Hi I’m Elyar. I sang for millions of people, toured arenas, topped the charts, and then disappeared into thin air. PART 3

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Part 1 // Part 2

At 16 I started putting acoustic YouTube covers online under the name ‘Elyar Fox’. I didn’t really think too much about it, it just felt like something I should do. The videos started to go viral and got millions of views in a matter of weeks. It was totally surreal.  

Suddenly I had fans. It didn’t feel right to think that, after all, I was just some kid making YouTube covers. But very soon, what followed were major record labels, mangers and publishing companies. I was having conversations with Lady Gaga’s manager, Bieber’s, Ed Sheeran’s, Elton John’s. I felt out of my depth; praise de lord I had my best friend Jamesy (best friend/mogul/Just Me Again’s merch guy) to help me reply to emails less like a 16 year old.  

In 2013 I signed a deal with Polydor Records (Universal) and made sure Jamesy got a job at my management company.

15 year old Jamesy and I at a concert in 2010.

Six months in however, things started getting confusing. It went from writing songs I loved that felt original to trying to write a hit record so the label would actually put something out. My A&R guy (Day to day guy at the label) was fired the week before I signed my deal and had a new A&R guy every few months with a different vision for the ‘project’. I marched on, doing sometimes 3 studios sessions, with different producers in one day. (I have an insane amount of unused songs in my back-catalogue). I’d arrive home at 6am some mornings. Trying to create that ‘hit’. Eventually the deal didn’t work out after a brawl with my management and label so we found another label (Sony RCA)  

The new label were keen to put out a dance record I’d written two years prior and I agreed to go ahead with it, but felt confused about the musical identity I’d once been so excited to discover. The promotional whirlwind began. I played hundreds of shows, up to four a day sometimes including schools and colleges. Went on a UK Arena tour opening for a huge act at the time (The Wanted), radio tours, 2 top 10 singles... It was exhausting, but my god, it was incredible.

Leading up to 2015, and I felt something was changing. I was turning 20. The music, YouTube covers, the teen mag columns and all the people that surrounded it no longer reflected who I felt I was or was becoming…  

Continue Reading: Part 4

Sort:  

Fantastic read! Excited to see more, especially with that killer cliff hanger. It's all about proper marketing man. I remember so many times seeing my channels and pages blow up (I've been running many over the years, usually selling out at the end.. it took forever to realize that I should work on LONG TERM projects instead of just quick money and pleasures) and it was insane. But the journey is the most important part!

Absolutely man! But that lesson is usually learnt only through experience.

great post!
We just started a blog as well about me and my wife's music career, you're welcome to check it out :) @leoandbell

Welcome to Steem,
remember me when you are rich :]

follow me @>>>>https://steemit.com/@jordangadayan

Welcome to Steem,
remember me when you are rich :]

follow me @>>>>https://steemit.com/@jordangadayan

Welcome to Steem,
remember me when you are rich :]

follow me @>>>>https://steemit.com/@jordangadayan

I welcome you to the colorful world of steemit! You will definitely get a whole new experience from all the wonderful people in this community.
Also feel free to check out and follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK for assorted mouthwatering recipes from around the world.

Welcome to steemit , happy to have you here

I am @alienposts , my real name is achraf :)
Enjoy your time here and let's get this party started :)

Welcome fox, can you give a link to your youtube page to verify you?....You just my be next superstar am following on steemit!

Nice one man, on your tail now if you know what i mean....

😇😇😇 Hey yaa

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you like it here as much as I do. I'm always learning from others, so feel free to connect with me @lulita 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95