my mission; I'm missing the sense of SELF-FULFILLMENT. And so, I went back to where and what my heart really desires - TO TEACH MY STUDENTS.

EMCEE.jpg

Now, I am an English teacher in Georgia Academy, and I'm in my fourth year. I want to be a "real teacher" who will prepare my students to face LIFE. Teaching is really not an easy job. It takes a big, caring and passionate heart and a lot of patience and sacrifice to teach young minds.

winner.jpg

Happy Teacher.jpg

At last, I have realized that classroom is made up of a lot more than just four walls, some tables or desks, and shelves. It is made up of knowledge, generosity, love, respect, and hope; it is made up of the lives of students.

Buhay Guro.jpg

"I have never dreamed to become a teacher. The only reason why I got into the field of education is that it was the cheapest course I can afford during the time. I had to work very hard to pay for school. My goal was just to graduate and get a degree -that's it! Only later did I realize why. I'm here to INSPIRE and BE INSPIRED; and I'm here to see my real WORTH and VALUE. I made a lot of sacrifices along the way but it was all paid off with nothing but FULFILLMENT."

Now, I can proudly say:

"Teaching is not only my profession, it is a career, and a big responsibility. Teaching gives meaning to my life. I TEACH TO LIVE, AND I LIVE TO TEACH!"

Sort:  

Welcome :) After school is behind a few years for myself, I have to say that I always underestimated the importance of teachers and showed them to little respect! It's a hard job you guys are doing - Thank you for doing it! Resteeming this for some more publicity! Greets

Thank you @welcoming! My heart is very happy that teachers like me are being appreciated. Thank you so much for your very warm welcome and for resteeming this post. I'm really happy to know more good and friendly people here like you. 😊

Hi Teacher @glaiza welcome to steemit, kumusta po? I can see the determination and love for your family on the first part of your story and willingness to do everything to help them. I salute those people who have this attitude and willing to work herself up to be able to prove herself that he/she is worthy of what he/she have. =)
Kaya sobra akong proud dahil tayong mga Pinoy eh sadyang maka Pamilya, sana teacher Glaiza ipagpatuloy mo ang maging isang magandang halimbawa sa iyong mga student kasi nakikita ko kung gaano sila kasaya na naging teacher ka nila. =)

Naku, totoo po @purepinay...😊 Sobrang daming sacrifices. Well, we Pinoys are really known for being resilient, determined and truly family-oriented. Ika nga, "Laban lang para sa mga mahal natin! 😉 And I also believe that nothing can really stop and go our way if we 100% love whatever we are doing and if we give it all out to achieve all our dreams. Thank you so much for welcoming me!😍


Welcome to Steemit @glaiza!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Thank you @introbot!!😉

Welcome here @glaiza this platform is for all walks of life.
i adore your story as i read it. you just prove that it doesn't matter
if you come from in poor family. you just break the barriers of poverty
in your family. Having a passion and burning desire inside you will lead you to success. Keep steeming here.^^

Thank you for your appreciation @mariejoyacajes! That means a lot!

welcome @glaiza in steemit family good luck to you.

Amazing story, I don't think many people where I am from would ever experience what it's like to have to work so hard to get where you are. You deserve a medal! Truly shows what hard work and perseverance can achieve.

I work for a company in the UK which has a factory out in the Philippines, perhaps one day I might pass by a Filipino school and wonder what amazingly hard-working people the teachers there must be!

I wish you every success and for your students too!

That made my morning @modernsage! (It's morning here in the Philippines). Thank you so much for your heart-warming comments!

welcome to steemians family teacher @glaiza

Hola, que historia mas hermosa, mi esposa también es profesora y me contó de su experiencia cuando inicio en el mundo de la educación, se enamoro de la carrera de una forma que ama ese trabajo como a ella misma, a eso le llamo "vocación de servicio" y es lo que a todo profesor con vocación le pasa, y es lo que has experimentado, de manera muy particular pienso que es una carrera muy hermosa seas del lugar que seas, los estudiantes siempre te motivan y enamoran mas de lo que haces, sus anécdotas y experiencias también te enseñan, aprenden ambos,felicitaciones por ese trabajo tan hermoso, que es formar,gracias por compartir. Sigue a mi esposa su blog es @santamorillo, para que también compartamos esas bellas experiencias.

Hi alexpoyer! Thank you for your comments (btw, I've translated it in google translate because I really don't understand Spanish, lol). It's really nice to know that you and your wife are both educators. I definitely agree with you. Teaching is a "vocation of service"; it is actually a "calling". It would really take a passionate and patient heart to be a teacher. Let us continue to inspire our students and the youth. I have followed your wife @santamorillo, and I'm so excited to read her blogs.😍 Always keep in touch, and you both have a great day. 😉

hi glaiza, it’s nice to see new face on steemit, hope you will spread positive vibes in steemit.and keep up the good work on steemit...;-) and be regular on steemit it will make grow you faster... ;-)

Welcome to steemit , upvoted you will regularly do on your good work , for newbie tips and basic information you can check my blog at @adityajainxds

some of the important website you need to now.

https://steemd.com/@ (username)
http://steemitboard.com/welcome.html
https://steemnow.com/@ (username)

This one you need a must to sign up beause you will get more followers and more upvote by everyupvote and lastly the more points the more SBD. Try it and grow yourself

https://steemfollower.com/?r=9826

You Have My Back.....
Thanks @adityajainxds

Hi @adityajainxds! Thank you so much for the information!I will check them out. 😊

Awesome intro. Welcome to Steemit from the UK. I will follow you and look forward to reading more of your posts.

Thanks @cryptocontender! I will follow you too😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67383.45
ETH 3525.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70