KNOCKING TO THE STEEMIT COMMUNITY: A Personal IntroductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

It's been a while since I heard about Steemit but it took me a month to see the light at the end of the tunnel. (Thanks to @louielowa. He made me remember about my Steemit account.) To officially break the ice, let me introduce myself. I'm Gil and I'm a Bisaya Filipino from Iligan City, Philippines. There's no other way to describe myself other than a struggling (hopefully emerging, kay sa struggling ako-ako ray mobasa sa akong kaugalingong sinulat. HAHAHA) writer. Yes, a struggling one. Right now, I'm trying to pursue life writing.

PROFESSIONAL LIFE


I was once a college instructor for a year teaching Literature and Basic English (2015-2016) and a senior high school teacher (1st semester of 2017). But I guess teaching in a formal academic setting (where teachers are there to check papers and fill up nonsense paper works) so I decided to stop working for good and pursue writing.

WRITING LIFE


I haven't have a breakthrough in my "writing career" (still hoping for that day to come) but I have luckily selected to some writing workshops. My very first one made me decide that being a writer is possible is the ILIGAN NATIONAL WRITERS WORKSHOP (2015). It solidified my conviction that no matter how stupid I sound for other people, no one can deny me of this dream: writing for a living.

Above is a photo with the other writing fellows. I'm there, 2nd from the right. Most of these guys now are well acclaimed young writers in the country who are constantly receiving recognition from and whose works can be read in anthologies, magazines, online journals, etc. I hope to join them soon.
Other writing workshops includes:
For Mubong Sugilanon (Short Story in Binisaya)
-Cornelio Faigao Memorial Writers Workshop, Cebu City
-BATHALAD Sugbo Creative Writers Workshop, Cebu City
For Playwriting:
-Virgin Labfest Playwriting Fellowship, Manila
-Sulat-Dula Mindanao, Cagayan de Oro City


This is me during the closing program of the 3-Day Sulat-Dula Mindanao: PLaywriting Workshop.

WHAT DO I WRITE?


I enjoyed writing short stories and have a love-hate relationship with Poetry. It was love at first sight when I knew Playwriting more (thanks to Virgin Labfest and the Cultural Center of the Philippines and I tend to create stories with a one-act play in mind. I'm interested to all forms of writing. I write in Binisaya (and a handful of works in English and Tagalog).

HOW WILL STEEMIT HELP ME (or how can I contribute to the STEEMIT COMMUNITY)?


Making content and earning in Steemit is like utopia. And as much as this kind of platform is still hot, I would like to use any fund that my content can generate here in capturing the day to day realities of us people living in the margins. If the Steemit Community will allow me, I would like to create projects that attempts to re-echo the reality often left to the sides. A very ambitious project but who knows. I hope I can slowly present these projects/proposals to you here in the STEEMIT community. I believe STEEMIT is more than a reward/incentive program for creators but an online community of creators trying to make a word a better place.

I would love to hear more from the community. Looking forward with more discussions with you in the future. Any advise?



FOLLOW | UPVOTE | RESTEEM
@gilnambatac

Related posts:

Sort:  

Hey!!

Welcome to steemit! Great intro!!

Thanks. Hope to meet more collaborators.

Welcome to steemit sir :).

Daghang salamat! Looking forward on your contribution here on steemit.

Good start man, be sure to check this link it can really help https://steemit.com/steemit/@themarkymark/markdown-101-how-to-make-kick-ass-posts-on-steemit
Youre welcome, have a great time

Thanks! I will check on this.

Hello, welcome to steemit fellow Iliganon :)

Yay! You have an awesome blog. Hope to do collab projects with you. Silingan ra bitaw ta. Hahaha.

I am excited to read your short stories here in steemit! Welcome to the community of self-proclaimed writers hehehe. By the way, can you edit this post and include a selfie of yours so that I could introduceyou to @steemph.iligan's growth update. Thanks :)

bienvenido!!

Thanks. Looking forward for your posts too.

Welcome to the family!
Follow me back let's build together bro.
I would also love to collaborate. Maybe we can share guest posts.

I would love to collaborate. Please do. Let me know your thoughts.
#FollowedBack

find me on here with my crew https://www.facebook.com/groups/156682044886231/
we strategise and give each other support and advice without spamming upvote for upvote comments :P You'll like it there
giphy.gif

I like a support group like that (most of the groups that I have been too are like bots, spamming links everywhere without even do a real conversation). Hahaha! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63152.69
ETH 3233.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45