Hello! I'd like to introduce myself to Steemit.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

z-mum.JPG

Zippy and I, November 2015


Mother, Grandmother, Midwife

It's actually been months since my dear daughter, Zippy, set this up for me. I've been contemplating how to proceed, as I've never before blogged, and am not so sure of myself yet. I have so many areas of interest to possibly share.

I'm a 69 year old woman, mother of 6 wonderful children (all grownup now) and grandma (Nanasima) to 9 more beautiful beings. I retired from being a midwife, after having helped close to 1,000 moms bring their babies into this world. It was a very big honor and responsibility in my life that I will always be grateful for.

I had apprentices and finally a school for midwives as well, until there were enough of them that had become licensed to carry on the practice of birthing and welcoming new lives in a respectful, holy manner.


mum-kids.jpg

My 5 eldest children and I – early 1976


The Art of Healing

I am an artist of sorts and over the years have expressed myself in all sorts of ways. I am also a dancer and it is one of my great loves to lose myself in movement and expression of the moment.

However, after progressive damage in my aging knees, I decided to have both of my knees completely replaced in October of 2016. I've been deeply involved in the healing process ever since, including having my right knee modified. This means my doc had to reopen and change the plastic piece in between top and bottom bones, (that now have metal ends) to a larger one. This entire experience has been all encompassing and intense, but I am so glad to have done it and am happy to say that my healing is going very well indeed.

I now have bionic knees, and can walk again without pain all the time. So, much to be grateful for! I shall be dancing once again soon!


cross-hatch.JPG

An exercise in cross-hatching

dancing.JPG

Sufi Dancing collage, me at center – 1974


Spiritual Movement

I am also a Sufi. My teacher was Samuel Lewis (Murshid Sam) back in the 1960s in San Francisco. He introduced the world to what we then called Sufi Dancing – now known as the Dances of Universal Peace – which are practiced globally. This year, 2018, we are celebrating 50 years of doing them!

Murshid Sam gave me the name Nasima, meaning 'early morning, gentle breeze', which I love! His final resting place is at The Lama Foundation in New Mexico, where a really beautiful Dargah has been built over his grave, creating a place of refuge and pilgrimage for many.
visiting Murshid Sam's grave

Happy to be here!

Many of you on this site may be familiar with my daughter, @zipporah (Zippy Lomax) who I am extremely proud of, to be sure!

I’m sure there is much more about me to know and I will be exploring ways to be part of the Steemit community.

For now – I love drying roses, setting them in places of sacredness and taking photos of them. I'd like to share a couple of those photos!

Sort:  

Mum! I'm so excited to have you here. I know it's overwhelming, but you have soooo much wisdom and life experience to draw from. Know that I'm here to help – you'll soon be sharing so many brilliant gems and making meaningful connections with lots of other Steemians!

I love you so much. <3

aroha-2513.jpg

❤️💖💜

Welcome to steemit , here is an upvote to get you started!

You're a wonderful artist from what I can see. Welcome to steemit! I'm a bit of a noob here myself, but I'm a friend of zippy. You've raised a wonderful woman. If she is anything like you, I'm sure you're just as sweet. Welcome aboard.

Thank you for your sweet welcome!

Welcome to steemit and keep steeming
DQmQXsyGMqcFxFjTM6AQWRwT22Ma4EN7z5Cqb19iaVzBuwv.jpeg

Much respect, Nasima. I for one am impressed by your accomplishments in life; 1,000 births is something not only to be grateful for, but to be proud of. I sincerely hope you will dance again soon, but reading this I get the impression it's inevitable :-) Don't be unsure of yourself, don't hesitate to share your wisdom and experiences here on Steemit: you are more than welcome (but I'm sure Zippy told you that already)! You have a new follower here :-)

Reading this warms my heart – is such a kind, thoughtful reflection. Of course, I may be biased, but I think my lovely Mum is a pretty awesome human. Thank you for taking the time to offer such a warm welcome. <3

aroha-1440.jpg

Thank you for such a warm welcome! Your thoughtful words are appreciated!

Thank you! I am already dancing again a little! It is sweet to think that my wisdom will be welcome here.

Good to hear those knees are keeping up with you ;-)

It is sweet to think that my wisdom will be welcome here.

YOU are welcome here, and we're just lucky to be here to catch some of that wisdom you dance into our worlds...

Looking forward to your next posts!

Hello, Nasima, and Welcome to Steemit.

What a pleasure to be on this same platform with a Sufi / artist / healer / dancer.

With your varied interests, you'll surely have plenty to bring to this platform. You might even consider making several series of posts. That's not only a great way to present all your material, but an effective method of attracting more followers and building the community.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.
1 – Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
2 – Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
3 – Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
4 – Be yourself.
5 – Be interesting and informative.
6 – Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
7 – Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!


and, one more thing
... Dance Away, by Roxy Music.

Welcome to Steemit! We absolutely adore your daughter @zipporah and the positive energy and compassion that she spreads everywhere! Your roses are beautiful, and I like your crystals, too! Let us know if there is anything you need in order to feel settled here! 😊

Thank you! I adore her, too! I’m glad you like the roses!

You know how sincerely I appreciate you @TheKittyGirl! I'm humbled by your sweetness, forever grateful for your companionship and support. It's no surprise to see you showin' up for my Mum – bein' just as wonderful as you always are. Thank you, dear! <3

macroverse-50 (1).jpg

Welcome to Steemit @faune. You will love it :)

A few suggestions:

  1. Comment a lot. This is the best way to get new followers and be noticed
  2. Don't be disappointed if your blog posts are lost in the ocean. This is totally normal. The more followers you have, the more attention and money you will get over time

PS: I've followed you and upvoted this post. If you like, you can do the same so we can support each other :)

Thankfully, she's got the right connections. As I've learned in my nearly 5 months here, that's really what this is all about – community. I'll be making sure she's well-supported. ;)

side note: It's not a very effective method of growth to request vote-for-vote/follow-for-follow. There are far better ways to meaningfully connect. While you've at least offered somewhat useful information, you haven't referred to anything mentioned in her post, other than the fact that this is her first. As well, your comment itself isn't a very good example – it's not about commenting A LOT, it's about leaving thoughtful, sincere responses.

Welcome. I can't wait to see what topics you pick to discuss on SteemIt.

I don't respond to many introducts, but this felt like I was reading about a friend.

Thank you so much for helping my Mum feel welcome! :)

Well, this is beyond awesome... I love your daughter she is a dear friend, so I'm looking forward to reading your stories.

Thank you!

@meno! Can you believe it!?!? My Mum is here! :) As always, thank you for being so wonderfully supportive. I adore you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52