My Five Minute Life is on Steemit aka This Over 50 Old Fogie is Trying Something New! Steemin' On...

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemit Community, I'm an over 50, old fogie, mom and teacher, trying to maneuver my way through a world of crypto and bitcoin, hoping to share my testimony with others - all while I figure out how to flip steem into a retirement plan (before I lose steem). That's me, in a nutshell. Let's start cracking...

First of all, I figured out how to post. That is a start. If you are reading this, you are reading the result of three days of me scouring through Steemit trying to decide if it was legit and manageable. I say legit because, as I mentioned, I am over 50 yrs old, and thus dubbed 'The Old Fogie' in a world of laptops and cryptocurrency. My generation made money mowing lawns. We were taught not to believe anything on TV and even less on the internet. My grandmother kept her savings in tin cans buried in her backyard. She remembered the day the banks closed during the Great Depression. One look at Steemit and BitCoin and she'd chuckle, "Mija, what happens when they pull the cord?"

Yes, I understand her fear. But, I also grew up a few generations beyond that fear. I lived through Y2K. Yes, I did. Now, you can say you know someone who did. You are welcome (That's an old fogie joke). I also lived through 1984 but that is no accomplishment, as it has been looking more Big Brother these days then ever before. These are all reasons why old fogies like me experience dread when we hear the new adventure in culture is being held on a block chain. We come from the generation of block parties ... block chains are a whole 'nother language.

But, truth be told, we are resilient, we Generation X'ers. We cried when we could no longer hear "You've got mail" after a scratchy wifi connect sound, but we rejoiced when internet went wireless. We mourned turning over our Blackberries but love ordering our protein shakes on the fancy iphone app. Change happens, we learned. We adapt. Hence, here I am.

I hope to offer strong content to others in the community. My heart lies in helping others and serving our good Lord. I have read several posts in the last few days on Steemit that describe situations where steem was converted into community projects. In @sndbox post, "Steem-Powered Project Portfolios", I read of STEEM PARKS (see link below). I saw pictures of actual playgrounds being built in needy communities and it warmed my heart.

The post that pushed me over the proverbial cliff into the world of posting on Steemit, however, was entitled, "Sharing Is Caring: Why I Need More Steem Power: A Non-Bankster View!!!" and was written by @taskmaster4450 (see link below). While, yes, it is true, I only clicked on his post to learn how to get more Steem - the truth is, I came out of the reading, completely convinced about Steemit and with a changed perspective. Steemit is more than just making quick cash, or in the case of this old fogie, more than a retirement plan. Steemit is the new platform for affecting change in our world. Taskmaster4450 writes, " The magic is gaining the ability to change the life of an individual with a few clicks of a mouse. I just read that in the Phillipines 3 upvotes from a Whale and a ten fold increase in the price of STEEM will send someone to college for a year. How is that for impact? Do you realize the power in that?"

Yes, that. I am all about that. The good fight will be fought on all fronts, even block chain. Amen.

One last note: We 'Old Fogies' are an opinionated bunch. And, truth be told, we are a bit dissolutioned these days, politically, emotionally, culturally, and financially. I debated joining another forum. I have been a part of a few over the past decades, some that took off like rockets just to crash and burn. But, I have also been witness to some of the most amazing social, cultural and political revolutions of my generation. If cryptocurrency is the new red, sign me up.

I have a litle something left in me to say.

I look forward to all I have to learn from the Steemit community.
Blessings, Gator

@gatorlynne
My Five Minute Life

7b40619cc6ad4a12d68380c19150c817--apple-decorations-apple-baskets.jpg

Links:

https://steemit.com/sndbox/@sndbox/steem-powered-project-portfolio

https://steemit.com/steem/@taskmaster4450/sharing-is-caring-why-i-need-more-steem-power-a-non-bankster-view

Sort:  

Hey :) Have you thought about adding a picture to your post? Thx for the link, the post is awesome!

Thank you! I tried to upload a picture of apples. I am not sure it worked. I hope to personalize my Steemit soon. I appreciate your feedback! Blessings.

I can see the apples :) I meant a picture of you - don't think you are and apple ;) But please don't get me wrong, I don't wanna pressure you to do so, just thought it would have been nice. If you have reasons not to, thats fine of course! You can do what you want here, that's the beauty ;)

Ahh, thanks! Glad you can see the apples. I watched a tutorial video to learn that much lol. I know I connect more with writers when I can see who they are. I will personalize soon. Thanks again for the feedback! Blessings.

Congratulations @gatorlynne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you! It is very exciting to be on Steemit! Blessings.

You are welcome to steemit, you are going to love it here, keep steeming

Thank you! I am enjoying the community immensely! I have learned so much already. Blessings.

this is a great first post. i love feeling real people behind letters on a screen. this is what i seek here on steemit. i look forward to more.

Thank you! I am learning so much from so many on here. I hope to offer more to the community. Your posts are very real, as well. It is great to find people sharing from the heart. Blessings!

Congratulations @gatorlynne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66407.66
ETH 3025.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69