Hello Steemit! You brought me back to social media....

in #introduceyourself6 years ago


I have been totally out of social media for years now. I have been out of Facebook, Instagram, etc, and to be honest, it has been great for the most part. Those platforms just didn't add anything to my life, on the contrary, it took so much from it. People I didn't really know could find out stuff about me, my girlfriend was always fighting with me about the pictures I liked :P, my newsfeed got increasingly clogged with irrelevant content and it just felt so fake to me... looking for validation through likes from mostly strangers just to feed my ego. And of course, the feeling of having so much personal data controlled by a centralized institution just gave me the chills.

After I went "offline" my social interactions decreased in quantity but increased in quality. I started enjoying life more, as I wasn't taking a picture of everything and could actually be present, in the moment. But of course, I kept using the internet and proactively looking for content that interested me, through specialized forums, Reddit, etc. However, it has been hard to stay up to date with the latest trends and sometimes I have been in complete oblivion of things that would be relevant to me... the "unknown unknowns" as they are commonly described.

So when I started to buy altcoins (a topic for another time) I came across the STEEM platform and researched the project. I was immediately hooked. I like the idea of a system that rewards content creators and where content is not pushed upon you, but filtered, by the preferences of the users of the network. And of course, that it's a use-case of blockchain technology. I don't like the hierarchy of the voting system, but that's also a topic for another time.

For now, I am just happy to be in the space and I hope I can also contribute with good content and thus actually provide value to this information age and not just pictures of food like everybody else. If I can be rewarded for that, even better.

Hasta pronto.

Sort:  

Those centralised social media platforms like fb and Twitter taking our data and also doing whatever they want , I deleted my Facebook a while ago , now the data leakage news from whistleblower christopher Whilly , it's great time to move on decentralised platform ,


Welcome to Steemit @fnx01!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Wow I so feel your pains I too was getting a lot of grief from my girlfriend for liking photos on instagram for me it was super models or bikini models. Then I started on here and I dont even pay attention to that stuff anymore she likes that I use steemit a lot more and we have gotten along a lot better now. I see you don’t have a Steemit Profile Picture I made a contest post on the bottom is link that will teach you, then after you make yours feel free to enter the contest to create mine. here https://steemit.com/contest/@isteemithard/design-isteemithard-a-profile-picture-avatar-contest-10-winner-of-9

Agreed that focus enhances clarification.

This post has been selected by Altruistic as a post of the day has been given an upvote.
You may join us on her discord server: https://discord.gg/KHB9eJk.

Please kindly upvote this comment in order to keep us helping plankton and minnows that their quality posts are undervalued.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50