Hi! I'm Erin, a Wedding Ceremony Artist Based in Hawaii, TX and NYC

... but what is a ceremony artist??

It is my opinion that weddings can be works of art rather than subjects of tradition. It has been an honor to have photographed over 1,500 weddings but after all those weddings the flaws of tradition had become painfully obvious.

Weddings can be stressful, cheesy, poorly designed, expensive, etc... but there's a better way.

I help couples conceptualize ceremonies that are simple, peaceful, photogenic and then capture them in a way that allows them to be intimate and authentic. By keeping things simple I am able to be planner, photographer and officiant.

photo.jpg

But how can I be a photographer and officiant at the same time??

It's actually really easy! I got ordained and licensed to perform weddings which is something anyone can do. Then, for the ceremony, I work with the couple to choreograph the steps for them to say their vows, exchange their rings and kiss to seal their promise. Most keep it simple but, as I mentioned, ceremonies can be works of art and we have full creative control over the process.

A couple doesn't even really need someone to tell them that they are married. The only people who can truly declare a marriage are the people who are marrying each other!

Not to mention officiants are often strangers the couple hires and frankly aren't the most photogenic thing to be in the middle of an image that should be one of the most beautiful pictures a couple takes in their life.

Besides, a lot of people these days don't adhere to a formal religion or are in a mixed spirituality relationship. Which, is why it makes sense for them to have a ceremony on their own terms.

Tradition can be reassessed. It's not obligatory.

7376D46A-9D8A-4AF0-AD68-CB438F0C0CBD.JPG

One of my inspirations for this movement is my love of spiritualities.

Yes I said spiritualities... as in all the ways people transcend the physical world and connect to something deeper and higher. I believe that that is the most important thing, that we look beyond what we can see, hear and feel and what society imposes on us so that we can experience something greater. I love all the ways the people do that (as long as it's not hurtful or exclusive).

When I was in my early twenties I went through a major depression where I almost lost my life. I realized that if I was going to get better that I needed to seek happiness in its greatest form which for me is enlightenment. Even if I never get there it's the journey toward that goal that makes my life greater everyday. It's my goal to bring that light to people in anyway I can, especially on one of the biggest moments of their lives.

all-hq-45.jpg
rach-hq1-37.jpg

Another one of the things I do is help create ceremony spaces that are photogenic and work well with the direction of light. Often times this task is done by people who are not photographers (Like the bride, a family member or a wedding planner) which can be problematic because they don't know what the camera needs in order for the image to be just right.

I love this aspect of my work because it allows me to connect my love for art and symbolism with my experience in photography.

In the future I want to work with other artists to create sites that challenge conventional wedding design. I hope to create more immersive environments that incorporate the temporal aspects of the ceremony.

Eventually I hope to create sites that are shared by more than one couple so that more effort and resources can go into the design. I'll be looking for venues, lighting technicians, installation artists and florists to collaborate with.

mee.jpg
menzen.jpg
kittehs.jpg

Well enough about work, let me tell you a bit about myself!

Hawaii is where I was born and raised. One of my favorite aspects of growing up there is the education I've received in the Hawaiian Culture. Hawaii is a very fragile place that needs to be protected and I believe in their right to sovereignty.

My son Zen was born on 8/8/08 and he is the light of my life! :) I also have two kitties named Inyo and Zero who are adopted sisters.

Hardcore and underground music is my favorite. Both of my parents are musicians and it has been a very important part of my life.

Contemporary art like performance, minimalist and conceptual works are a huge inspiration for me.

I currently have home bases in Hawaii, Texas and NYC and am available worldwide.

Please feel free to ask me any questions you have about weddings, photography or anything!

It is a pleasure to introduce myself via Steemit. By blogging here I'm hoping to utilize this blockchain technology to reach not only those interested in my work but a larger community as well.

Aloha!

cy.jpg

Sort:  

I remember my own wedding which happened not long ago. It was the most awful day in my life if i only was not so careless.

Welcome! I think you will enjoy here.

My youngest daughter, Rachel just got married in North Carolina with a wedding planner that had an aproach quite similar to yours.
Rachel&Max217.jpg

And of course we had the proud parents.
Rachel&Max134.jpg

Woops, we are Texans after all.Rachel&Max138.jpg
She kept the costs down and gave us a fabulous ceremony. We were supposed to be on a mountain (plan A) but a snowstorm closed the road. Then we had an alternative mountaintop (plan B) that we could drive to but it rained hard on the wedding day. Then we tried for a bed and breakfast in the historic district of Ashville (plan C) but it could not be booked on such short notice. We finally got lucky (plan D) and our daughter still had her outdoor wedding and was married outside under a porte-cochere of a historic building surrounded by trees and her friends and family. She is so resilient she never complained once as we scrambled in the face of adversity. The wedding planner was an absolute gem. You have a very important job @erinparis and your photos show you do it well. Welcome to Steem!

Thanks so much for the warm welcome Clay! It's funny because a lot of people ask me if I get a lot of bridezillas and the truth is I don't! Most of the brides that hire me are a lot like your daughter in the sense that they go with the flow. The most important thing is that the two people who are promising themselves to one another get to do so in a way where they can do so with all their heart and it sounds like your daughter got that. :) You have a beautiful family and I love that story! Lol such a cute picture with the boots. I'll be a Texan soon too! Not sure if I'll adopt the boots but I admire people who look as good in them as your daughter does. :) So much love and Aloha! Erin

I almost forgot, I do not know if you noticed but my wife is half native Hawaiin. Also, welcome to Texas. Rural Texas can be difficult if you are a free spirit. Full disclosure, I am. Austin, Houston, and San Antonio are an Oasis, if you will, from the limitations imposed by Redneck ideology. Good luck!

Congratulations!
This post has been selected for 7 Tag Curation Project | Saturday (#introduceyourself)

The goal of this curation project is to give some support to those who make good and useful contents. We hope it will help people and encourage those content creator who wants to spread knowledge and share his idea.


Welcome to Steem @erinparis.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Hey Erin

Welcome to steemit this is one of the most epic intro posts ever! I’m sure you will get along just fine on the platform! Wishing you all the best and good luck with your blog! Looking forward to seeing you around the blockchain

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much! Lol I definitely love epic things so this is quite the compliment. :) I'm super excited to learn more about blogging via blockchain. Thank you so much for the warm welcome!

Interesting job and awesome intro! This is how intro should be :) Welcome to Steem!

Welcome to the Steem blockchain. I hope you manage to find your place here.

I personally think traditional weddings are quite crazy. You shouldn't spend money that can be better used elsewhere on what's essentially just a big party with a really bad dress code. For the price many spend on weddings, you could have a lot better party than they do. :P It's not like most weddings are even enjoyable.

I don't know if your way is "the" way, but it sounds a lot better than a traditional wedding and it gives people the ceremony and photos that many people want. Many people need that for whatever reason. Maybe as a sign of your devotion...or just because your in-laws are really annoying. :P

Welcome erinparis!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience here. We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to Steem erinparis! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Congratulations @erinparis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57653.41
ETH 3122.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41