From depressed Geek To Adventurer ; MY LIFE INTRODUCTION

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My Life Introduction

Hello community,

IMG_20180218_231859 (2).jpg
Me and my sweet ride for the tourists and digits; TukTuk in Lisbon, Portugal

I want to introduce my self as much as I can with this post.Although you will get to know me better as time goes on, for now, I can introduce you shortly to my life changes and changes of my perspective on presented „lifestyle“ itself by society.I am from Croatia, Split but at the moment I live in Portugal for about year and a half so far.

It all started spontaneous

Last year in October I made a strong promise to myself to change my monotonous and depressed life I lived each day since I was 16.So I started researching what can I do to spice it up.
I found Camino the Santiago, the pilgrim walk of 30 days through east France to West Spain finishing in city Santiago de Compostela.There are many different tours to start from of, but you can check more information on http://santiago-compostela.net/
ruta-camino-santiago-740x370.jpg

Photo of possible pilgrim ways to reach Santiago de Compostela and other cities/villages.

Camiño-de-Santiago-1024x614.jpg
Scallop shell or Jacob's shell - an iconic symbol of Camino de Santiago and today it is used, along with the yellow arrow, to guide pilgrims heading to Santiago de Compostela along its many different routes. Painted on trees, sidewalks, tiles, etc…

Surfing and Portugal

Since I was considering of doing it in October, conditions for it were not so good, so I had a suggestion from my brother to go to Portugal in a surf camp instead, and postpone the walk for next year.

Meo-Rip-Curl-Pro-praia-dos-Supertubos-Portugal.-Photo-by-Kirstin-Scholtz.jpg
RipCurl WorldSurf competition during my surfcamp; Peniche, Supertubos

peniche-beach.jpg
Peniche, Portugal;One of the top spots in Europe for surfing

So there I was in Peniche, Portugal for 2 weeks learning how to surf.There was a bunch of people from Croatia, and one of my close friends.They all had their airplane way-back tickets already bought.
I didn't buy mine because I didn't want my mindset to change, and I Like the feeling of being free.Not having a date on ticket determine my choices.Just being free for opportunities, if something opens up I can take it, and so its how it happened.
Last day of the surf camp, I went to the center of the city, walked into the first hostel I saw.
I had to wait for the boss for an hour, but it was worth it because they needed volunteers for their hostel and I was a perfect fit.I stayed there for 9 months all in total, but I also traveled from there to the south of Lisbon, in county Algarve, city Lagos.

cabecera_portugal.jpg
Porto, Portugal; Dom Luis Bridge

Recently before going to Lagos while I was in Peniche, I met a girl, blindly fell in love with her.She was from Porto.After we got together, I went to surprise her, and hitchhiked from Peniche to Porto, slept on the street 4 days to be with her, cuz I was broke and she lived with her parents.I remember I drove 70 km afterwards on new years eve towards her with zero lights on the road,(I rented a cheap-ass car and got cheap-ass car without lights, my bad) we were practically invisible on the highways, from Porto to Braga, most stressful ride of my life,but we were lucky I guess.Anyways it didn't end well between us sadly.I believe all shit happens for a reason, you're just gonna realize later for what it was.

Anyways
It was after 5 months of volunteering in Peniche.I was broke(volunteering is nice but only if you are prepared from before, but I spent all my „vacation“ money like an idijot first 2 weeks so I was struggling for months, but all cool heh) and the season was starting, so I wanted to take a bite of it if I can.

Lagos, Portugal - paradise for vacation and work

I remembered one guy mentioning Lagos how is good for work, party, and surf, so I packed my bags and went there.Also, later on, I've been told Algarve is good with tourism so I had to try.I had 15 euros in my pocket after I gave 10 euros for gas I hitchhiked, and a tent I borrowed from my friend because I was planning to squat in a deserted building and live in a tent inside.To keep the story short, it got much better then I expected afterward and I didn't have to squat after all.Struggling was over for that time heh xD

op_90845_op_89001_pontapiedade1.jpg
My favorite spot to take a dip n chill in Lagos, Algarve; Portugal

After Lagos, I came back to Peniche for a few months, and then afterward moved to Lisbon to explore him too.At the moment I am still there and working as a Tour Tuk-Tuk driver.Pretty fun job, released me out of my comfort zone and changed the image I had about myself. You gotta push yourself extra (competition is strong) if you wanna have food at the end of the day, but that's another story.

I hope the introduction is not too long, I tried to narrow down with bits and pieces from my recent happenings.

Thank you all for reading and I hope you can share some experiences and thoughts too .

Peace, Jacob

Sort:  

Hi good morning, welcome to steemit @fishyfish. =)
Thye always says live while were young so good choice you are living your life the way you should live it. Travel while you can and explore the world. =)
I love the photos and it makes me wanna travel and see the beauty of Portugal. =)

Hey @purepinay :), thank you for your welcoming words.I agree with you, we just need that breakpoint where we actually do what we always wished for.
Thanks, whenever you decide to come to Portugal, let me know, so we can do free TukTuk tour :D

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Bok @fishyfish pridruži nam se na novo podignutim Discord serverima za Hrvatske i Balkanske Steemit korisnike detaljnije o ideji možeš pročitati u linkovima ispod

O Hrvatskom Serveru:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ivan.atman/official-croatian-discord-server-is-up-and-croatian-steemit-association-is-up-hrvatska-udruga-steemit-korisnika-husk

O Balkanskom Serveru:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ivan.atman/official-balkan-discord-server-is-up-and-balkan-steemit-alliance-is-up-steemit-balkan-savez-sbs

  • kada dođeš tamo neka ti je isto ime @fishyfish kao i ovdje radi lakšeg raspoznavanja
  • Ostavi link svog Steemit profila u kanal #hrv-steemit-accounti
  • Javi se u kanal svoje županije/države (npr. grad-zagreb, hrvatska, šibensko-kninska, srbija itd...) s pozdravom da se zna gdje živiš (u svrhu županijskih/državnih okupljanja i rasprava)

(ispričavam se ukoliko si već tamo)


Welcome to Steem @fishyfish.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Dobrodoša brate, samo jako! :)

Hvala bratane, guramo:)

Very interesting adventure!!

Thank you very much.Im glad you like it :)

Welcome to Steemit!

Great introduction of yourself you made here. Wish you a pleasant experience around here!

Thank you for welcoming words!
I followed you so we can stay in touch:)

Dobro nam došao!

Hvala na dobrodošlici :)

Di si prika fišifiš , dobrodoša 👍

Hvala ti prile , osjecan se ko doma vec :)

vidimo se na serveru ;)

Welcome to steemit @fishyfish. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Hi Jacob how are you? Really nice intro, i love it - a lot of beautiful pictures and amazing places in Portugual ! I would like to connect with other cool steemians, artists and musicians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

Hey @communicasound , I am good brother, thanks for asking.Thanks man I am also enthusiast for music and arts so for sure I will follow you and keep in touch :)
Steemit members unite :D . Peace n love from Lisboa

Nice ! I hope you will find interesting content for you about art and music on my page ! We sure keep in touch and i look forward to reading and travelling again in Lisboa through your next posts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84